Submitted: Monday, Sep 27, 2004 at 19:24
Shagga
Can anybody who has had a 4"
suspension lift in a GU tell me if this would require the brake lines, diff breathers etc, to be replaced or will a 4" lift go in without the additional work? I am getting conflicting stories from different suppliers.
Reply By: Kiwi Ray - Monday, Sep 27, 2004 at 19:51
Monday, Sep 27, 2004 at 19:51
You will need to the xtra work with a 4 ins lift, it is not big dollars just time
Follow Up By: Shagga - Monday, Sep 27, 2004 at 20:01
Monday, Sep 27, 2004 at 20:01
Ray, Do you have any idea what sort of money, I’ve had one supplier try and tell me it would cost me about $1400 extra to go from a 3" lift to a 4"lift. Which is just ridicules.
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Sep 27, 2004 at 21:19
Monday, Sep 27, 2004 at 21:19
He wouldnt be far from wrong.
4x springs
4x shocks.
2x Longer brake lines.
2x Bump stop extensions
2x Diff breather extensions.
Either castor bushes or castor plates depending on application
Front and rear adjustable panhard bars
Kit from Bigballsoffroad.com is $2,499.99
+ engineers
You can fit 36x11's with a 3inch lift on a GU.. Steve Roly did for ages.
What tires are you dreaming of running?
Reply By: Kiwi Ray - Monday, Sep 27, 2004 at 20:09
Monday, Sep 27, 2004 at 20:09
The difference in the cost per spring would be about $25.
If this lift is a kit you would need to know what is in each kit to make some sort of judgement.
personally I would get my springs made for me by a spring maker and buy what ever ealse I needed from the relative suppliers.
I could give you a list but not tonite I have to go to work
Ray
Reply By: Member Eric - Monday, Sep 27, 2004 at 20:26
Monday, Sep 27, 2004 at 20:26
ok this is what you need ,
4" springs , I recoment Kings or Dobsons
extra long travel shocks , you can run ranchos with pin to eye convertors but I dont recoment them for such a heavy car. I recomend you use a pedder / munro / tuff dog or Koni , if you do use the munro or pedders , wou can only buy a 2 inch longer travel shock , so you need to make some 2" EXTENTIONS ,
You will need longer brake lines , 4" longer actually lol . Dont forget the travel you will have when a wheel drops in a rut .
You will need longer diff breathers , You should run them to the top of your engine bay with fuel filters .
You will need a castor correction system . I recoment castor correction plates , but you can get away with correction bushes
You will need to buy adjustible pan ards , since your wheel track wioth move 1" to one side
You will need spacers for the front sway bar , so it wont hit yout front tail shaft when fully extended . Or you may want to just remove it .
If you dont want to do all of the above , dont it at all .
Follow Up By: Shagga - Monday, Sep 27, 2004 at 22:03
Monday, Sep 27, 2004 at 22:03
Thanks to everyone that replied to my enquiry, you have all given me valuable info. Any further details regarding part recommendations would be fantastic. I am located in the S.E Burbs of Melb, points of contact and reputable suppliers if known would also be a great help.
Follow Up By: Member Eric - Monday, Sep 27, 2004 at 23:16
Monday, Sep 27, 2004 at 23:16
If you need springs , let me know , I can supply a set off kings at trade price if you need them . I am in oakleigh
Reply By: Andrew - Monday, Sep 27, 2004 at 23:28
Monday, Sep 27, 2004 at 23:28
Have a read in the GU Modifications section on the Patrol Owners
Forum, heaps of big lift discussion: Patrol4WD.org
forum
Reply By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 28, 2004 at 13:02
Tuesday, Sep 28, 2004 at 13:02
Gday mate,
If money is not option, would go the 4 inch lift. But to be honest, my truck runs better on the 3 inch (dobinson 3 inch extra heavy duty) than on the 4 inch, tracks much better and is a great ride. Saved around $1,500 for 1 inch.
Picked up my dobinson kit including dampner for $700 neat.
Chris.