Shovel trouble.

Submitted: Saturday, Oct 02, 2004 at 17:08
ThreadID: 16733 Views:3626 Replies:10 FollowUps:4
OK I give up...

Has anyone recently purchased a long handled shovel they're happy with.
Looked at Bunnings, Mitre 10 etc etc.

Silly to ask I know but...... it seems none are satisfactory to me when it comes to the angle between the handle and the spade head ( too much angle).

Is there a particular brand and where to buy?

Searched archives.... nothing.

Reply By: The Explorer - Saturday, Oct 02, 2004 at 17:34

Saturday, Oct 02, 2004 at 17:34
Part of the reason I prefer a spade...a more versatile tool (IMHO). Sorry cant help with the shovel.

AnswerID: 78612

Reply By: Rick Blaine - Saturday, Oct 02, 2004 at 17:53

Saturday, Oct 02, 2004 at 17:53
I bought a smallish longhandle roundnose shovel which is fantastic for unbogging and digging holes....$30 at a camping store
AnswerID: 78614

Reply By: Shaker - Saturday, Oct 02, 2004 at 21:04

Saturday, Oct 02, 2004 at 21:04
I agree ... i bought a Cyclone from Bunnings, thinking it was a good brand, the blade angle was about 45 degrees. Hopeless for digging, so I swapped for an el cheapo with yellow fibreglass handle ... been fantastic!
AnswerID: 78627

Reply By: Member - Bernie. (Vic) - Saturday, Oct 02, 2004 at 21:15

Saturday, Oct 02, 2004 at 21:15
Hi Oddy Cyclone ( and most good brans) used to have a number on the shovel where it joins the handle, yes there is or was various angles on the heads as well as the shape of the back (curved to the sides or curved top to bottom).
Will check my 30year old post hole shovel which has dug sh** loads of deep Dunnys also.
IMHO a post hole shovel will beat a spade anyday.

Actualy I have 2 Brand new (10 year old) ones in the workshop.
What area you from ??

AnswerID: 78631

Follow Up By: oddy - Saturday, Oct 02, 2004 at 21:54

Saturday, Oct 02, 2004 at 21:54
Thks Bernie
Unfortunately Qld.

Need someone to tell me they bought a such'nsuch one from such'n'such place.

Have been searching high and low with no luck.

All have angles that are too pronounced and a pain in the butt when getting out of a bog.

Surely there is one especially made for this purpose by now.

Come on guys this can't be that hard .....or did I just answer my own question.

FollowupID: 338105

Follow Up By: Member - Bradley- Sunday, Oct 03, 2004 at 21:54

Sunday, Oct 03, 2004 at 21:54
I'm with Bernie, love the post hole shovel, i bought a new one (cyclone) when i purchased my property 5 years ago, and she has done a hell of a lot of work since then, i'ts about 2 inches shorter now on the blade but still goes like a champion. The post hole shovel also digs a perfect hole for use with the jimmys thunder box dunny. I don't reckon theres a job i can't do with the post hole long handle shovel.
FollowupID: 338166

Follow Up By: rolande- Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 22:59

Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 22:59
Bernie,
Don't suppose you want to part with one of those "new ones"? Had a cyclone for 15 years before leaving it behind one day, went out and got another one, split down the middle after 2 months, they don't make them like they used to.
Rolande
UHUFORREST AT YAHOO DOT COM DOT AU
FollowupID: 338434

Reply By: 28patrol - Saturday, Oct 02, 2004 at 23:22

Saturday, Oct 02, 2004 at 23:22
Mine is a post hole shovel from Bunnings, works for me
AnswerID: 78642

Reply By: Member - Errol (York WA) - Sunday, Oct 03, 2004 at 12:07

Sunday, Oct 03, 2004 at 12:07
I reckon mine is the best . Got it from the mining Co i worked for , about 18y,s ago . It was the right price to . Unfornatualy , all lables are gone so carn,t help you . It is square end,ed one with not to much angle . Jnst went down and got it . Preasted into the steel i think is T tools MADE IN AUSTRALIA No 2 7-82 . Square end is good for digging square dunnie hole,s , if you need a square hole that is . cheers
AnswerID: 78659

Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Sunday, Oct 03, 2004 at 17:16

Sunday, Oct 03, 2004 at 17:16
My posthole shovel is a family heirloom...........i believe its had 16 new handles and 9 new spade heads...........axe is the same...........funny it looks new tho????????
AnswerID: 78676

Follow Up By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Monday, Oct 04, 2004 at 20:54

Monday, Oct 04, 2004 at 20:54
Hi Brewman....

Looks cool with the new lift.... You will have to try a bodylift now....
I just completed a 50mm body lift with some reassurance from Truckster before i started and it took about 4hrs as a totally solo effort....
Now you should clear the sand dune crests with ease...
FollowupID: 338247

Reply By: Member - AndrewPatrol - Sunday, Oct 03, 2004 at 17:27

Sunday, Oct 03, 2004 at 17:27
Just struck me (no pun intended - but I was just admiring myself for how intelligent I can be at times). Buy a spade and replace handle with long one. The blades on spades tend to be a sensible angle. I know its the expensive way around it but what else you gonna do. I noticed the same thing about shovels.
AnswerID: 78682

Reply By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 14:45

Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 14:45
Sniff, sniff I had the best shovel, can't even remeber when or where it came from and the handle broke on the weekend!!!!
Going to try and fix, I know what you mean I looked at Bunnings and they are:
1. Expensive
2. Crap.

AnswerID: 78930

Reply By: Trevor - Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 19:21

Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 19:21
I went to my local plumbing supplier, in this case4 Reece Plumbing.
I figgured the people who dug the most holes would have the best shovels.
It only cost $25.
Works well. Digs out cars, digs trenches for cooking, moves coals, keeps me upright late at night.

Trev
AnswerID: 79110