Getting closer to deciding - new fourbie

Submitted: Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 17:38
ThreadID: 16677 Views:2276 Replies:4 FollowUps:2
G'day All,

Since logging on for the first time yesterday I have received some great advice. I appreciate the advice that everyone has given me to date. Although great vehicles, I am now steering away from the Jackaroos. The new 3L td jobbies are good but a bit expennsive and are prone to a few probs, and apparentlt the 3.1td (1992-97) models have soft heads and the turbos can't be fixed if they go.

So now my three options are: An 80 series, a GQ patrol or the new contender is a late 90's 2.8td Rodeo. The *0's speaks for itself but as I have said previously is a bit hard to find one with the right k's for the right bickies. The GQ (4.2 diesel) is a very good possibility and I am leaning this way (due to price mainly) but as with the 80, they might both kill me feul wise, and might also be a bit big for the newly licenced wife to cart around (the thought scares me - look out Adelaide traffic).

I was looking at Hiluxes but have been informed that you canot put a baby capsule in these. Apparently the Rodeo (late 90's model 2.8 td) has a bit more room in the back and yes, can accomodate the bubs. Does anyone have any info on these Rodeos, eg Off-road ability, reliability etc etc. They seem a bit low, and I was wondering if this hindered them much and if they could be raised slightly (even though Torsion Bar front end). I'm sure that they'd be find in the sand, over the dunes and towing the tinnie, but how would they go on some of the rougher tracks in the Flinders Ranges (SA).

Once again I'd appreciate any advice.

Jono

Reply By: stitch - Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 18:19

Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 18:19
Jono,
Have a quick peek in the trader section of this site under vehicles for sale, I wish Eric was selling his 80 series 3 months ago, it sounds like an excellent buy. I must imagine that the turbo on the 4.5L must be a bit better on the juice than a standard one. Just a thought.
Mark.
AnswerID: 78381

Reply By: navaraman - Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 19:57

Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 19:57
I've been surprised by where my 99 navara dual cab will go and I've heard good things about the rodeo's. The limiting thing with them is the rear springs are under the axle. Having them moved over the axle makes a big diffeence so I'm told. Given the choice I would go the 80 series or the GQ but we all have different needs, I need a ute for work. Brew 69 has a GQ and he' could give you some advice but he's in the Flinders at the moment. let me know what you buy, i'm in Adelaide and I'll try and avoid your wife in the new 4by for a while ;)
AnswerID: 78396

Reply By: Utemad - Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 22:55

Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 22:55
You can get a baby harness point put in a ute if need be. Only 99+ Rodeos have them I think. My 97 Rodeo has one that has a bracket rivetted at the top above the window and at the bottom bolted below the window. Although I removed it.

So don't let that restrict your vehicle choice.
AnswerID: 78423

Reply By: troy - Friday, Oct 01, 2004 at 15:29

Friday, Oct 01, 2004 at 15:29
Hi Jono
My Hilux has two child restaint locations (drivers and passinger side) but we had a third installed (in the middle) for our first child.
Admittedly my wife did have to have her seat forward with the second baby due the the size of the captule but only for a few moths from memory as he grew so quick.
Its a tough choice - if you are looking at keeping the 4WD long term and the family is increasing in numbers then look at the wagons (this is what we are considering at the present time) but the ute also has its advantages - canopy on the back and you can load the thing up.
More info to confuse your decision
Troy
AnswerID: 78520

Follow Up By: JonnoC - Friday, Oct 01, 2004 at 15:52

Friday, Oct 01, 2004 at 15:52
Thanks Troy,

Ahh so you can instal a capsule. I haven't found any hard evidence that you can't, however one hire mob in QLD have on there website that you cannot put a baby capsule in the Hilux. My wife and I certainly aren't giants and would probably have our seats a fair way foward anyhow.

What Hilux do you have? If I were to get one, I'd try getting a 3.0L diesel dual cab for under $20K. Might be hard.

What are these vehicles like? I realise that any non-turbo diesel will be slow, but muy mate has a standard 3 litre job which seems to go fine (at least as good as the troopy). Are they jumpy cars? I've heard that the ride is a bit harsh. Once again I can't imagine it being much worse than my troopy.

The reason I like the Hilux over a Rodeo or similar, is that they seem to have the best off-road ability even now they have IFS. I am leaning toward a GQ now (coz 80s too expensive), but wouldn't mind considering something a little lighter (and hence more efficient).

Jono
FollowupID: 338017

Follow Up By: troy - Friday, Oct 01, 2004 at 16:14

Friday, Oct 01, 2004 at 16:14
I have a '95 D/C 2.8 diesel. The 3litre has a bit more go in it - a mate has one and we had a 'drag' i only won because his girlfriend was driving ... but anyhow.
The ride in mine compared to the 3 litre is quite rough the IFS certainlt smooths the ride but once again if the right tire pressure is maintained the ride can be improved also if your carrying a load - 200kg the ride is also improved. Aftermarket shockies has also improved another friends 94 hilux. We recently went to a 4WD park in qld and the 3litre and mine where fairly closely match with the tracks we went on. Mine shone on the hill climb section with the greater front wheel travel.
If you have a spare couple of hundred hire one and take it for a drive or test drive one and check the 4wd ability somewhere if its possible. I'm happy with mine it has been ultra reliable and the most i have spent on it would be replacing the gaskets on the front end - the 3 litre doesnt have that problem so don't worry.
Troy
FollowupID: 338022