JonnoC
G'day All,
I'm new to this site, but find the content in the
forum archives very usefull and informative. Hence I have joined.
To cut a long story short My family of two is about to grow by one, and unfortunatelly the long serving troopy is not too accomodating to babies. Hence I am selling it. As for the next car I am looking at a second hand 4wd that has the following qualities: reliable, diesel, keeping mind of rising feul prices (eg not too big), missus has just got licence (once again not too big), able to tow a 4.3m tinny and cost between $15K and $20K.
The troopy was the best, and even though it weighed three tonnes, I was able to tow my boat over some pretty steep
sand dunes to my favourite fishing spot. I'd like the next one to be able to do this .
I'd love an 80 series or GQ, but fear that these are a little too heavy, and even though diesel will burn a hole in the hip pocket. SO I've started looking at 1992-1997 3.1td Jackaroos and 2.8 diesel 4 Runners. Does anyone have any coments about these two vehicles or any other suggestions.
Cheers Jono
PS: I'm gona miss the troopy
Reply By: Member - Michael (NSW) - Wednesday, Sep 29, 2004 at 17:02
Wednesday, Sep 29, 2004 at 17:02
Let's get this straight.. you have to sell the troopy you love, your wife has just got her license, and you are about to increase your responsibilities by a third!!! Wow, your'e not travelling real
well at the moment (:o)... Welcome to the site, hope you gain a heap of good imfo as i have. Let's see what the brains of this site come up with for you..regards Michael.
Reply By: Utemad - Wednesday, Sep 29, 2004 at 17:29
Wednesday, Sep 29, 2004 at 17:29
Depending on where you want to go, the Jackaroo and Forerunner are not as capable as a Troopy. Won't fit as much in either. So if you used your Troopy to its full potential and still wish too then you might be disappointed.
Jackaroo and Forerunner both appear to be good, reliable vehicles though.
Reply By: ColinD - Wednesday, Sep 29, 2004 at 18:42
Wednesday, Sep 29, 2004 at 18:42
Hey JonnoC, I have recently purchased a 92 GQ td42 Manual for $13k and am returning 12.7L/100km and couldnt be happier. I used to work on these when new and still think they are one of the strongest 4bies around. I have trouble getting the keys back from the missus though, easy to drive. -get a GQ-
Follow Up By: ColinD - Wednesday, Sep 29, 2004 at 21:11
Wednesday, Sep 29, 2004 at 21:11
Crazie, sorry for the mizunderstanding the TD42 is the designation for the 4.2L diesel, the turbo ones are TD42T. The RB30(e) and RB30(s) for petrol 3L carb and injected respectively.
They are a great motor (3L) and return reasonable economy if not pushed (ie. empty). They carb ones had a rework on the carby having one of the ports re-drilled to improve fuel economy-I don't now how you would check to see if its been done or not. I believe the 3L had a lighter gearbox as
well which is prone to premature wear if towing! Hope this helps.......col
Reply By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Wednesday, Sep 29, 2004 at 20:38
Wednesday, Sep 29, 2004 at 20:38
Hi Jonno
Just thought as a Jack owner I would provide feedback on ours. It is totally different from what you are looking for, but no other jack responses yet. We have a 2002 3.5 V6 SE widetrack, love it, has plently of go, we have a 4m tinny and pull it everywhere and we don't even know its there. The Jack is very comfortable to drive and plenty of room. The later models are a little wider and provide a bit more ground clearance. We love it.
A GQ patrol with the 3L petrol skyline engine is a great combo which you will pick up under 15K or as with the other suggestion 4.2TD would be very good. Have a look on the trader at the 4wd's for sale. Good hunting..
cheers Adam
Reply By: Andrew from TrekTable - Wednesday, Sep 29, 2004 at 21:40
Wednesday, Sep 29, 2004 at 21:40
Johnno,
There was a good thread on this about 2 weeks ago. Check out previous post id = 16547.
For the record, I have a 1998 diesel Jackaroo with approx 160,000k and have been very happy with it. It certainly doesn't have the room, ruggedness or reliability of a troopy but I've been happy with it to date. I agree with Utemad, if you used your troopy to its full potential, you will find the Jackaroo less accomodating. However, if you want your wife to drive it and can accept a smaller vehicle, the jackaroo should be acceptable.
I work in the city so it's a good compromise and my wife certainly doesn't have any problems driving it either. We tow a large boat and find the turbo diesel more than ample.
Within your budget, all the major brands should be considered.
One tip though, JACKAROO diesels from (June?) 1998 onward have a significantly different motor to pre 1998. the 3.0litre motor is much more high tech, much more power, much more sought after (and of course much more to go wrong with!). So if your budget can stretch and you want a diesel JACKAROO, I'd look for post 1998 vehicles. My opinion is that you should be able to get these from $18k upwards if you look around hard.
Reply By: JonnoC - Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 10:42
Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 10:42
Thanks All,
I'm amazed at how quickly advice comes through. That is great. I realise that it will take a lot to live up to the ol' troopy, but we all have to make sacrifices at some stage. I would dearly love an 80 series, but no one wants to get rid of 'em until they've done 300K, and even them they want over $15K for 'em. I have hummed and haared over a GQ, and the feul efficiency you have quoted sounds better than my current 89 diesel troopy (up to 18L/100km). It would be nice to have a turbo diesel, but I'm sure that still slow, a diesel GQ would be quicker than the troopy (2H diesel). CAn anyone verify this.
Then of course there is the age old debate - "what are the benifits/disbenifits of adding a turbo" and "how much". I have heard that the toyota 1HZ's do not like be turbo'ed, but the TD42's love it. Is there any truth to this? What would be the bare minimum I would need if I were to turbo a GQ, keeping in mind I will be towing, carrying a bit of gear and that Summers here in
Adelaide get quite hot? I've heard that Turboing a N/A diesel can lead to overheating problems.
One more thing. How about the later model 3.0L surfs. I cringe at asking, but I hear they have the same engine/transmission as the Prado, and parts are interchangeable. Is this true? As I have seen a few around for under $20K.
Once again, I appreciate any advice and look forward to taking the new (used) 4by over the dunes and far away.
CHeers
Jono
Follow Up By: ColinD - Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 18:04
Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 18:04
JonnoC, the TD42 is actually a turbo built engine without the turbo in Aus. You can pick up a Jap one same vintage with turbo ;) as this is how they were built. We didnt get the turbo is all..
The bare minimum is simply a turbo with low boost, about 7psi-no other changes necessary, from there its as much as you are willing to spend...........I have driven a loaded GQ ute in the country at an easy cruise of 160km/h-no turbo. If you are looking at a GQ I've got a few things to look for if interested......................col
Follow Up By: ColinD - Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 21:37
Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 21:37
typo, the rb30(s) is carb and (e) injected. Also most GQ's have LSD rear as standard. Top of the wozza models have in-cab swaybar disconnects too.
Reply By: Will - Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 11:02
Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 11:02
Hi Jono, I too am a contented jackaroo owner, (1999 TD manual) and for the size (externally) they have a lot of interior space. Also a little smaller externally than a lot of others around making
parking easier. For ease of driving the auto ( my first Jack was a auto) is a real gem, geared to the diesel really
well and your Missus would not even know she was driving a diesel. My current Jack is a manual and gets better mileage than the auto ever did. A mate of
mine has a earlier petrol V6 version and on a recent trip I was getting 3-5 L/100 Ks better economy.
Whatever you purchase make sure it is a seven seater, I too have 3 kids (11, 14,16) and being able to sling one of the horrors into the very back makes long trips much more pleasant.
One word against the 1998 > jack diesel maual gearbox version is the transfer case does hang low.
Hope all goes
well,
Will
Reply By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 15:26
Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 15:26
Gday mate,
Just recently traded in the ol' GQ. When purchased some 3 years ago, it was a naturally aspirated TD42 motor. Had 135k's on it and I picked it up for 15k. If you have 5 k left, trick it up a bit with a
snorkel, some good rubber and aftermarket
suspension and if neccessary, a nice hayman reece towbar. Keep it serviced and the bl$$dy thing will never die mate.
I guarantee that the TD42 is much faster than the 2H. The ol' 2H is about as unbreakable as the TD42. I was getting 9.5k's the litre before going a bit crazy.
Look for rust around the window frames ($360 for 2 from Nissan) etc. If you can pick up a non-modified beast, you'll most likely have one that hasn't competed, hence no cracks!
Happy hunting.
Chris.