LPG on Diesels

Submitted: Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 20:14
ThreadID: 16543 Views:3052 Replies:8 FollowUps:5
Hey Guys,
Looking for some feedback on adding LPG to diesels re. better fuel economy and inceased power due to the LPG burning the unburned diesel which normally ends up out the exhaust.

Reply By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 20:51

Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 20:51
G'day Goosy,
Blokes out at Quantas who use it on their forklifts hate the stuff. Don't know if it is a maint issue or maybe some motors just like it better than others. These boys want the oily stuff back. Buses don't seem to mind it tho. Have you Googled it to see what you get?
Blue
AnswerID: 77749

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 20:52

Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 20:52
Forgot to mention, thats natural gas tho, not lpg.
FollowupID: 337360

Reply By: NissanofOld - Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 21:17

Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 21:17
REPCO did this around 20-30 years ago with heavy truck diesels. It never caught on here, but is still being done in the UK. Landrovers were also tested a few years ago in the UK with what seem to be good results, but again hasn't caught on. The cost of the conversion simply does not justify the returns for smaller vehicles, especially in Australia where fuel prices are much lower than in Europe. I don't think anyone in Australia is doing this modification today.
AnswerID: 77751

Reply By: Swerv - Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 21:24

Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 21:24
Hi guys

About seven or eight years ago, there was a few cement trucks belonging to Boral ( I think) and they were running these trucks on diesel and natural gas. They used to come into a particular servo here in Brisbane where I used to fill up. from what I understand they were getting pretty good results. It might pay to check out their websites to see if there is anything on them.

Safe Travels
Swerv...
AnswerID: 77756

Reply By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 22:33

Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 22:33
Apparently Linfox tested this about three years ago based on the premise that it would give their trucks more power and better economy. After testing it they didn't go ahead; problems with engines as I heard.

Enough said?
AnswerID: 77766

Reply By: Member - Mark (VIC) - Saturday, Sep 25, 2004 at 00:37

Saturday, Sep 25, 2004 at 00:37
The biggest problem with it at the moment is refilling. It's Natural gas, not LPG. Servos don't sell it, so you have a very limited choice of where to fill up. Maybe not so much a problem around the cities but what about out bush?

I knew a person in Victoria that was testing it on a Toyota 75 series troopie a few years back. The feedback was generally good. Better power etc. But I don't know about the long run. ie engine wear etc.

I know that alot of mines still do it on their trucks and a few other companies have trialed it. I'd say that if it really was a benifit, and it had better economy, then it would have taken off like a bush fire and you see them everywhere. The fact that it's pretty rare to see one would suggest that it's not that great.
AnswerID: 77774

Reply By: Poe - Saturday, Sep 25, 2004 at 05:59

Saturday, Sep 25, 2004 at 05:59
Goosy ... have a look at this ... link text

Poe :)
AnswerID: 77776

Reply By: David Au - Saturday, Sep 25, 2004 at 13:17

Saturday, Sep 25, 2004 at 13:17
stick a LP gas pipe into the air cleaner with a 12v solenoid and give it a squirt when going up hills. Acts like a turbo and get around 30% more power. I have a small 350 litre auto gas tank mounted under the tray and it lasts a long time
AnswerID: 77807

Follow Up By: Tritondriva - Saturday, Sep 25, 2004 at 18:06

Saturday, Sep 25, 2004 at 18:06
David, does that actually work?

Ive often wondered if it would, and much cheaper than $10,000 plus
FollowupID: 337401

Follow Up By: David Au - Saturday, Sep 25, 2004 at 19:17

Saturday, Sep 25, 2004 at 19:17
works well and have been using it for many years and before small turbo diesels were available.
first vehicle was a Landrover 2.25l
you need an adjustable regulator and 12v gas solenoid
is it legal no idea
many do it
FollowupID: 337409

Follow Up By: Austravel - Monday, Sep 27, 2004 at 13:53

Monday, Sep 27, 2004 at 13:53
Hi David,

How do you work out what ratio you can use, I'm guessing to much and bang?? What about running it threw a turbo would expect it may ignite with the pressure and temps involved??
FollowupID: 337523

Reply By: Tritondriva - Saturday, Sep 25, 2004 at 18:03

Saturday, Sep 25, 2004 at 18:03
Goosy, it is expensive, around $10,000 plus Im told, and there is no real saving in fuel, (around 10%) and the main reason its fitted to utes and 4wds is power, (around 30% or more)
Here is a link to the people marketing it for comercial vehicles.
http://www.atlasgas.com/index.htm

Even in comercial vehicles, they have to be doing huge miles to recover the cost of conversion, (around $20,000 for a prime mover) but I do know a few drivers personaly that are trialing gas, and they love it, its like having nitrous they reckon, but its on all the time, (unless you let the gas tank run empty)
From memory, it runs around 10% LPG to 90% deisel, and Ive had a good chat to a guy that fits these systems, and hes done quite a few smaller 4wds, and altho I missed out on test driving his Rodeao, a collegue did, and was very impressed at the power.
As far as I know, all the truck makers are fine with warranty on the conversion, but not sure about smaller vehicles.

If your worried about running out of gas in remote areas, its not an issue, as when gas tank is empty, it just reverts to normal and runs on diesel.

(the bloke I was talking to was based in adelaide, and I could find out more if you wanted)
AnswerID: 77823

Follow Up By: Tritondriva - Saturday, Sep 25, 2004 at 21:02

Saturday, Sep 25, 2004 at 21:02
By the way, its LPG, not natural gas, the diesels that run on natural gas are vastly different again.
I thought Linfox (along with some other large companies) were still trialing it, and the main reason a lot arnt taking it up is the cost, and the fact that a truck basicly has to be double shifted, and doing 6-8000km a week to notice real cost saving.

I would imagine for your 4by it would only be of use if you had too much money.
FollowupID: 337415