GU patrol and side steps
Submitted: Wednesday, Sep 29, 2004 at 13:54
Austravel
Just had some TJM side steps fitted. While checking under the car noticed that the passenger side rear u-bolt that clamps the step to the chassis had almost punched a hole in the floor pan. The bolt is to long, needs about 10mm cut off. Checked the other side and it was similar. That's not the worst of it. To get the bolt past the aux fuel
tank they had to flog the
tank seam up to make clearance for the bolt to get past the
tank, chassis and fuel lines. So not the bolt hits hard against the fuel lines and
tank seam. This is on a cab chassis but I'm pretty sure the wagons aux
tank is in the same place. The side steps were supplied and fitted by TJM but my understanding is that ARB etc use the same design. This is a design fault so I don't necessarily blame the fitters but head office. Of which I've had no reply from an email I sent via there web feedback service. Thought you might like to know so you can all check if you've had similar fitted.
Reply By: Member - Bernard - Wednesday, Sep 29, 2004 at 14:05
Wednesday, Sep 29, 2004 at 14:05
Thanks -- will go and check right now as we're taking off first thing tomorrow for some fun down in
Broken Hill.
Follow Up By: Austravel - Wednesday, Sep 29, 2004 at 14:07
Wednesday, Sep 29, 2004 at 14:07
No dramas, let me know if your's are different.
Follow Up By: Member - Bernard - Wednesday, Sep 29, 2004 at 14:16
Wednesday, Sep 29, 2004 at 14:16
No problems -- everything's clear and hunky dory. Thanks again.
Follow Up By: Austravel - Wednesday, Sep 29, 2004 at 14:19
Wednesday, Sep 29, 2004 at 14:19
That's good. I take it your's is a wagon from your pic. If so is it the same as I described, a 12mm u-bolt runs between the chassis and aux fuel
tank??
Follow Up By: Member - Bernard - Wednesday, Sep 29, 2004 at 18:47
Wednesday, Sep 29, 2004 at 18:47
Austravel, Sorry for the delay ... was caught up doing work "The Boss" wanted finished before we take off.
Another sorry ... I was more interested in what you said about the steps rather than the actual vehicle, so my experience really won't help much.
My vehicle is a Pajero and the fuel line, wiring etc are all tucked
well away and the auxiliary fuel
tank is right at the rear. I was told that the steps fitted were TJM - they certainly look the same - but the brackets bolt directly to mounting points already on the vehicle so there are no u-bolts or extended fittings ... thank goodness.
Must say that your experience makes you wonder at the professionalism (or lack thereof) of the mechanic/technician who fitted them for you. Could have had disastrous consequences if the fuel line had worn through ... not only loss of fuel but risk of fire.
Follow Up By: Austravel - Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 08:45
Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 08:45
No dramas, know the feeling when you in the final stages of packing. Thanks for the reply and have a great trip.
Reply By: Utemad - Wednesday, Sep 29, 2004 at 14:10
Wednesday, Sep 29, 2004 at 14:10
We avoid TJM due to other issues we have had with their gear and their fitting in the past. Friends of
mine have issues with them also.
Easier to go elsewhere I reckon........
Follow Up By: Austravel - Wednesday, Sep 29, 2004 at 14:37
Wednesday, Sep 29, 2004 at 14:37
First dramas I had with them, though I don't use them that often.
Reply By: Leroy - Wednesday, Sep 29, 2004 at 14:24
Wednesday, Sep 29, 2004 at 14:24
ARB has similar issues with their steps also. They kissed the sill of my bro inlaws Patrol. Ubolts squeezed passed fuel lines that may rub through in time also.
Leroy
Follow Up By: Austravel - Wednesday, Sep 29, 2004 at 14:38
Wednesday, Sep 29, 2004 at 14:38
Thanks, pretty poor design work, there is a much better way, I used flat plate for the "u" section on the steps I made for my GQ.
Reply By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Wednesday, Sep 29, 2004 at 14:41
Wednesday, Sep 29, 2004 at 14:41
Bugger hey! Little bit silly, you'd expect you'd notice that on a final QA check...
How's the powerup going?
Follow Up By: Austravel - Wednesday, Sep 29, 2004 at 14:53
Wednesday, Sep 29, 2004 at 14:53
Yep, those that do QA get more of my business and money.
I won't be in Brisy until Jan next year so will probably wait until then, saves making a special trip. The only thing I thought of after reading your post is that
mine is a non intercooled model, 2002, so the gains I get might not be as good as yours.
Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Wednesday, Sep 29, 2004 at 14:55
Wednesday, Sep 29, 2004 at 14:55
Sorry mate, my mistake, I thought it was you doing your own mods, must be another 4.2td owner.
Yeah, you probably won't as I'm sure that damn intercooler must do something!
Fyi, still getting above 8's and this last
tank has been all city driving.
Cheers, chris.
Follow Up By: Austravel - Wednesday, Sep 29, 2004 at 14:59
Wednesday, Sep 29, 2004 at 14:59
Won't do it myself, don't really have the gear or knowledge or $$ to play with it. Would rather someone else make a mistake to the expensive bits than me. I'll probably go to the same people you did.
Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Wednesday, Sep 29, 2004 at 15:01
Wednesday, Sep 29, 2004 at 15:01
Yep, same here.
There was someone else playing with the pump and doing the mods themselves but I haven't heard anything further. That person was a mechanic, and obviously in a better position to do the work than you or me!
Cheers mate, hope you get some joy with the steps.
Chris.
Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 09:54
Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 09:54
What did they say when you took it back?
Follow Up By: Austravel - Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 10:33
Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 10:33
Havn't yet the guy I want to speak to is off for 2 weeks. Still no response from TJM head quarters.
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 11:43
Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 11:43
Speak to the first pleb you walk into in the store... dont worry about waiting!