Submitted: Friday, Oct 01, 2004 at 12:56
JonnoC
Well,
It looks as though it's gona be a GQ patrol. I have been convinced. I have alway been a "cruiser man" meself, but I have never become involved in the cruiser v Patrol argumnent 'coz I think they are both great cars. The used 80's are just SOOO expensive and generally ahve too many km's.
All the advice has been great, but last night I decided to opt for the GQ in favour of the rodeo, as I think I might need the space (have a lot of spongey mates with 2wds that like to ocme fishing with me).
I reckon I'm going to look for a low km's diesel GQ for around $15K. I intend to fit a
snorkel, cargo barrier, dual batts and upgrade the supsension. If anyone can let me know what I'd be looking at to get the
suspension upgraded I'd appreciate it. I'm not after huge lift or anything (couple of inches would be OK - no dirty comments).
Also I have had somegood advice about turbo kits already, but can anyone provide me with an approximate cost? Oil cooled vs
Water Cooled? Upgraded exhust? Will I have Overheating problems on hot days? etc.
Jono - may soon be a nissan man
Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Oct 01, 2004 at 13:21
Friday, Oct 01, 2004 at 13:21
Turbo kits
www.dencodiesel.com they support this site, give em a call, tell them you found them on this site, may get you a deal. - Denco kits come (came) with exhaust system complete too.
They are anywhere from $3200 - $5000 for a turbo kit.
Will you have overheating problems, too many variables... Maybe maybe not..
Reply By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Friday, Oct 01, 2004 at 13:29
Friday, Oct 01, 2004 at 13:29
2 inch lift....Springs around $100ea.....
You will have to work out if you need longer shockers or not.....
Reply By: zoom - Friday, Oct 01, 2004 at 15:15
Friday, Oct 01, 2004 at 15:15
You wont regret buying a GQ.
Reply By: Utemad - Friday, Oct 01, 2004 at 16:53
Friday, Oct 01, 2004 at 16:53
Might pay to
shop around and find one with all these goodies already fitted. Save a lot of hassle later.
Reply By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Friday, Oct 01, 2004 at 17:09
Friday, Oct 01, 2004 at 17:09
Jono... Have a good look around, we found ours in Cousins in Rocklea
Brisbane.. a very respectable GQ, ex-Telstra or maybe Energex, that had 185K's, cargo barrier, duel tanks, duel batteries, and a 2" lift for $17K
It has proven to be a great truck.... the good ones are out there!
Follow Up By: crayman - Saturday, Oct 02, 2004 at 01:07
Saturday, Oct 02, 2004 at 01:07
Hi Jono
I have a 1989 ST 4.2 225k Switzer turbo 2 1/2" exhaust Twin batts Hi Clones rear diff lock ( fac fitted) oil cooler air roo tow bar
snorkel been great vechicle towed 18 van 5th gear no probs, no overheat has more power than my new 4.2 TDI(in prosess fitting 3"exhaust ect) for sale $13500
Perth WEST AUS
Maurie
Follow Up By: Joff - Tuesday, Oct 19, 2004 at 08:47
Tuesday, Oct 19, 2004 at 08:47
Is it still for sale? Am looking for one at the moment. If it is do you want to give me your e-mail address.
Joff
Reply By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Monday, Oct 04, 2004 at 08:45
Monday, Oct 04, 2004 at 08:45
Gday Jonoc,
Good choice mate!
As for
suspension, you don't necessarily need to go with the masses and use TJM or ARB. Have a look around.
I picked up my
suspension fitted for $700 which included 3 inch coils, long travel shocks and damper (Dobinson) with no caster correction, adjustable panhards needed.
As for turbos, trucksters right, how longs a piece of string. Running 7psi as recommended by reputable turbo fitters will leave you dissapointed. Along with higher boost comes more fuel which equals heat. A great turbo fitter will know the answer to heat probs ie exhaust, dump pipe, radiator upgrade, oil in fan etc etc.
Look forward to seeing your new beast!
Chris.
Follow Up By: crayman - Tuesday, Oct 19, 2004 at 17:26
Tuesday, Oct 19, 2004 at 17:26
Hi Jeff
Sorry just sold for 13,00
Maurie
Follow Up By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Tuesday, Oct 19, 2004 at 17:39
Tuesday, Oct 19, 2004 at 17:39
"I picked up my
suspension fitted for $700 which included 3 inch coils, long travel shocks and damper (Dobinson) with no caster correction, adjustable panhards needed."
Now I'm gonna bombard you with questions Chris.
1)Where did you get a 3" lift for $700 fitted?
2)Including Long travel Shocks??? What brand?
3)Why no castor correction? Would my 33's rub under guard??
4)Did you lengthen your brake lines?
5)Did you lengthen your diff breathers??
I am keen to get a 3" lift, presently have 2" but want that little bit more but still retain the tourer characteristics.
Thanks in advance Chris
Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Tuesday, Oct 19, 2004 at 17:48
Tuesday, Oct 19, 2004 at 17:48
Gday mate,
This is for my GU, but I'm sure that the same kit would suit the GQ.
My 'accessory guy' fitted the Dobison extra heavy duty coils, the EFS Long travel shocks and initially the damper. I have taken off the damper now, as I wasn't happy with the return, just felt funny!
My a.g. is from QLD Bullbars at
Mansfield.
My diff breathers were lengthened but not the brake lines, currently they are long enough. If I was to extend the linkages for the swaybars, I'm sure I would need to extend them as
well.
With my 4 inch lift of the same breed and 33's, I still had enough compression to rub on the GQ. The GU is a different kettle of fish, much bigger guards etc.
I was advised that 3inch lifts do not require castor correction. At the moment, it drives like new. But I warned somone previously that all my bushes etc are all new as
well, so time will tell!
Hope this helps mate,
Chris.