Jackaroo restrictor removal - follow up

Submitted: Tuesday, Sep 28, 2004 at 18:17
ThreadID: 16628 Views:2532 Replies:7 FollowUps:7
Hi all, just giving some fuel consumption follow up since the restrictors were removed on the mighty mouse. As a few people were keen to know.

It has done about 700km since the removal and this week has been used for a good variety of work, around town, open road and freeway up to 110. Also towed a 7x5 single axle with about 400 kg on board for about 100km. Just filled it up at the juicearama and did the sums, 12.8 L/100. Not bad i think, Pure open road cruising should net flat 12 or even low 11s , i will have to get a cruise control now to take full advantage of it, as my heavy boot lets it get away too easy, the jack feels most comfortable doing 120 nowdays :-) ( mr plod :-(( )

See ya Brad

Reply By: Bob H - Tuesday, Sep 28, 2004 at 18:37

Tuesday, Sep 28, 2004 at 18:37
Hi Bradley,

sounds just great and you seem to be happy with the results. what was the fuel cons before removal of restrictors?

AnswerID: 78115

Follow Up By: Member - Bradley- Tuesday, Sep 28, 2004 at 18:45

Tuesday, Sep 28, 2004 at 18:45
Hi bob , earlier posts have some figures and i have done other mods, but i was getting about 12.5 at best highway cruise, normally 13-14 around town etc. from memory at easter i got about 14 with a week of off road and heaps of low range in the high country. Best thing is it goes like a cut cat now.. surprises a lot of sedan drivers at the lights etc..
FollowupID: 337693

Reply By: mr diamond - Tuesday, Sep 28, 2004 at 19:31

Tuesday, Sep 28, 2004 at 19:31
geez mate imagine a big huge 4wd using less fuel than a passenger car lol.
another question if i may regarding tyres lolol.
is there or will there be a problem fitting 265-70-16 with regards to scrubbing ect that you have heard of.
cheers mate.
AnswerID: 78123

Follow Up By: dogart - Wednesday, Sep 29, 2004 at 02:30

Wednesday, Sep 29, 2004 at 02:30
mr D
I've got 265/70R16 on my Jack with no mods
and it's fine, doesn't rub.
FollowupID: 337745

Follow Up By: Member - Bradley- Wednesday, Sep 29, 2004 at 15:21

Wednesday, Sep 29, 2004 at 15:21
some people tell me they have fitted 265/70 265/75 tyres with no dramas, others say they have had a bit of rubbing, Personally i have decided to go to a 245/75 to get a light truck casing instead of the passenger type. the mtr's i have decided on have a 118/120 rating and will give me twice the minimum axle rating for the jack..
Adam aka Crazie , is getting 265/75/16 coopers fitted this week so we can ask him also. You comin down for the jeffs shedbleepe 'o' rama ?? if so i will bring along a cd for you (trooper maint manual) Cheerio
FollowupID: 337805

Reply By: Andrew from TrekTable - Tuesday, Sep 28, 2004 at 21:39

Tuesday, Sep 28, 2004 at 21:39
Thanks Bradley,

I've followed your trail for a few weeks now and I know if I had a petrol Jackaroo I'd already have the restrictors out by now.

Problem is, I have a diesel. Does anyone know if they have similar restrictions?

I know quite a few petrol cars (including turbo petrols!) have restrictors fitted but haven't seen or heard of any diesels suffering similar but am keen to hear from others.

AnswerID: 78145

Follow Up By: Member - Bradley- Wednesday, Sep 29, 2004 at 15:24

Wednesday, Sep 29, 2004 at 15:24
Don't think the oiler has a restrictor as such, just the usual cheap factory strangle pipes. BTW how does the table have a self leveling system for when you stop on a 20 degree slope :-)))
FollowupID: 337806

Follow Up By: Andrew from TrekTable - Wednesday, Sep 29, 2004 at 18:08

Wednesday, Sep 29, 2004 at 18:08
Brad,

The strangle pipes on the diesel are funny. Don't know whether you've ever looked at one but the drop pipe drops right down under one of the torsion bars before coming back up under the floor pan. Hence they are one of the lowest points on the vehicle and cop a beating. So I guess its an after market restrictor!

BTW The table is always level. It's the ground that moves ;-)

FollowupID: 337815

Reply By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Tuesday, Sep 28, 2004 at 22:46

Tuesday, Sep 28, 2004 at 22:46
Giddy Up Mate
Mine is booked in on Thursday to get them pulled out.
Also fitting Coopers 265/75/16's.

Good results Brad

Ads
AnswerID: 78161

Reply By: Member - Nobby - Wednesday, Sep 29, 2004 at 17:09

Wednesday, Sep 29, 2004 at 17:09
Same here.. I have mine booked in to-morrow to have the extractions. Will let everyone know how it goes. On another note I got Andrew from Trektable to put one of his Tables in the Jack last week(turns out he lives just around the corner) and could'nt be happier. Comes with a list of instructions and all screws etc. Very well finished also.Not on the take also.
AnswerID: 78240

Reply By: Member - Nobby - Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 15:58

Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 15:58
Well took the jack down to the local Midas shop and the bloke has one look and said that the whole exhaust system had to come out for him to get at it. Consequently I still have the restrictors in the system. Have lined up another bloke on Sat. Morning.
AnswerID: 78364

Follow Up By: Member - Bradley- Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 20:01

Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 20:01
hmm sounds like he worked out he couldn't flog you a pre made replacement system and fit it in 20 minutes and then charge you for 2 or 3 hours.. The job involves 4 bolts for the bash plate, 8 bolts for the y section and slipping off the rubber mount..... Mate, find a proper exhaust shop that does custom work not a 'McExhaust' Hope you have better luck on Sat.. cheers
FollowupID: 337938

Reply By: arrano - Friday, Oct 01, 2004 at 12:29

Friday, Oct 01, 2004 at 12:29
Hey Bradley - great news I will definately be looking into this, I have a 3.2 V6.

Do you have any photos of the restrictors, or the disassembled pipes. Just so when i get the same funny looks at the Exhaust Place i can show them first.

Thanks in Advance.

AnswerID: 78497

Follow Up By: Member - Bradley- Friday, Oct 01, 2004 at 21:05

Friday, Oct 01, 2004 at 21:05
No piccies from me, but Adam was going to get some to post here or on the jackaroo site. All i know is there are 2 types i have seen, one forward of the join to the up pipes in a penny washer style, the other after the join in a tapered pipe style.
FollowupID: 338048