TDI 4.2 GU ERG unit guming up

Submitted: Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 23:09
ThreadID: 16695 Views:2613 Replies:7 FollowUps:4
Hi all I have a tdi 4.2 and have been following with interest power up mods on Chris`s vechicle , before i go down the same track i want to disconect the EGR unit , any idea which tube or tubes i have to block off or whatever
Maurie

Reply By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Friday, Oct 01, 2004 at 08:08

Friday, Oct 01, 2004 at 08:08
Gday mate,

Mine has been done to look like it's standard, so I don't have a clue. Maybe give someone a call in your area who may know...or someone else might know!

How's the work going on yours mate?

Chris.
AnswerID: 78445

Reply By: sevo - Friday, Oct 01, 2004 at 08:16

Friday, Oct 01, 2004 at 08:16
easy , block the vac line that goes to the EGR valve 2 min job
AnswerID: 78448

Follow Up By: crayman - Friday, Oct 01, 2004 at 10:26

Friday, Oct 01, 2004 at 10:26
Thanks servo
Can you tell me where the the egr unit is situated
thanks maurie
FollowupID: 337997

Reply By: sevo - Friday, Oct 01, 2004 at 13:17

Friday, Oct 01, 2004 at 13:17
Gday Maurie,
It is located on the drivers side in wards of the fuel filterwith one vac hose going to it with yellow paint marks from memory,..
sevo
AnswerID: 78505

Follow Up By: crayman - Friday, Oct 01, 2004 at 16:37

Friday, Oct 01, 2004 at 16:37
Hi Servo and Chris
Found unit a lot of pipe`s and crap involved with this add on, will plug up, geting a 3" Mandrel Bent exhaust system including 3" dump pipe fitted next week for $880.00 will see how it goes b4 i go to turbo and or fuel pump mods .Am going to remove glove box and see if enough room to fit Phillips uhf radio ,then fit small control pannel on dashboard
Maurie
FollowupID: 338025

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Monday, Oct 04, 2004 at 12:32

Monday, Oct 04, 2004 at 12:32
Sounds good mate, let us know of your results!
FollowupID: 338217

Reply By: sevo - Friday, Oct 01, 2004 at 20:24

Friday, Oct 01, 2004 at 20:24
Gday Maurie,
Who is fitting your exhaust , i got a 3inch mandrel in aluminised steel flanged in the same way the original is . this is important if gearbox if ever to be removed . paid $660 for it and am yet to see a better exhaust and have worked on nissans for over 12 years.
Sevo
AnswerID: 78557

Reply By: crayman - Friday, Oct 01, 2004 at 22:42

Friday, Oct 01, 2004 at 22:42
Thanks Servo
Exhaust is being fitted by Exhaust torque in perth will ckeck and see if they are including flanged section to allow G Box removal Had prices from $880 to $1650 A
are you in West Aus
Maurie
AnswerID: 78568

Reply By: sevo - Saturday, Oct 02, 2004 at 09:53

Saturday, Oct 02, 2004 at 09:53
Gday Maurie,
No mate QLD ,but im sure mecury exhausts could supply you one and frieght it to you . Depends on freight charge, took me 1.5hrs to fit easy as. every thing bolts staight up using all existing mounts.
sevo
AnswerID: 78591

Follow Up By: crayman - Saturday, Oct 02, 2004 at 10:14

Saturday, Oct 02, 2004 at 10:14
Gday Servo
Did your price include 3" dump pipe, iv ordered kit know cant bk out
Many thanks for your help
Maurie
FollowupID: 338081

Reply By: sevo - Sunday, Oct 03, 2004 at 12:28

Sunday, Oct 03, 2004 at 12:28
yeah mate 3inch from turbo flange including port for pyrometer.
AnswerID: 78661