Coleman Hot Water on Demand

Submitted: Saturday, Sep 25, 2004 at 08:00
ThreadID: 16550 Views:10047 Replies:8 FollowUps:14

Just had 10 days camping with one of these units at a Nat Park with no showers. The Coleman unit was superb. Used it for showers, washing up and laundry. We were both delighted with how easy the unit is to use and how it takes all the hassles out of showering and laundry.

Interesting to note that K Mart has called Coleman's bluff on Retail Price Fixing. Could not get a unit anywhere for less than Coleman's fixed retail price of $399 in July or August.

K Mart stocks them and immediately whacks $10 of the price and then another $59 bringing the units down to $330 on sale. Coleman must be spitting chips that their retail price fixing was so rudely un-fixed. Camp stores here now have them at $369. Lesson, don't mess with Coles Myers on pricing, especially retail price maintenance.

All in all a good unit at $399 and a great one at $330 on sale at K mart and a very good unit at $369 at Camping stores. Get in before Coleman finds a way to jack the price back up.

Magnus

Reply By: jiml - Saturday, Sep 25, 2004 at 09:12

Saturday, Sep 25, 2004 at 09:12
I have been searching for one of these units for sometime after hearing about them on a yachting site but have not been able to find one in Canberra and the store does not know of the product. Could you give me some more detail (part number) on the unit so that I can see if the local store will get it in.

Tanks
Jim
AnswerID: 77790

Follow Up By: Magnus - Saturday, Sep 25, 2004 at 11:15

Saturday, Sep 25, 2004 at 11:15
Jiml,

Model No is #2300-700

That is just the Hot Water Unit. Shower attachment is extra and costs $20.

Coleman Aust contact no is 02 8762 5000

Web is www.colemanaustralia.com.au

FollowupID: 337380

Reply By: Vince from Eastlakes 4 X 4 Club- Saturday, Sep 25, 2004 at 10:25

Saturday, Sep 25, 2004 at 10:25
Thanks Magnus
I was going to buy one of these units and was unsure at the time. I have heard a few good responses about them since includung yours. Interesting bit about the pricing. Local camp shop has a price tag of $425, I will check-out K Mart.
Vince
AnswerID: 77797

Follow Up By: Magnus - Saturday, Sep 25, 2004 at 11:28

Saturday, Sep 25, 2004 at 11:28
Vince,

Where is local. My prices are Brisbane. Also don't forget the base price does not include a shower or gas bottle $20 and $7 respectively.

Fittings for them to run from the standard Australian gas bottle are not yet available. So you have to buy the disposable $7 for 480 grams. Very expensive gas. Only gives about 40 minutes of use.

Ours lasted 8 days with two showers per day, daily washing up and two laundries. So, a $1 day for the sheer convenience esp shower. Worth ever cent.

Also had to charge the battery during the camp. No probs, just plugged it in while the solar panels were charging the CT battery. Comes with two chargers, 240 and 12 volt cig lighter plug in. Worked a treat.

Buy an additional Coleman 19 litre (5 US Gallon) collapsible water bag at the same time ( $17.) The unit comes with one. I already had a 10 litre one and found having the two bags was worth it. The pump screws into the top of the bag. Only fit a Coleman brand, so don't let the store try to sell you a Coleman knock off. Been down that road. They don't fit.

PS. The pump is self priming and can be just dropped into a bucket. You don't need the Coleman bag at all. In fact the manual shows it being dropped into an esky as an alternative!!.

Magnus
FollowupID: 337382

Reply By: brett - Saturday, Sep 25, 2004 at 11:52

Saturday, Sep 25, 2004 at 11:52
What was the flow like out of the coleman shower head. Not that you want too much flow as you will use a lot of water. I looked at one the other day and the shower attachment didn't look very good, no way of adjusting flow and also a very short hose, couldn't mount it so you could stand under it. apart from these concerns it does look the goods. Also what warranty do you get? the USA ones have a 10 year warranty, if Coleman Australia are offering this it would be a big plus. Why isn't the gas hose available, are the US bottles different to our 3/8 left hand thread? all their stoves have this attachment.
AnswerID: 77804

Follow Up By: David Au - Saturday, Sep 25, 2004 at 13:12

Saturday, Sep 25, 2004 at 13:12
The Coleman shower head is pretty p poor, but you need the clip on the end to plug it in. I got a mate in the US to send me the conversion gas hose and the adaptor to use my Flojet 12v pressure pump. The POL gas hoses and the pressure adaptor will be available in 5 weeks in Aus.
Using those Coleman throw away gas bottles is damned expensive and a rip off. Some camping shops locally are selling them at $9.95 while KMart is only $6.95. You can buy an adaptor from the US to refill them and some fill in the US ten times. They are not supposed to be refilled but everybody does in the US.
Coleman's price fixing never works if you are a good shopper. Coleman have stopped selling to stores because they discounted Coleman gear and sold it on the net.
I got a cheap plastic shower head from the local plumbing supplies store that only uses 4.5 litres a min and is better than the Coleman shower head.
FollowupID: 337384

Follow Up By: Magnus - Saturday, Sep 25, 2004 at 13:29

Saturday, Sep 25, 2004 at 13:29
Brett

Not brilliant, but as we were staying in a park with no water, it was more than enough. 2 showers about 10 litres of water and enough flow to get wet all over and shampoo hair. In fact just right compared to other units I have used where you had to turn water off while shampooing or soaping up so as not to waste it as flow was too strong!!.

Ended up standing the unit on an old stove stand I took along for just that purpose as I had experimented at home. Also bought some tubing and made up my own length before we went to get right height. Just reach through the shower tent flap and turn on unit and you are away. Almost instant hot water, about 2 or so second delay.

In camp, I stood the water on 2 hobby boxes to reduce head and it all worked fine.

Mind you it took about 5 days to get the height and head and shower tube length right. Should have experimented more at home.!!

Warranty is lifetime limited. That of course doesn't mean much. The limited has conditions re wear and tear etc as usual. I suspect that if it went bung after a year, Coleman would say tough bikkies. No facts to base that opinion on, just gut feel re Coleman. I like their products but not their attitude which in my opinion leaves a whole lot to be desired.

The US does not have gas bottles smaller than 20kg. Hence all their gear uses disposable bottles, which of course are dirt cheap there and available anywhere.

Coleman have had to get a special hose to fit the unit gas intake (where the disposable bottle goes) with a POL fitting at the bottle end. (That in itself is a pain as most bottles below 5 Kg are 3/8 LH.) So, have to use an adapter I suppose if I want to make use of my current stock of gas bottles.

There is just nothing available here that will fit. I know a good machinist would knock one up in 30 minutes, but that is not the point. At retail level we are still waiting.

Magnus
FollowupID: 337386

Follow Up By: Magnus - Saturday, Sep 25, 2004 at 13:33

Saturday, Sep 25, 2004 at 13:33
David,

Did you replace the Coleman pump? Sounds like it. Also any name to that shower head you got from the plumbing store?

Do you still get water hot enough at 4.5 litres min.

Magnus
FollowupID: 337387

Follow Up By: Magnus - Saturday, Sep 25, 2004 at 14:26

Saturday, Sep 25, 2004 at 14:26
David,

Just checked my unit. Flow is 4.4 litres minute. Dug around in my parts bin and found a domestic shower head and tried it. Much better flow than either the Coleman head or another head I was using.

So that bit is answered.

I looked at the Shuffle units that self prime and pump 4 litre / minute. $109 thank you. ! Ugh.

Will stick with the Coleman Pump and the shower head I found in my parts bin.

Will definitely be getting the gas fitting.

Thanks for the input re the shower head.

Magnus
FollowupID: 337393

Follow Up By: brett - Saturday, Sep 25, 2004 at 16:35

Saturday, Sep 25, 2004 at 16:35
Magnus thanks for the imformitive reply. I'm currently using a 12V shower from jaycar, it takes about 3 min to empty a 9L bucket so sounds like the coleman has a bit more flow, would be nice to be able to adjust flow for the times you have unlimited supply.The jaycar pump looks exactly the same as the Primus shower I figure the pressure adapter you can use for connecting up to a water supply probably limits the flow to the same as the supplied pump???

David,
did you get an increase in flow with the flojet pump and pressure adapter?
FollowupID: 337398

Follow Up By: Magnus - Saturday, Sep 25, 2004 at 16:50

Saturday, Sep 25, 2004 at 16:50
Brett,

snip snip "I figure the pressure adapter you can use for connecting up to a water supply probably limits the flow to the same as the supplied pump??? "

Sorry Brett, I don't understand what you mean there. The Coleman unit just has a pump that either sits in a tub of water or is screwed into the supplied Coleman collapsible water bag.

I was using 12 volt showers also. The last one I had used so much water you had to turn it off while soaping or shampooing or there was none left to rinse. It died from rust after 2 camps!!

Magnus
FollowupID: 337399

Follow Up By: David Au - Saturday, Sep 25, 2004 at 19:25

Saturday, Sep 25, 2004 at 19:25
Magnus the adaptor limits the pressure not the flow
you get more water with the pressure adaptor over the pump
the shower head is a no name brand
has smaller holes and sprays with more force
the best way to shower with minimum water is to have a bowl you put warm water and some soap, sponge and wash yourself all over and then rinse
FollowupID: 337410

Follow Up By: Magnus - Saturday, Sep 25, 2004 at 19:31

Saturday, Sep 25, 2004 at 19:31
David,

Thanks for that. I take it the adaptor for limiting the pressure came from your mate in the States??

Haven't seen it as an option on the Coleman Web Site. So, is it a Coleman unit?

I think I fixed the shower head issue with a unit I had here at home. Am getting heaps better spread of water from the head.

Magnus
FollowupID: 337411

Follow Up By: David Au - Saturday, Sep 25, 2004 at 19:53

Saturday, Sep 25, 2004 at 19:53
Magnus they will be available in Aus in 5 weeks
http://www.coleman.com/coleman/colemancom/detail.asp?product_id=2300-511&categoryid=2200
FollowupID: 337412

Follow Up By: Magnus - Saturday, Sep 25, 2004 at 20:03

Saturday, Sep 25, 2004 at 20:03
Ahhhh,

Thanks for that. A nice addition for some circumstances. Now I undertand how you have used it with the 12 volt pump as well.

Magnus
FollowupID: 337413

Reply By: Michael - Saturday, Sep 25, 2004 at 18:16

Saturday, Sep 25, 2004 at 18:16
Hi Brett, The Primus is the same only a different colour, If you get a good one you are lucky, My first one ,the impeller fell apart and a lot of people on this site said the pump died or the switch died. No doubt , the manufacturer will rectify the probs eventually when they start to have claims put on them for faulty goods!!! Michael
AnswerID: 77825

Reply By: Member - Michael (NSW) - Saturday, Sep 25, 2004 at 18:58

Saturday, Sep 25, 2004 at 18:58
Coleman probably couldn't give a damn, kmart are still making $30 out of the sale and would sell heaps more that the little camping store down the road. Kmart are buying at a better price than the little guy,so as long as the coleman distributor is making their mark-up, they probably couldn't care less, "a sale is, 'a sale'."
AnswerID: 77828

Reply By: andysgu - Saturday, Sep 25, 2004 at 20:30

Saturday, Sep 25, 2004 at 20:30
You could probly replace the pump with a whale in line or a shurflo conected to a water tank wouldnt have to worry about dangling the pump into a bucket etc as far as the gas adapter believe it when you see it its a american company and we all now how enviromental they are when they can flog you a container you have to dispose of when its empty.
Andy.
AnswerID: 77832

Reply By: Blackie - Sunday, Sep 26, 2004 at 09:37

Sunday, Sep 26, 2004 at 09:37
If you can hold of until Ray's Tent City have one of their 20% off sales you will get the Coleman unit for $319.00 even better a 22% off sale and its yours for $312.00.
AnswerID: 77861

Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Sunday, Sep 26, 2004 at 11:00

Sunday, Sep 26, 2004 at 11:00
You won't have to hold off for long. Ray's has 20% of sale about every three weeks.
FollowupID: 337438

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Sep 27, 2004 at 08:49

Monday, Sep 27, 2004 at 08:49
Actually had a look at one yesterday at Rays.
They look really plasticy, how do you find it?

Not the smallest thing to pack, but then if you want more than 1ltr of water it has to be respectfully sized.
AnswerID: 77924

Follow Up By: Magnus - Monday, Sep 27, 2004 at 11:52

Monday, Sep 27, 2004 at 11:52
Truckster,

The placticy look was an initial concern for me too. I put a lot of faith in the Coleman brand. Have a number of their products and it was their past quality that I relied on.

Nothing broken after one camp and a fair bit of experimenting at home both before and after. Still, not the sort of unit you would want to be rough with. I braced up an old folding stove stand (Coleman of course) to use with it just to make sure the stove stand wouldn't fall over with the Hot Water unit on it.. Means I have to bolt the stand together in camp, but once done it is rock solid as opposed to being a bit wobbly like most folding stove stands. That worked well.

I bought the carry bag as well and that bulks it up a fair bit. Takes up almost as much room as a small fridge. Fortunately I have a new bigger camper trailer than my old one so I haven't filled it up with sundry junk yet and so there was room for the Coleman!!

If you can get one at the mentioned Ray's sale price, they are well worth the price.

Magnus

FollowupID: 337511