Submitted: Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 22:21
Member - Blue (VIC)
been surfing for a couple, 2 that is, of all-in-one led trailer lights... Trouble is not many
places outside the US actually list prices. Anybody know where to get the best deal and how much roughly I should be paying?
Blue
Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 22:26
Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 22:26
Gday Blue, i checked them out at a trucking place, all in one type, Gleemans truck parts and accessories, at Moorebank NSW. I actually buy them because.ummm $168 each. All the truck
places have them but i havent had time to do more research. , too much just for that AH.... michael
Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 22:28
Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 22:28
Sorry, meant to say that i did not buy them because of the price.. Wow, i'm leaving words out all the time lately... the brain tumor must be getting bigger LLOL
Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 22:57
Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 22:57
Thanks for the reply Michael, might actually be cheaper to buy from US. Found a sight, which I can't seem to find again, which had them for US$59 a pair... Night shift does crazy things to your memory, I'll just have to keep Googling I guess.
Blue
Follow Up By: Anthony from Anglyn Promotions - Friday, Oct 01, 2004 at 00:23
Friday, Oct 01, 2004 at 00:23
Ashdowns, part of Coventry Group have been supplying a set of LED trailer lights for a few yrs now.
I fitted a set to my boat trailer, and they are fantastic, as they are completely sealed, and nothing can get wet or vibrate loose.
The only problem they have is that no provision is made for a numberplate light , which you would need to supply and fit separately.
Cost was in the region of $140/set and 2 sets needed.
Anthony Taylor
Reply By: Eric Experience. - Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 23:10
Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 23:10
Blue.
The red LED's to make the lights are about $2 each so you could make a set for about $50 if your able to fit them in you old bulb type housings. Eric.
Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 23:42
Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 23:42
Hi Eric, thought about making my own but have little elec knowledge in that regard. Thought by the time I get to "Blues Lights" mark 7 or so, I would probably be nearing retail $ anyway. Do you happen to know where I can get info on making my own?
Blue
Follow Up By: Eric Experience. - Friday, Oct 01, 2004 at 22:15
Friday, Oct 01, 2004 at 22:15
Blue.
If you want to have a go at making them I would be happy to wire the leds for you. Sounds like there is an offer of leds in another answer, so if you get the leds with a data sheet, and epoxy them into the back of a light fitting all should be sweet. I live 50ks south east of Melb. Eric.
Reply By: Skiddy - Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 23:12
Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 23:12
Hella have some
water proof LED lights which they sell for around $90 to $100
dont know where on the east you can get them though. also a lot of people have trouble with LEDs as they dont draw much current and upset the computers on trucks
Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 23:45
Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 23:45
Hey Skiddy, is that $90 to $100 each or for both? Got a couple of mates in the transport industry, can't say I've heard any complaints, other than the cost of fitting out truck and trailer... Especially when some sod pinches the damn things while they were asleep in a
parking bay.
Blue
Reply By: Member - Murray C (VIC) - Friday, Oct 01, 2004 at 08:07
Friday, Oct 01, 2004 at 08:07
G'day Blue,
I note that you are a Victorian member, so if you are in
Melbourne particularly on the north side of town, your request may have been answered. You might like to give Tony a call, 9464 5939 and say that Murray referred you.
OR
Checkout www.ledautolamps, Tony has a dealer network that covers most of Australia.
I am building a new hard floor off road camper trailer for the outback market, that will be released next year. I have used Tony's lights on the prototype and they are fantastic, bulletproof.
Hope this helps,
Murray
Reply By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Friday, Oct 01, 2004 at 09:05
Friday, Oct 01, 2004 at 09:05
G'day Blue
If all else fails, please let me know, I have a mate that works for Narva and they have heaps of the LED lights and I could find out where they are available. I would let you know now, but he is currently away. Check out
Narva LED
Adam
Reply By: pjd - Friday, Oct 01, 2004 at 20:48
Friday, Oct 01, 2004 at 20:48
try www.ledautolamps.com.au
Follow Up By: pjd - Friday, Oct 01, 2004 at 20:56
Friday, Oct 01, 2004 at 20:56
the web site is www.ledautolamps.com & an all in 1 led light is about $88 each
Reply By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Saturday, Oct 02, 2004 at 23:35
Saturday, Oct 02, 2004 at 23:35
Great response , thanks all. Looking into sourcing the leds and having a crack at making my own... Brother in-law in a sparky who absolutely hates helping out the family, for some reason he has offered his
services to show me how it's all done. If all else fails, I've stored all your recommended links and phone numbers and will follow them up.
Blue
Reply By: Michael - Sunday, Oct 03, 2004 at 13:20
Sunday, Oct 03, 2004 at 13:20
Have you tried any marine suppies outlets in your local area ?
I fitted a set of Hella lights to the rear of my caravan last year (purchased from J. V. Marine in Springvale,
Melbourne), as
well as 6 red/amber LED clearance lights (it is a moderate size van).
Cost was several hundred dollas all up, but worth it in my view due to increased reliability and significanyly less current draw through trailer wiring.
Like all trailer lights, it pays to ensure that the earth connections at each light is
well made.
Reply By: Rod W - Monday, Oct 18, 2004 at 10:11
Monday, Oct 18, 2004 at 10:11
Blue, Checkout this site it may have or be of assistance to you,
http://george4wd.taskled.com/
I've just spent the last two weeks out in the WA bush (Lake Barley region) with George, he's a wizz on LED's. One night whilst around the
camp fire he upgraded the rear door interior light with an LED.
A fair time back now I remade a more substantial rear bar for my Troopy, I installed the Hella Marine tail/stop, indicator LED's. They were just under $300 for the pair. I stalled in a
river crossing one time with the lights on so they are actually waterproof.
See ya