Member - Crazie (VIC)
G'day one and all
Just off the 4WD topic for a sec.
I am heading up to
Bathurst for the V8's, Anyone else heading up there? We are
camping up there from Thrsday through to Monday, in the paddock behind the pitts. It would be great to catch up for a beer if anyone is around
Ads
Reply By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 09:35
Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 09:35
A word comes to mind and it starts with 'B'.
Sounds awesome mate, wish I could be there. I reckon that would be a tip top weekend!
Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 11:10
Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 11:10
Hey Chris
I hear you mate, Its going to be a great trip. My Dad is flying down to come with me, so thats great. I have a friend who sponsors a few of the teams, so we are getting the royal treatment. Should be a fantastic time.
Ad
Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 11:14
Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 11:14
Well, enjoy yourself mate, watch out for the hoons...unless you are one yourself! ;-)
Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 11:16
Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 11:16
I have heard some horror stories...just there to have fun....oh yes and the beer..
Thanks mate,
Ads
Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 10:21
Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 10:21
I lost interest in it when they banned everything that the Taxi's couldnt beat.
Wow holden v ford.. taxi racing.
thats exciting.
Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 10:24
Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 10:24
So you won't be there than truckster???
Its not always about the race, but the adventure..
Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 11:13
Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 11:13
and the beer..
Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 12:41
Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 12:41
I agree, it was better with all the other classes, its as exciting as playing strip poker with the people for the nursing home down the road!!!
Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 12:52
Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 12:52
reminder to self..... "cancel strip poker at retirement village as it is not cool anymore" hahaha
O'
well my dad enjoys it and has never been and I think the least I can do is fly him down and take him, he's done plenty for me.
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 15:07
Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 15:07
"Its not always about the race, but the adventure.."
but once youve been on a BETTER adventure 20+yrs ago, its like eating 4mth old fish thats been laying in the sun.
Chris, I can drink beer at home too!
Reply By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 22:17
Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 22:17
Ads,
Have a great weekend. I was hoping to get there this year for the first time but my camper wasn't ready. I've loved
Bathurst since I was a kid watching it on B&W TV when they used to break for three hours for World of Sport during the telecast; shows how old I am.
Taxi's doing 300 km/h, you've got to love that.
Great event, worlds's greatest car race.
Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 07:17
Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 07:17
Cheers Jimbo
Should be a great weekend. It is
mine and my dad's first time and we used to watch it together every year till i moved south. May be next year...
cheers buddy
ads
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 15:10
Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 15:10
Worlds greatest car race? Ya j/k?
Rally driving toasts road racing now. At least theres more than 3 people that can win...
Any British touring cars, Le Mans, just to name to that wipe their butt on it!
F1 is dead and Yank racing where they do squillion laps in a circle, how you could sit there for that is way beyond me...
Reply By: Member - Ivan (ACT) - Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 08:17
Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 08:17
Mate,
I'll be up there for same period.. Not sure where our
camp is at this point..
It's been booked for a while - 10 sites, all roped off.. 50 blokes.. no women.. spit roast every night.. bacon and eggs every morning.. more beer, stones and bundy than we can collectively drink.. what else could a bloke need??
I'll be honest - the race just provides the atmosphere - should be a hoot
(have had my regular cholesterol test a week early!!)