4WDs make others feel unsafe: survey

Submitted: Tuesday, Sep 28, 2004 at 09:21
ThreadID: 16609 Views:2845 Replies:13 FollowUps:18
www.theage.com.au

Four-wheel-drive owners are so arrogant and aggressive behind the wheel that 70 per cent of Australian motorists do not feel safe sharing the roads with them, a national survey reveals.

Almost half of the 1880 drivers surveyed want four-wheel-drives banished from city streets, while 39 per cent of four-wheel-drive owners acknowledged their vehicles were probably dangerous to other motorists.

Thirty per cent of four-wheel-drivers also admitted to talking on mobile phones without a hands-free kit compared to 17 per cent of other drivers, the survey for insurer AAMI found.

AAMI spokeswoman Selina O'Connor said the results showed that despite the growing popularity of four-wheel-drives, most drivers were not convinced they were safe for Australian roads.

Four-wheel-drives make up about 20 per cent of new car sales, according to recent figures.

Ms O'Connor said the survey found most owners lived in the city. Only one-quarter listed their main reason for buying a four-wheel-drive as a desire to go off-road exploring.

"Six in 10 drivers of regular vehicles said they believed four-wheel-drives should have special licensing requirements due to their different handling and safety considerations," she said.

Australian Transport Safety Bureau figures show that over the nine years to 1998, the number of fatal four-wheel-drive crashes rose by 85 per cent.

The committee chairman of Staysafe, Paul Gibson, said special licences for four-wheel-drive owners were being considered in NSW.

"We hear many concerns that people feel intimidated by four-wheel-drives," he said. "Dedicated licences are definitely something we have looked at, and will look at again."

Reply By: motherhen - Tuesday, Sep 28, 2004 at 09:39

Tuesday, Sep 28, 2004 at 09:39
Silly city drivers - lets just run 'em over!
AnswerID: 78032

Reply By: Member - Michael- Tuesday, Sep 28, 2004 at 09:42

Tuesday, Sep 28, 2004 at 09:42
Hey Truckster
So the old 'chestnut' is being dragged out again -"Lets ban 4WD". I would love to know where some of the statistics are drawn from particularly the one on the increase of 4wd fatal crashes. I have a sneaking suspision that the satas are made up of incidents in rural areas where the majority of vehicles are 4wd. I get really p*##$d of when you see them (4wd) being used as Toorack Taxis or glorified shopping trolleys and the only time they leave the bitumen is when they are parked in driveways. BTW I use mine around town, it's our only vehicle, but nearly every weekend you will find it doing what it was bought for GOING 4WD. It might be time for all 4wd Associations to stand up and be counted.
May the fleas of a thousand afghan camels infect the crutch of your enemy and may their arms be too short to scratch.

AnswerID: 78034

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Sep 28, 2004 at 09:59

Tuesday, Sep 28, 2004 at 09:59
http://anfwdc.4wd.org.au/contact.htm

I think everyone should contact them by email and start getting up their arse.
FollowupID: 337604

Reply By: Bazza - Tuesday, Sep 28, 2004 at 09:45

Tuesday, Sep 28, 2004 at 09:45
"I'M NOT #!%^$&*ING ARROGANT AND AGGRESSIVE!!" ( LOL )
Bazza
AnswerID: 78037

Reply By: Howard T - Tuesday, Sep 28, 2004 at 10:08

Tuesday, Sep 28, 2004 at 10:08
Obviously AAMI dont insure may 4wds.
AnswerID: 78041

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Sep 28, 2004 at 10:19

Tuesday, Sep 28, 2004 at 10:19
Funny - they do! And people love em.. for some strange reason.. even with all the horror stories going around.
FollowupID: 337608

Reply By: cokeaddict - Tuesday, Sep 28, 2004 at 10:16

Tuesday, Sep 28, 2004 at 10:16
Hey truckster,
Channel Nine is REALLY doing a job on this story tonight. Im listening to my mate Lawsy on 2UE and so far i have heard it as the story of the day 5 times on radio.
I can just imagine how the words will all blend in. And i can see the camera men trying extra hard to find aggressive driving footage with 4wd'ers to show the viewers just how bad we are.

I wonder what would hapopen if while driving my GQ i backed off to allowed a camry to enter my lane and find the driver had a heart attack from my kind gesture? Ya think id be sued for that? and more importantly...would all you guys abuse me for the being mellow on regular drivers ?
AnswerID: 78042

Reply By: Member - Chris (SA) - Tuesday, Sep 28, 2004 at 10:17

Tuesday, Sep 28, 2004 at 10:17
I'm not surprised that NSW is considering a special license - isn't that where the bull bar idiot lives!. AAMI obviously didn't survey drivers in SA as they'd find that car drivers ignore 4WDs, cut in on them, brake suddenly, abuse us for being slow off the mark. Still, to be sure 2000 drivers are obviously representative of the Oz driving community, so we've got to go with that I suppose.

Make it compulsory to buy a troopy then we all can have a great truck!!
AnswerID: 78043

Reply By: GO_OFFROAD - Tuesday, Sep 28, 2004 at 10:27

Tuesday, Sep 28, 2004 at 10:27
Ok, if we read what they are really saying, in that survey article,

it says
"Four-wheel-drive owners are so arrogant and aggressive behind the wheel that 70 per cent of Australian motorists do not feel safe sharing the roads with them, a national survey reveals."

So what it means is, 70 percent of aus motorists feel 4wders are arrogant and aggressive, as it doesnt actualy prove 4wders are anything, it only asked opinions in a survey.

they said
"while 39 per cent of four-wheel-drive owners acknowledged their vehicles were probably dangerous to other motorists. "

We install smoke alarms, safety switches, pool fences, lollypop ladys on crossings, air bags, etc etc to look after our family, so what is wrong with driving a car which is the hammer, compared to the nail?

they said
"most drivers were not convinced they were safe for Australian roads. "

Interesting noa ctual No's quoted here from a survey where they can quote No's elsewhere, and again, they are asking people thier opinion on 4wds and safety, no factual data what so ever in this statement.

they said
"Ms O'Connor said the survey found most owners lived in the city. Only one-quarter listed their main reason for buying a four-wheel-drive as a desire to go off-road exploring."

Do we buy runners to go running? I didnt realise our rights to free choice meant we had to use the items we purchase for thier intended purpose.

they said
""Six in 10 drivers of regular vehicles said they believed four-wheel-drives should have special licensing requirements due to their different handling and safety considerations," she said. "

Interesting concept, given some 4wd's in the market are smaller, and lighter than passenger cars, the 90 prado for instance is the same weight as a statesman, with much less power, then we have suzuki's, hyundai's, softroaders, like the holden cross8, ad ford territory, which are same weight as prado, similar configaration to awd subaru's, so how do they police it?

they said
"Australian Transport Safety Bureau figures show that over the nine years to 1998, the number of fatal four-wheel-drive crashes rose by 85 per cent"

they quote a figure of deaths in 4wd's, without quoting the No's of 4wd sales increase in that period, or if it includes awd vehicles as well, which would probably then show an 85% increase in fatalities may actually be a lower figure of deaths than the 9 yr previous, compared to sales.......

they said
"The committee chairman of Staysafe, Paul Gibson, said special licences for four-wheel-drive owners were being considered in NSW. "

Another way to increase insurance, license fee's, and revenue.......

A very one sided article, which , tells us more about the writers bias by its omissions, than its content, and a typical sensationalization by main stream media.

AnswerID: 78046

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Sep 28, 2004 at 10:33

Tuesday, Sep 28, 2004 at 10:33
"A very one sided article."

You expected Different ?? None of the other 129840213489203948 storys/polls etc were different to this.
FollowupID: 337610

Follow Up By: GO_OFFROAD - Tuesday, Sep 28, 2004 at 10:42

Tuesday, Sep 28, 2004 at 10:42
it was an observation, not a question, and as such, carried no expectation attached to it, which now puts you in the same vein as the writer of the article, by using data worded specifically to make the reader think differently to what the data says, and attempt to make your point.
FollowupID: 337612

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Sep 28, 2004 at 10:58

Tuesday, Sep 28, 2004 at 10:58
Yea I know it was an observation dude. Was just sayin the same thing really..

Would be nice if we could get some articles printed, or a few polls taken at the 4wd show sprouted around the country on TV/Radio/Press that showed the other side of the arguement, instead of taking a poll round Scrubys family reunion.

You finished movin house yet?
FollowupID: 337616

Follow Up By: GO_OFFROAD - Tuesday, Sep 28, 2004 at 11:09

Tuesday, Sep 28, 2004 at 11:09
Well,
this is where our 4wd acc and bodys need a radical element to gain press,a nd sprout info, and make people accountable for what they come out with, instead of being the toothless tiger............

And yep, 3 weeks of shifting stuff was enough....;-)
FollowupID: 337620

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Sep 28, 2004 at 12:23

Tuesday, Sep 28, 2004 at 12:23
Couldnt agree more with the association... Like the ACCC - useless.

So whens the house warming BBQ?
FollowupID: 337633

Follow Up By: Kozzy - Wednesday, Sep 29, 2004 at 16:46

Wednesday, Sep 29, 2004 at 16:46
I drive a Subaru 4wd that'll go anywhere any other 4wd will go, and will even fit into a shopping centre carpark space. What are they going to do with me? Maybe they will need to have about 20 different licenses depending on what kind of 4wd you drive, and whether you drive it on the road, off the road, tow an ocean liner, etc. etc.

It's a load of bull sheet! Teach people how to drive properly according to the conditions they will encounter - like all 4wd clubs do!! No wonder most people feel unsafe on the roads with 4wds, most people can't drive properly anyway! They also complain about buses, bicycles, pedestrians, motorcyclists.....crap!!
FollowupID: 337811

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 09:40

Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 09:40
"I drive a Subaru 4wd that'll go anywhere any other 4wd will go"

You cant honestly believe that.... Do you do stand up as well?
FollowupID: 337867

Follow Up By: Kozzy - Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 09:51

Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 09:51
Ok, ok, I didn't mean to get into an argument. Let's say ALMOST anywhere.... but all the same, don't underestimate what a little suby in the right hands can do (with a few well chosen mods). I wasn't being contentious, I was making a supportive point on your post. (All the same, it is worth a chuckle when you see how easily some people get into strife when they get too cocky about what they think their big 4x4 truck will do and they don't know how to drive it!)
FollowupID: 337868

Follow Up By: GO_OFFROAD - Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 10:19

Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 10:19
so what your really saying is, a good driver will take a bad car more places than a bad driver will take a good car?.......
FollowupID: 337870

Follow Up By: Kozzy - Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 10:39

Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 10:39
Yes...or...a good driver will take ANY car to more places than a bad driver will, and more safely!
FollowupID: 337875

Reply By: navaraman - Tuesday, Sep 28, 2004 at 10:39

Tuesday, Sep 28, 2004 at 10:39
This story has just had an airing on 5AA in Adelaide and the pro 4WDers outnumbered the antis which was good to hear. I'd be in favour of a change in the licensing rules, driving a vehicle weighing close to 3 tonnes is different to driving an auto Barina for example, towing a large caravan/boat should have a different licence too, as should driving turbo'd ricer sports cars too.
AnswerID: 78047

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Sep 28, 2004 at 10:42

Tuesday, Sep 28, 2004 at 10:42
I have a 5C (road train in the old scale) license, drove trucks for 8+ yrs round Aussie. So do I need this special license?
Where do you start and where do you stop?
FollowupID: 337611

Follow Up By: navaraman - Tuesday, Sep 28, 2004 at 10:48

Tuesday, Sep 28, 2004 at 10:48
I reckon you'd be right Truckster. My main concern is people who learn and pass thir test in an auto Barina can then go out and buy and drive a loaded up Cruisebulling a 20ft vanr or Subi WRX. My g/f can not drive a manual (Ps me off when I want a few beers, she can't drive the ute) but still is given a full drivers licence. Makes no sense to me.
FollowupID: 337613

Follow Up By: navaraman - Tuesday, Sep 28, 2004 at 10:50

Tuesday, Sep 28, 2004 at 10:50
that should read Cruiser pulling a 20ft van
FollowupID: 337615

Reply By: Member - Graham P (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 28, 2004 at 11:26

Tuesday, Sep 28, 2004 at 11:26
This hysteria is being generated by the media and is no different to racism. it is only getting worse because some people have a bias against 4wd and are stirring the pot. I strongly suggest a class action should be taken against the people who are carrying this business on. all 4wd that satisfy the vehicle constructors code ( or whatever) are entitled to be driven on the australian roads. To say that australian roads are not suitable for these vehicles is crap, there is a tremendous number of roads which are only suitable for 4wd. Yes i will watch the chanel9 crap tonight but let us figure out some way to stop this rubbish or the racism will increase.
AnswerID: 78050

Reply By: D-Jack - Tuesday, Sep 28, 2004 at 11:44

Tuesday, Sep 28, 2004 at 11:44
Yeh, well I', not racist at all but I would like to make a point involving races. If we have a minority group, Aboriginals for instance, of which a small number (note I said small) are constantly causing a large number of problems in Adelaide, like they do, do we go and make them all go and do a special course on how to behave? Or do we ban them from the streets? No, I tell you. We educate those around them to understand their culture and indeed give them special benefits over other races in Adelaide. Make exceptions to them breaking the law, etc.

Now apply that to 4wds being the minority group, and wham everyone else should be educated on how to drive with 4wds around. Understanding of the 4wd machine and the 4wdriver will see increased harmony and confidence on the road. With a little loving we can look to a bright future of unity and a one car nation.

What a load of crap I just dribbled.

AnswerID: 78051

Reply By: Member - Graham P (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 28, 2004 at 11:47

Tuesday, Sep 28, 2004 at 11:47
Further to my comments above - the telephone number to ring is 02 94394577 and let them know how uncomfortable you are with these continuing attacks on the sort of vehicle a person drives. it doesn't fall into a particular catoragy of descrimination so cannot be handled by the states anyway. The number above is "current affair."

Graham
AnswerID: 78052

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Sep 28, 2004 at 12:26

Tuesday, Sep 28, 2004 at 12:26
And then they will turn it around that they recieved a number of "disturbing calls from ANGRY 4wders",
or
How they recieved a number of abusing calls from the 4wding community.

Even if neither were. Thats if you get anything more than an answering machine.

Also mention about street racing, ginos in illegal sports cars, the 4 dead kids the other week died in a sports car, also the kids that died in high power cars out Dandenong way the other week while drag racing, and many other P Plater deaths caused by high powered cars hitting poles. You would like a show on banning Power poles.

WWYT..
FollowupID: 337634

Reply By: theshadows - Tuesday, Sep 28, 2004 at 12:43

Tuesday, Sep 28, 2004 at 12:43
I dont know if anyone remembers the old 1A and 1b liences from 20 years ago.
1A was cars {sedans under 1.5 tonne} 1b was cars over 1.5 tonne up to 3 tonne eg station wagons and heavy trailers.
Considering that the lienceing scheme has now gone national ,I cannot see the re-introduction of the 2 tier liences. however I can see Beattie and Carr putting a huge leavy on 4WD regos.

Next week the bull bar spotlight will pointed again when the news is a bit slow.

shadow
AnswerID: 78060

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Sep 28, 2004 at 12:50

Tuesday, Sep 28, 2004 at 12:50
however I can see Beattie and Carr putting a huge leavy on 4WD regos.

dont leave out Bracks and all the others.. Any chance for $$ bracks will be there.
FollowupID: 337637

Follow Up By: T-bone - Tuesday, Sep 28, 2004 at 13:20

Tuesday, Sep 28, 2004 at 13:20
Ain't that the truth. Any Victorian who owns a motorbike knows all about Bracksy's $50 "motorcycle safety levy" to save us from ourselves....
FollowupID: 337644

Reply By: madcow - Tuesday, Sep 28, 2004 at 21:03

Tuesday, Sep 28, 2004 at 21:03
And I now wonder where the majority of the survey was taken! I had no idea I was so arrogant yet the minister of war & finance would probably agree sometimes! then again who cares?
AnswerID: 78139