TD/GU fuel filter

Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 09:31
ThreadID: 16797 Views:2444 Replies:8 FollowUps:26
A couple of weeks back there was discussion and pics (someone posted) about supplementary fuel filters. I can't find exactly where the thread is on the topic. Can you assist this ailing old brain of mine by refreshing the lead to the pics. Ta.

Reply By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 09:34

Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 09:34
Going on a trip mate? Trying to keep some of the grit out?
AnswerID: 78889

Follow Up By: Member - Cocka - Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 11:56

Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 11:56
Yeaaaah.

New motto when I leave here - " Tell sombody who cares ! "
FollowupID: 338329

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 12:03

Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 12:03
Sounds good to me mate!

Looks like you got the info below you needed. Reckon it's worth the extra shillings? What made you think about changing over?
FollowupID: 338331

Follow Up By: Member - Cocka - Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 12:40

Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 12:40
Want nothing but the best for my baby.

Haven't really made up m' mind yet. But I like the dual filter idea with the glass bowl, seems like value added security when I'm out in the big beyond. I got some deep and dirty places I want to go in the next few years before too many others discover 'em.

FollowupID: 338340

Reply By: Austravel - Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 09:48

Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 09:48
Got to say I'm still a little unsure as to what to do here as well. The genuine nissan filter should only need changing every 20k if the fuel isn't to bad. I intended putting in a second filter but a few diesel mechanics, injector people etc have said I may starve the motor of fuel. A few others said to replace the geniune filter with the jap adaptor and then use CAV replacement filters at a fraction of the cost. Then a couple of others said that the nissan filter is very good quality and why go backwards to CAV. So I'm still not sure. I'm not even sure what the nissan filter specs are, is it 5 or 10 micron??? No use going to CAV if they are coarser.
AnswerID: 78892

Follow Up By: Paul from Denco Diesel and Turbo - Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 12:04

Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 12:04
Genuine approx 6 micron, CAV approx 5.5 micron
FollowupID: 338482

Follow Up By: Austravel - Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 12:12

Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 12:12
Hi Paul,

Thanks for the info, I'll certainly consider the cheaper option since it's similar in size. Do you sell the adaptor that fits the nissan unit or do I need to replace the who assembly??

Hope you can answer a couple more questions. The cab chassis has what looks like a fuel tank vent that comes up near the fuel filler on both the main and aux tank. It's run to a plastic cap that fits over the outlet and is vented to atmos with no filter. Does this need a filter of some kind or does it only vent out and not in????

When I turn off my 4.2 turbo diesel GU it's quite rough, like when a petrol motor runs on. Is this normal for diesel???

Thanks again.
FollowupID: 338483

Follow Up By: Paul from Denco Diesel and Turbo - Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 13:31

Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 13:31
Scott, Dencos fuel tech replies-

Yes we sell the adaptor to fit the original filter head.

This ensures everything else remains original. We recommend to use genuine Delphi (CAV) filter with out adapter kits.

Micron rating is not the only thing to consider when choosing a filter. Some nongenuine brands have low efficiency ratings which allow a certain percentage of particals to bypass the paper.

Delphi (CAV) filters are 5.5 micron rated and start at approx 95% efficiency rating. This efficiency increases as the filter catches particals.

Some non genuine filters mentioned on these posts are less than 75% efficiency rated which means 25% of these particles can enter the fuel system.

Moral to the story is to use good quality filters and change only when necessary.
FollowupID: 338495

Follow Up By: Austravel - Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 13:35

Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 13:35

Good to get the info, looks like there is more to it than I first thought.

Do you know the answers to my other questions??

Thanks again
FollowupID: 338496

Follow Up By: Paul from Denco Diesel and Turbo - Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 15:52

Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 15:52
OOPS, second para should read
This ensures everything else remains original. We recommend to use genuine Delphi (CAV) filter with OUR adapter kits.

Will look back at your other Q's.

FollowupID: 338525

Follow Up By: Austravel - Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 09:08

Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 09:08
Thanks for that. Looking forward to your views on the other items as well.
FollowupID: 338616

Follow Up By: Paul from Denco Diesel and Turbo - Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 10:45

Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 10:45
Austravel, answers to your questions

"The cab chassis has what looks like a fuel tank vent that comes up near the fuel filler on both the main and aux tank. It's run to a plastic cap that fits over the outlet and is vented to atmos with no filter. Does this need a filter of some kind or does it only vent out and not in????"

A- would recommend a filter or baffle

"When I turn off my 4.2 turbo diesel GU it's quite rough, like when a petrol motor runs on. Is this normal for diesel??? "

A- this is possibly timing related. Its quite common if timinig has been advanced to improve power.
To fix this, try increasing idle speed by 50rpm

FollowupID: 338633

Follow Up By: Austravel - Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 11:26

Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 11:26

Thanks for the info. I'll look for a suitable filter, pretty poor design. Thanks also for the hint on the rough stop, even though it's standard I'll certainly give your suggestion a go. It's sometimes that bad I think it'll damage the engine mount.

Thanks again.
FollowupID: 338642

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 10:31

Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 10:31
Cav are cheaper for the filters but $100+ for the kit.

Nissan ones probably ~$20 retail and 20,000 if you want..

So you have 100,000klms before you start seeing $ back on a CAV one.
AnswerID: 78901

Follow Up By: Austravel - Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 10:38

Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 10:38
Very true, this is what I was thinking. I guess the only saving would be if you were unlucky enough to get a few loads of dirty fuel and had to replace the genuine filters to often. I'm probably thinking of just sticking with genuine and be careful were I fill up.
FollowupID: 338306

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 11:49

Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 11:49
That did happen to roly up the cape. They went thru that many they had to call ahead to get them to order some...
FollowupID: 338326

Follow Up By: Austravel - Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 11:55

Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 11:55
Ouch, can make it expensive if they are genuine.
FollowupID: 338327

Follow Up By: Member - Cocka - Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 11:55

Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 11:55
I've just been quoted $60.oo at the local N distributor
$39.oo at Autobarn. I'm not sure of the specs on this one. Cheap doesen't = peace of mind
How long since you paid ~$20.
FollowupID: 338328

Follow Up By: Austravel - Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 11:59

Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 11:59
Your right, I didn't read that part properly. Genunine ones were $49 last time I brought one, Fleetguard are $22. If I can find out what the specs are on the genuine one I may change to fleetguard if they are the same. I'm told most of the coal mines use fleetguard up here so they should be ok.
FollowupID: 338330

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 14:07

Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 14:07
Did you know that you can use an oil by pass filter for fuel also. 1 micron ultra clean fuel, absolutely no restriction or pressure drop, absorbs plenty of water if any and only 6 bucks for a new element. Filter Technology, based in Rutherford, near Newcastle.. $135 aprox for the housing,,
AnswerID: 78919

Follow Up By: Austravel - Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 14:55

Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 14:55
How quickly does this filter. The only concern I'd have is if it's as slow as when used for oil then you could use the full tank before it's even filtered part of it. Good idea if it's quick, better than the CAV. Any info would be great.
FollowupID: 338361

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 15:15

Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 15:15
It would not slow the flow, it has a toilet type roll filter, It has a huge surface area. Check out their web site,,
FollowupID: 338370

Follow Up By: Austravel - Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 15:37

Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 15:37
Have just tried to get on there site but can't get the products page, will try latter. What I was getting at is the the filter used like a bypass for oil, only taking a pecentage of the fluid to filter at any one time. If so then you could still be getting dirty fuel, if it's connected in series with the orginal filter then it won't do this. But then you'd need to know if it placed more head on the fuel pump.
FollowupID: 338379

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 19:22

Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 19:22
sounds exactly the same as the Denco Cav Filter setup. $100 for theirs + free filters for board people.
FollowupID: 338396

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 19:23

Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 19:23
- (PostID: 15989)
Paul from Denco Diesel and Turbo replied to the question

Denco Diesel sell these CAV filter assemblies with Primers and will throw in a spare replacement filter free of charge. The filter assemblies are $109.00 plus any fittings that you may need.
FollowupID: 338397

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 20:41

Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 20:41
The Filter setup for engine oil has a brass fitting that has a 1mm hole so as to reduce the flow so it doesn't drop pressure in the engine oil galleries. It is exactly the same housing and element for fuel but it has full flow fittings. It can flow far more fuel than you could ever use and can be used inline and in front of your normal filter. When you remove the filter element you can see specks of rust and paint and other foriegn matter. its a great system. I used to be an agent for this system a few years ago and saw the results on many occasions.
FollowupID: 338408

Follow Up By: Member - Cocka - Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 21:43

Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 21:43
Austravel, I tried that site also and couldn't get the products page so gave them a free call and spoke to some dude whose going to email me some "useful" data.
He was talking about putting an extra pump on the inlet line to boost the fuel pressure to 15psi because the filter is so effective and it would reduce flow unless boosted.
I'll wait until the info arrives before final comment but it doesn't look to be what I want, too complicated.
FollowupID: 338423

Reply By: TD6 - Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 14:12

Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 14:12
Cocka,

Too bad you didn't mention this on Sunday as i have a setup in the Patrol. I'll get you the part number etc and email it.

AnswerID: 78920

Reply By: sevo - Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 15:48

Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 15:48
Gday everyone,
I run a CAV filter system as well as the normal filter with no dramas. As for the vehicle starving for fuel i have seen these engines still running and have sucked the filter element through the filter!! I have made a stainless bracket that i can supply photos if required.
sevo
AnswerID: 78940

Reply By: TD6 - Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 21:22

Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 21:22
Cocka,

Missed you on the email so just in case. What I've done is left the original filter system in place and added a water seperator before it. (Exactly the same as your boat would have) This ensures you have a free flow of fuel and at the same time allows you to "catch" the rubbish before it gets through to your main filter.

I used to run the CAV system on the GQ but have decided against this on the GU due to advice from my diesel mate that I told you about.

Keep it simple but effective.
AnswerID: 78979

Follow Up By: Member - Cocka - Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 21:38

Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 21:38
Thanks Richard, I'll have a look into that option, I'll see what filters they have at Whitworths, they're just down the road.
FollowupID: 338420

Follow Up By: TD6 - Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 21:48

Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 21:48
I'll get you the part number etc as it's not your standard boat part. Not expensive but it is an auotmotive part as opposed to marine.

I'll be down your way on the weekend (the ramp) so we may be able to catch up and you'll see what I mean first hand.
FollowupID: 338424

Follow Up By: Austravel - Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 09:14

Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 09:14
Hi TD6,

Any chance of sending me the part number and a supplier as well. I'd be interested in following through on it.

FollowupID: 338464

Reply By: Austravel - Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 09:16

Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 09:16
Thanks, I thought it might restrict flow which can be just as damaging as dirty fuel. I may just check out the fleetguard filters at $22 each and see how they go.
AnswerID: 79046