Two questions in a day!! TJM Front Under Body Guard

Submitted: Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 15:14
ThreadID: 16673 Views:2695 Replies:9 FollowUps:6
Gday again,

Was at TJM today and they are releasing a Front Under Body Guard to replace the crappy plastic that runs between bullbars and the cross member.

They are selling them for $73.00 including GST. My only reason for interest is that I saw another TD6 GU out at Millmeran last weekend with a kangaroo jammed up between the bar and cross member. It had taken out the bottom section of the new longer radiator...BANG!

So after reaccessing, I decided to ask. So from 11 October 2004, they will be available for around the above price. I'm thinking of getting one but wondered whether it's worth it. Any experience with other companies product etc?

I've hit a roo before but the bigger ones just sort of deflect and leave a big ding in your bar. Just thinking worst case if it jams under...

Chris.

Reply By: Kiwi Ray - Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 15:21

Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 15:21
What is the new guard made of?
What can you buy a small piece of 6mm plate or alloy for

I have 6 mm plate under mine, it also helps to climb river banks and the like instead of burying the front.
Ray
AnswerID: 78358

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 15:28

Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 15:28
Gday mate,

It looks to be made of around 4-5mm plate, with TJM carved into it???

My main issue is strength, I'm pretty sure your's would take a nuclear weapon attack! ;-)

Chris.
FollowupID: 337906

Reply By: Utemad - Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 15:30

Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 15:30
Personally I'm not too fond of TJMs product or fitting etc.

I'd get one custom made by someone. Have been meaning to do this for a while myself but just haven't gotten to it yet. I was going to get one made that went from the bullbar to behind the engine so as to protect the sump etc.
AnswerID: 78360

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 16:04

Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 16:04
That's not such a silly idea mate!

I'll look into it. Was going to fit the plate myself, just purchase it from them. They already have one on a GU that looks like it's taken a beating and has held up ok. Of course, it may have only been on for 3 days!
FollowupID: 337910

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 16:31

Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 16:31
Chris , where does this go? I have a Nissan steel bar and it already has a plate from the front of the bull bar and bolted on to the new low crossmember that is supposed to protect the radiator. Does this one go further back?
AnswerID: 78369

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 16:38

Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 16:38
Is it a plate or just plastic?

Mines plastic, they may have downgraded it on series III to superstrong, longlasting plastic.

It runs from the underside of the bar to the cross member.

The cross member does protect the bottom of the radiator, but this sneaky little skippy had pushed headlong up above the crossmember.
FollowupID: 337921

Reply By: Kiwi Ray - Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 17:29

Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 17:29
My front plate runs back to just clear the front panhard rod.
the next plate starts under the bell housing area and runs back to about 150 mm behind the front uj of the rear drive shaft
All is of 6 mm plate,
The front plate needs to be made so that the front drive shaft will not hit with the front axle at its lowest point
Ray
AnswerID: 78375

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 21:25

Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 21:25
It's steel chris, standard on the steel nissan bar.
AnswerID: 78410

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 21:31

Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 21:31
Chris,maybe they use the plastic one on the Alloy bars and steel on the steel ones. The plate is about 2mm max.
AnswerID: 78411

Reply By: Austravel - Friday, Oct 01, 2004 at 14:08

Friday, Oct 01, 2004 at 14:08
Hi Chris,

Mine is plastic on a GU cab chassis with genuine steel winch bar. It's on my list to change as well, can't believe they would put plastic there especially on the commercial version. At $73 it sounds cheap if it's reasonalbly thick plate, by the time I brought the plate and made it fit I wouldn't save much. Doubt I'll be getting them to fit it after the side step saga, but as you say buy it and fit it yourself. I'll check out tonight how much work would be in making one. If it's just plate with a few holes in then it maybe worth buying some alloy but if it needs mods to fit then $73 is pretty good.
AnswerID: 78514

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Monday, Oct 04, 2004 at 08:32

Monday, Oct 04, 2004 at 08:32
Gday again mate,

Yep, plastic is the same as mine, and it doesn't look all that strong!

Let me know how you go with the pricing of one you would make yourself!

Chris.
FollowupID: 338188

Reply By: Austravel - Monday, Oct 04, 2004 at 08:46

Monday, Oct 04, 2004 at 08:46
Hi Chris,

Had a look at mine on the weekend. The plastic on mine runs from just behind the radiator back to the cross member and down. There is then a piece of rubber that goes from the plastic forward under the radiator on to another panel. If this is the section your talking about I reckon $73 is a bargin, while not impossible to build with a bit of time with out the right gear you could spend quite a bit of time. If they do come out I'll be just buying it, that is if we are talking about the same piece.

AnswerID: 78736

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Monday, Oct 04, 2004 at 08:48

Monday, Oct 04, 2004 at 08:48
Yeah mate, that's the one! My auto lecky, whilst helping me fit the glind put some better screws in, the ones nissan put in are for holding plastic to plastic...

I reckoned it was a bargain as well, and at least these are finished well, I could do it but it wouldn't look the part!
FollowupID: 338194

Reply By: Austravel - Monday, Oct 04, 2004 at 08:53

Monday, Oct 04, 2004 at 08:53
Sounds good, I'll go in and have a look. When I initially got under the car its the first thing I saw and the first thing I thought I'd need to replace.
AnswerID: 78738

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Monday, Oct 04, 2004 at 08:55

Monday, Oct 04, 2004 at 08:55
Let me know what you think!

chris.
FollowupID: 338196