problem with tyres scrubbing out on Prado

Submitted: Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 14:40
ThreadID: 16672 Views:3286 Replies:9 FollowUps:6
Has anyone heard of the problem with the front passenger tyre scrubbing out on the Prado. I am looking at purchasing one and have heard about this problem from other owners who have had tyres scrubbing out after only 5000k. Is it a tyre problem(Grandtreks) or something to do with the front end?
Any feedback would ne appreciated.

Butts

Reply By: djr - Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 14:49

Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 14:49
I am having trouble with front tyres scrubbing and squealing. I have done 45 000 k's. I recently had another wheel allignment which made the sqealing a bit better but noy perfect but the tyres are still scrubbing. I have to keep rotating tyres to maintain an even wear, I am still on my first set of grandtreks and am not ready to fork out for tyres yet

Darren
02 gxl td Prado
AnswerID: 78353

Follow Up By: butts - Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 14:55

Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 14:55
Thanks Darren,
I followed it up with Toyota, they claim it is the tyre manufacturers problem and tyre mob reckon it is Toyotas. The flick passes are getting better.

Butts
FollowupID: 337900

Reply By: Kiwi Ray - Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 15:16

Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 15:16
If you purchased the truck new with those tyres, Toyota must have sanctioned there use.
Still there problem.............................
AnswerID: 78355

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 17:37

Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 17:37
Absolutely...ask Bill Ford about it.
FollowupID: 337927

Reply By: KIM - Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 17:21

Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 17:21
I have a 2003 GXL manual Prado and replaced the Grandtrecks at 27000km with Cooper St's. All tyres were scrubbed and according to the guy from Tyre Power this was caused because the recommended pressure is too low (28psi from memory).
Currently running the Coopers at 34psi.

Kim
AnswerID: 78374

Follow Up By: Member - Bernie. (Vic) - Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 18:16

Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 18:16
Totally different tyre and Highway type tyre will be lower pressure
FollowupID: 337932

Follow Up By: mr diamond - Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 20:55

Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 20:55
sorry bernie i have to disagree here mate.
dosnt matter who makes what tyre hwy/all terain or muddy.
certain size tyres need certain psi.dosnt matter if its a 31x10.5x15 made in china or one made in the best tyre place in the world they should all run around about the same psi.
the reason that toyota recomend or most vehicle makers a lower psi than the tyre company is ride comfort.
ive worked with or around tyres most of my life.
new car tyres arnt covered bye manufacturers waranty it goes back on the tyre company.
classic example is the ea falcon every one used to complain that the front ends were shocking because they scrubbed out front tyres.one of the problems were ford recomended about 30 psi front and rear.but goodyear ga needed to be run at around 38psi to wear well.
at 38psi there wear really well but there a little harsh to drive on if your fussy.the last thing ford/holden/nissan/toyota ect want people to do is go for a test drive where the tyre pressures are right but a little harsh to drive on is someone test driving it and saying geez mate shes a little rough and bouncy.
the prado tyres if there the 17inch ones should be around 40 psi to wear well but how does it feel to drive on all the time a little rough.
and then it comes down to other things like wheel alignments ect .
cheers mate and lets all catch up soon
FollowupID: 337946

Follow Up By: Member - Bernie. (Vic) - Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 21:17

Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 21:17
Hi Diamond where you been hiding ???
Did you read my follow up further down this post, it explains my only experience with 4x4 tyres is current vehicle. the BFG I started at 40 kpa and it was like a dog to drive, using the 4psi increase method I got to 34kpa, it drives great.

Maybe at Avoca if it happens!!!
FollowupID: 337947

Reply By: GO_OFFROAD - Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 18:23

Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 18:23
Interesting,
cant say Ive seen, or heard of this as an issue, even with my own prado, though my front end settings arent standard, and are different each side as well ;-)
AnswerID: 78383

Reply By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 18:24

Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 18:24
I had the same trouble with my triton... I finally put it down to living in a court. When I started parking on the wrong side and reversing out instead of the big u-turn at the bottom of the court, the scrubbing stopped.
Blue
AnswerID: 78384

Reply By: Member - Bernie. (Vic) - Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 18:30

Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 18:30
Hi Butts What model Prado 90 or 120 series ??

Have a 90 series grandtreks 12000 no problems at 28kpa,
then changed to BFG A/T they have done 68000 no rotation, needed a balance at 56000, tyre wear is very even, runs loaded all the time at 34kpa, down to 14kpa on sand.

AnswerID: 78387

Reply By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 18:30

Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 18:30
We have Grandtreks on the Patrol at work and they are CRAP, they are looking worn at 30k.
I find my Surf scrubs one side out(passenger), even at 43psi (which I run around town). I'm running Desert Dullers though and I've heard they chop the side when used on the tar alot. Mind you, I've got lots of k's out of them so far, I'm happy even if I had to change them now.
AnswerID: 78388

Reply By: Bazza - Friday, Oct 01, 2004 at 08:57

Friday, Oct 01, 2004 at 08:57
G'Day Butts,
I think there must be a quality consistancy problem of sorts with the Grandtreks. I have just ticked over 36,000k on my 120 Prado and their still like new, and have had no problems with them. I find that their reasonable on the road but obviously lacking on the dirt. I know a friend who has the exact same set-up and the same GT's are looking very sad at about 25,000k? I also think it has a lot to do with presures, as I use my rig mainly for towing a van and run the tyres harder. This seems to prolong their life.
Barry.
AnswerID: 78458

Follow Up By: butts - Friday, Oct 01, 2004 at 11:40

Friday, Oct 01, 2004 at 11:40
Thanks Bazza,
I'm starting to think the same way. It's got a lot to do with pressures and I think who does the wheel alignments. I have talked to 3 people in town and the problem is quite varied from tyres scrubbing out after 5-10000k to no problems at all.

Butts
FollowupID: 338002

Reply By: Member - Kevin R (QLD) - Friday, Oct 01, 2004 at 12:18

Friday, Oct 01, 2004 at 12:18
Hi butts,
I have 2002 td prado, agree with the above comments and add that standard prado suspension does not handle extra weight hanging on the front - ie dual batteries,bar and winch. I found that I was constantly getting big toe out until I put on ome suspension which seems to have solved the problem completly

Cheers Kevin
AnswerID: 78493