Jackaroo Restrictors Removed

Submitted: Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 17:14
ThreadID: 16676 Views:3000 Replies:10 FollowUps:8

I have removed the restictors and the 4WD is going great guns. I will post some pictures of these restrictors tomorrow for anyone wanting to see what they look like.

Adam

Reply By: Vince NSW - Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 17:52

Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 17:52
I wonder if the Fronteria has them
Vince
AnswerID: 78376

Reply By: Member - Nobby - Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 19:54

Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 19:54
I posted a thread down further but it goes like this. Took mine to Midas this-afternoon and the guy reckons he would have to take out the whole exhaust system to get at these restrictors. I left. Would be more than interested in photos and your opinion on any increase in noise..
AnswerID: 78395

Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 21:41

Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 21:41
Hi Nobby

Midas must be kidding, It took bugger all time, to do. The boys charge me $40 to undo, pull out, die grind it neatly, new gasket and put back together. Very little noise differnece but noticable acceleration. I will post the pic tomorrow. Depending on where you are Rob Bliss exhaust at Geebung as awesome, try them. Print out Bradley's thread and take that with you, might help. cheers Ad
FollowupID: 337950

Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 21:52

Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 21:52
Hi Again Nobby

Did you get a quote on extractors?? I was chaing the a little while ago and even went looking in the USA, but couldn't find any for the 3.5 V6. Got a quote on custom jobs, about $1100. Please let me know how you go.
thanks
Adam
FollowupID: 337952

Reply By: Member - Bradley- Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 20:30

Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 20:30
another satisfied customer, :-))))) Notice much difference ?? The larger tyres will 'soak up' a bit of the extra go. But if it still goes better than before then excellent work.. cheers buddy
AnswerID: 78400

Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 21:45

Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 21:45
G'day mate,
Your on a winner!! Yep noticalbe difference, the tyres don't seem to take up too much. Have to say I love the look of the Jack now with the big coopers on it. Thanks heaps for the advise. Speedo is a little out at 100km/h on the speedo, It is sitting on 106 according to the GPS. Place at mulgrave can fitt a box for $275 to correct that, but don't think i will. Cheers Mate Adam
FollowupID: 337951

Reply By: Member - Peter D M - Friday, Oct 01, 2004 at 06:12

Friday, Oct 01, 2004 at 06:12
adam,
i would be curious to know what the low speed torque is like .
dont know what size tyres you have but a holden dealer should be able to give you a new speedo drive cog, one less tooth than you have should fix, a 5 min job. cost me about $50.
regards peter
AnswerID: 78433

Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Friday, Oct 01, 2004 at 08:48

Friday, Oct 01, 2004 at 08:48
Cheers Peter,

Low end power seems plentiful. I will ring up holden and try again, they put me onto the expensive box. Cog change seems alot easier.
thanks
Adam
FollowupID: 337989

Reply By: signman - Friday, Oct 01, 2004 at 10:48

Friday, Oct 01, 2004 at 10:48
I also would be interested in your low down, rock crawling / sand hopping torque performance. I can see how opening up the system would be beneficial for highway/ byway cruising, but with the back pressure design for that hard working stuff where torque gets thru may be compromised??
BTW there is a guy near Windsor NSW has extractors for the V6 Izusu. They are the type fitted to the Mod Class vehicles for the Australian Safari. I drove the Brock V6 Jack (aka Trooper) from a few years back, virtually stock apart from the extractors, It went like a cut snake.
AnswerID: 78474

Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Friday, Oct 01, 2004 at 10:58

Friday, Oct 01, 2004 at 10:58
Hi Signman

Yep, I will be interested too. I will go an find a play park on the weekend and put it through its paces and climb a few things.

Adam
FollowupID: 337999

Follow Up By: Member - Bradley- Friday, Oct 01, 2004 at 21:26

Friday, Oct 01, 2004 at 21:26
Signy, mate torque wont be a big issue, the whole notion of back pressure is a fallacy , headers or extractors are designed to 'scavenge' the exhaust gasses out of the combustion chamber, if there was meant to be back pressure then they couldn't work. An engine is just a big air pump, it needs as little restriction in as out. The main thing you will notice is the different throttle response down low especially just as the throttle blade is cracked, the restriction tends to 'cushion' a lot of the response. So it may be a bit more jerky in low1 or 2 over slow rocks etc.

Torque response ? i was out the other night on the wet roads and came out of a corner and fed in a 'normal' amount of throttle as before in 2nd, and she stepped out nicely flared straight up to about 5 grand and it was drift city for as long as i wanted. not that i'm irresponsible or anything !!!!!
FollowupID: 338052

Reply By: Member - Nobby - Friday, Oct 01, 2004 at 11:08

Friday, Oct 01, 2004 at 11:08
I can't believe since Brad introduced this subject over 550 have had a look at the thread. I have mine booked in to-morrow morning at a Muffler shop to do the business. Geebung is way over the other side of Bris so I will get it done local, but thanks anyway Crazie. Will let you know the outcome..
AnswerID: 78479

Reply By: Member - Nobby - Saturday, Oct 02, 2004 at 10:37

Saturday, Oct 02, 2004 at 10:37
Well there both gone as of this morning. Went to the local muffler shop and he was grossley supprised that they were in fact in there. Anyhow $60 later and they are both gone. The Jack definately has more get up and go and will have to wait to see how milage is affected. I will let you know results but I'm sure they will be similar to others..Thanks to Brad for steering us in the right direction.
AnswerID: 78595

Reply By: Savvas - Saturday, Oct 02, 2004 at 12:32

Saturday, Oct 02, 2004 at 12:32
So has anyone worked out why these things are there in the first place?

I have heard about back pressure and torque, but I cannot see how putting a restriction on efficient exhaust removal improves an engines ability to work.

But then again, why would Isuzu spec these things? It's not like they spent the money for the hell of it.

I can only see it as a de-tuning measure.

Anyway, I'm going to try ang get mine done on Tuesday.
AnswerID: 78603

Follow Up By: Member - Bradley- Sunday, Oct 03, 2004 at 21:35

Sunday, Oct 03, 2004 at 21:35
"I have heard about back pressure and torque, but I cannot see how putting a restriction on efficient exhaust removal improves an engines ability to work. " as above - spot on champ, the only good explanation i can come up with is to cushion the acceleration rate of the engine under light load, to slow the 'flaring' of the revs in low trac situations. Only a prob because the isuzu engine is so damn good !!

As Bruce Garland said a while back when i was talking to him about it, they stick those in there so grandmas can drive 'em, so true Bruce..
FollowupID: 338162

Reply By: signman - Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 08:50

Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 08:50
G'day there,
What is the location of the restrictors?? Is it in front of the Catalytic box, where there is a 2 into 1 flanged joint.??
AnswerID: 79039

Follow Up By: Member - Bradley- Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 20:42

Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 20:42
Check my previous post for better descriptions and locations..

BYW everyone, my mun borrowed the jack last weekend to visit the relos while she is in town, she put about 260 k on it from full and i did another hundred and fifty before throwing in some fuel, result 12.3L/100 (mums foot is obviously lighter than mine !!). Since then i have been moving house - towing trailer etc. fairly loaded up and she ripped up some decent hills in 5th with no real strain, even rounded up a semi with about 800kg in the trailer without strain in 4th , from 80 to 110 ks.
next top up - result 13.6L/100 So - fair to say i'm pretty happy.. Cheers all, Brad
FollowupID: 338694

Reply By: Trevor - Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 19:16

Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 19:16
Does anybody know if these restrictors are fitted to the 3.2L engine?
Maybe I should crawl under the truck and have a look for myself.

Trev
AnswerID: 79109