Car Colour choice

Submitted: Wednesday, Sep 29, 2004 at 09:43
ThreadID: 16639 Views:4014 Replies:15 FollowUps:12
Looking at changing cars from the white patrol to a silver one. What are people's experiences with silver in terms of its ability to conceal scratches from overhanging branches, not show the dirt and to generally keep looking good??

Reply By: Member - Michael (NSW) - Wednesday, Sep 29, 2004 at 09:54

Wednesday, Sep 29, 2004 at 09:54
Hi Andrew, I think most government cars are white for just that reason, They look ok clean and dirty, easy to repair and touch-up. I actually agonised over the colour of my current Patrol, my last Patrol was boring white. I really wanted the Burnt Silver but practicality told me to get another white one( I hate myself for being so practical). In years gone by if you scratched a metallic car, it left a white or grey colour exposed, i'm not sure what happens with modern water based paint on cars now.. Michael
AnswerID: 78189

Reply By: navaraman - Wednesday, Sep 29, 2004 at 10:00

Wednesday, Sep 29, 2004 at 10:00
Like Michael said Government fleet cars, especially 4bys are white because they hide minor scratches better than any other colour.
AnswerID: 78190

Reply By: Utemad - Wednesday, Sep 29, 2004 at 10:05

Wednesday, Sep 29, 2004 at 10:05
My Rodeo is white and it is great for hiding scratches and small dents. However our work F250s are both metallic silver and their scratches look like pin stripes at 100 feet!!

However I have been able to polish the scatches out with very minimal effort. They look good as new. However there is one deep scratch on one of them that has left the scratched line white. Must be the colour of the undercoat.

I'd go the white everytime. Means you don't need to colour code any bolt ons either to keep the car looking good.
AnswerID: 78191

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Wednesday, Sep 29, 2004 at 10:06

Wednesday, Sep 29, 2004 at 10:06
Andrew, I concurr with Michael above in regard to the white ones but have a gold one anyway. Yes, it catches branches and fence posts around the farm.

The insurance companies will probably tell you too that all colours other than white are driven more aggressively anyway. I guess it costs less to match white paint when the scratches are painted over that just escapes their notice. Obviously if you listen to the media 4bys are just the added extra for the agression and colour.

Just remember they are "not perty til they are dirty" I don't think that just applies to John Deere tractors, just pardon the american accent... Mine had Mad Max tints of desert mud below.
AnswerID: 78193

Reply By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Wednesday, Sep 29, 2004 at 10:08

Wednesday, Sep 29, 2004 at 10:08
Gday Andrew,

Had the burnt silver patrol for about 8 weeks now, already had the 'touch up guys' out to hide a few chips that surfaced after dirt road travelling past Millmeran a few weeks ago. Also, scratches are really a problem as anything that touches the shiny metalic finish leaves it's mark.

Go the white, or the baby poo brown, had that in a tojo a few years back and found that even better than white!

Chris.
AnswerID: 78195

Follow Up By: DARREN - Wednesday, Sep 29, 2004 at 19:10

Wednesday, Sep 29, 2004 at 19:10
Hi Chris,

I have had my burnt Silver GU for 18 months including a Cape York Trip and am not unhappy with my colour choice (avoided white as I didn't want to spend $50k and look like I worked for Telstra).

My question though is where are you having the chip issues?

I got a few chips on the rear doors from stones that were not deflected from the stone guard on the trailer and a few on the sills from our trip but other than that think that design (mudflaps/steps etc) to avoid chips from dirt road travel is pretty good on GU's.

Darren
FollowupID: 337830

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 08:41

Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 08:41
Gday Darren,

Since I put the MTR's on mate. The tyres sit pretty much inside the guards, but got some chips on the front passenger and driver doors. I have the darkest metalic tint you can get, but the vehicle still gets quite hot as well.

Your right however on the looks, they do look much better with silver or red, but for offroad use, there's not much you can do but grin and bear it.

Don't get me wrong, I'm not unhappy with color choice, but I think if you were going to go playing every weekend, I wouldn't go the metalic paint with bigger tyres, suspension etc.

Chris.
FollowupID: 337861

Follow Up By: DARREN - Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 09:21

Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 09:21
That's pretty interesting Chris, I have standard Nissan alloys with 285/75/16 Cooper ST's and have not noticed any chips on doors and am usually one to notice every scratch. I am wondering if your rims are more offset thus causing this. In any case I don't think I will look too close next time I wash, sometimes best not to know. My car is to drive to work with 1-2 trips a year plus a few fishing weekends and I do agree if you were planning to give you car a hard time white would be the go.

PS. I printed out your dyno report and posts on the power up topic and sent it to a mate who has a 4.2, as a bit of ..er .....motivation.

Darren
FollowupID: 337865

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 09:27

Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 09:27
Yeah, mine sit on 15x8 monsoon roh alloys, you wouldn't expect there to be that much difference??? I was thinking that perhaps the stones get caught in the lugs a little more and flick out when I turn, but that's probably reaching!

Mines for the same actually, just for trips though. Just bought myself a 1976 rangie 3.5 V8 4 speed with twin su's, 2.5 exhaust and extractors, doesn't go as hard as the patrol however!

As for the powerup, I've been really happy. Goes like the clappers, hardly touch the pedal now and taking off from lights etc is just a cruise, don't need to really rev it often over 2000rpm unless merging onto the highway! Still getting above 8k/l and straight city driving. Looking at the bigger water cooled intercooler for later on, John from Brisbane Turbos suggested that 190hp at the rears with different dump pipe, and the motor worn in is not an unreasonable target. Now that would be nice! And that's still him personally guaranteeing reliability and longevity.

Sorry to hijack your post Andrew!!!

Chris.
FollowupID: 337866

Reply By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Wednesday, Sep 29, 2004 at 10:59

Wednesday, Sep 29, 2004 at 10:59
I totally agree with responses.....White is smart mans colour for cars....
I also did some testing last year on what temperatures different colours get when sitting in the sunshine....

Arctic white which is by far the best reached 30 degrees c sitting in the sunshine on a 28 degree day....
Another car was painted in a typical white which wasnt quite arctic and it was 36degrees.....Blue was in the 50's and red was 60's.....
AnswerID: 78201

Follow Up By: Member - Michael (NSW) - Wednesday, Sep 29, 2004 at 11:22

Wednesday, Sep 29, 2004 at 11:22
Thats the other thing i forgot to mention, 100% correct, much cooler, I had an SS commodore a few years, Panther Mica, Black/Metallic, god it was hot, looked great but not practical. Michael
FollowupID: 337770

Reply By: Member - Andrew O - Wednesday, Sep 29, 2004 at 14:44

Wednesday, Sep 29, 2004 at 14:44
Thanks for all the replies fellas - so it comes down to looks over practicality!!
AnswerID: 78224

Reply By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Wednesday, Sep 29, 2004 at 15:55

Wednesday, Sep 29, 2004 at 15:55
I got over pretty colours years ago. I only buy white for the above reasons.
AnswerID: 78231

Reply By: Member - Roger L (NSW) - Wednesday, Sep 29, 2004 at 15:57

Wednesday, Sep 29, 2004 at 15:57
Andrew,
Like the others have said go the white for the reasons stated.
A TIP fefore a trip go to the car wash and wax the paintwork thoroughly and just leave the wax to dry, don't wash of then the next time you wash the beast use a soft cloth and the results are great. Helps a lot with those little scratches from the scrub. Also often with coloured vehicles the undercoat is white which shows up when a decent scratch happens.
I used to have a handle on life, but it broke.

Cheers Dodg.

AnswerID: 78232

Reply By: Member - Athol (NSW) - Wednesday, Sep 29, 2004 at 17:07

Wednesday, Sep 29, 2004 at 17:07
You are all forgeting that red ones go faster!! lol. Only joking I have two white cars for the above reasons.

Athol.
AnswerID: 78239

Reply By: Brian - Wednesday, Sep 29, 2004 at 17:18

Wednesday, Sep 29, 2004 at 17:18
White is also safer.....more visable on the road!!!!!!

AnswerID: 78241

Follow Up By: ev700 - Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 00:04

Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 00:04
Good point, some of the darker colours especially dark silver are hard to see. Very hard to see in the late afternoon or when there is dappled light on the road.

Recently I got a cheaper quote for a white 100 series as opposed to metallic.
FollowupID: 337850

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 16:33

Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 16:33
Hot Tip: Drive with your lights on when traveling, it prevents the above happening! And if someone still seems to be drifting towards you, flick on the lightforce!
FollowupID: 337920

Follow Up By: Brian - Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 19:16

Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 19:16
Yeh the 240's just melt the Bitumen and the on coming car just sticks to it!!! LOL

FollowupID: 337937

Reply By: Muddy 'doe (SA) - Wednesday, Sep 29, 2004 at 19:48

Wednesday, Sep 29, 2004 at 19:48
Just to be different!

I got the champagne brown/beige colour on my Prado because it was the only colour that came with the tan interior. I spend most of my time INSIDE the car and I hate grey interiors - they are drab and and soak up the heat. The lighter tan colour gives a much airer and spacious feeling and the brown/red dust does not show up as bad as it does on grey dash plastic.

As for the outside, I have been though some pretty tight scrub and heard the scrapes of branches going down the side. So far though the scratching seems minimal and I am not seeing any of the problems with light coloured underpaint showing through.

Also the dirt does not seem to show too bad on it and being a pretty light colour the duco does not seem to get too hot in the sun like it does with darker colours. It is a little more interesting than plain white and from some recent reports in the media it seems that a beige/tan coloured vehicle is among the safest in terms of visibility on the road - ahead of white and red, but behind yellow!

Just my 2.2 cents worth (incl GST!)

Muddy 'doe
AnswerID: 78264

Follow Up By: navaraman - Wednesday, Sep 29, 2004 at 19:59

Wednesday, Sep 29, 2004 at 19:59
I've never chosen a car on colour tbh, iIjust but what suits me best at the time in terms of price and needs. I too would make a choice on internal colour before external though I reckon Muddy.

Wonder what colour interior Willem's rosie had.
FollowupID: 337836

Follow Up By: Member- Peter & Mrs Peter, Lez - Wednesday, Sep 29, 2004 at 22:13

Wednesday, Sep 29, 2004 at 22:13
Hey Muddy, I reckon youre scratches dont show up because it has got a TOYOTA paint job.

Alright, alright just joking.
Cheers Peter
FollowupID: 337844

Follow Up By: Alex Callaghan - Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 10:25

Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 10:25
Muddy doe,

I reakon it's that Champagne mate. A mate has an SR5 with the Champas exterior couler and it's great as far as conceling Scratches gos and it seems to hide the dust and mud alot too. To be honest I think it's better on dirt and scraches than my white 100.
It's a tops couler and I'm thinking about getting the 100 re-done in the champagne.
It looks the goods too.

Also, I know what ya mean about the grey/blue interiors.
I wish I had a tan interior in the 100.
FollowupID: 337872

Reply By: Andrew from TrekTable - Wednesday, Sep 29, 2004 at 21:53

Wednesday, Sep 29, 2004 at 21:53
How come you get to choose?

Not married huh?

AnswerID: 78275

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew O - Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 08:23

Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 08:23
Mate I'm married (15years!), but she's away! And the final irony here is that she wants white because its practical, I want silver because it looks better!

FollowupID: 337859

Reply By: motherhen - Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 10:48

Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 10:48
I choose boring white because it is cooler than a darker colour, and the most visible - grey black blue or any dark shade cars in shadow bands "melt" into the bitumen, browns reds and yellow according to the light can be less visible on dirt roads - haven't driven in snow!
AnswerID: 78320

Reply By: Member - Captain (WA) - Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 14:29

Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 14:29
Hi Andrew,

I've had white 4WD's for the last 12 years and went the Moonstone with my GU as I reckoned it looked far better and I was sick of white cars. While I reckon the GU still looks great, I already regret my decision. It shows up the scratches far too easily and if I was to buy again I would go the boring white.

So yes, it does boil down to the pratical but boring white vs good looking silver/brown/red/blue (whatever takes your fancy). But I reckon a scratch free white looks better than a pinstriped colour!

Just my 2cents worth.

AnswerID: 78350