Charging batteries while in vehicle

Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 10:51
ThreadID: 16801 Views:2678 Replies:6 FollowUps:6

Here's a question for an auto electrician. I've always charged my batteries in the vehicle while hooked up. I have a good quality charger (240v style) and have never had a drama just hooking it up to each battery and leaving it overnight until it went to float. Should I do this, can I damage the alternator etc???

Reply By: waveslave - Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 15:10

Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 15:10
Heya, I'm no sparkie, but I've heard you can damage things like frisges doing that. Gotta disconnect it. You can leave it in the tray, but disconnect anything first.

AnswerID: 78935

Follow Up By: Austravel - Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 15:24

Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 15:24
I think that would only relate to fast chargers that charge at elevated voltages.

FollowupID: 338374

Reply By: troy35 - Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 15:18

Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 15:18
Well I am no auto elec but have been doing this myself to my cars and to the trucks at work for years and years and so far never had a problem. The battery absorbs any spikes from the charger. Its the same reason why you can run a gennie to charge your battery while still running fridges and other appliances off the battery.
I have even done this with Kenworth prime movers that are fully computer controlled, had the charger connected up to the rear battery overnight and never had a problem in many years of doing this.
AnswerID: 78937

Follow Up By: Austravel - Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 15:26

Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 15:26
Me to, that's why I tend to think it should be ok. But didn't want to just work on this assumption and find out I was just lucky. The only thing I thought I could damage was the Alternator but didn't really think so as all that's happening is the battery is getting to it's full potential.

FollowupID: 338376

Follow Up By: tonysmc - Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 16:48

Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 16:48
Troy, you say you never had a problem? This conflicts with what you said in the earlier post about duel batteries.
I am lead to believe that once you start charging over 8 amps you can have trouble. This doesn't mean it will happen every time, but maybe pushing things.
FollowupID: 338387

Follow Up By: troy35 - Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 19:59

Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 19:59
tonysmc,

My problem in a previous post with dual batterys was no way related to charging them with a charger whilst still connected to the battery. My alternator did stop working on the weekend but I dont think it had anything to do with my generator and either does my local auto elec. My mate has used the same gennie on his car for years without any problems to his alternator or batterys and we have the same cars (GQ Patrols). The same mate runs a well known marine and mower service here in Broome so knows all about these gennies as he sells them. He said there is no way they could bugger an alternator. The auto elec told me more than likely the alternator was overworked whilst trying to charge an almost dead flat battery. The problem being I used a calcium battery which are no good for draining like I did.
FollowupID: 338404

Reply By: Chaz - Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 20:34

Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 20:34
Hi Austravel
When you think about it, there is no difference if you charge your battery/batterys with a 240 volt charger than if your engine was running, using the alternator. The condition of the battery and the load will determine the current draw on the charger, but provided the voltage doesn't exceed 14.2 volts, you'll have no problems. A flat battery will draw heaps of current and keep the voltage low, but as the battery comes up, the current drops and the voltage rises to the maximum of the charger. If your not sure, put a voltmeter on the battery while you charge it and when the voltage reaches 14 volts, turn it off. The charger will only put out what the battery can take, unless there is a fault/short in the battery or an external load on the charger eg. fridge or other accessory.
The short answer to your question is no, you can not damage your alternator, but I would be more concerned about vehicle electronics, however as already stated, the battery will filter out any voltage spikes.

Good Luck
Chaz
http://members.bettanet.net.au/~conody/index.htm
AnswerID: 78969

Reply By: Will - Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 21:59

Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 21:59
Hi Austravel, I was allways told that you could damage the vehicles electrical system eg. alternator diodes, computers ect.
but have have been to many cars that have been charged that way without any problems.
I think the case would be very, very different if you attempted to start your vehicle with the charger on and connected.
By the way make sure that you loosen the caps on the battery to let any gases escape a little easier and turn off the charger before taking off the leads to minimise any sparking. (battery gases are explosive and from personel experience when a battery explodes it goes off like a bomb)
Will
AnswerID: 78995

Follow Up By: Chaz - Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 05:46

Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 05:46
Hi Will,
The best way to blow your alternator diods is to dis-connect the battery with the engine running, unlike a generator, the current needs somewhere to go. If you try to start your car with the charger connected you will blow the chargers fuse. Been there and done that, but if it has no fuse you could damage the charger, but would cause no harm to the vehicles electrics.
Hope that helps
Chaz
FollowupID: 338439

Reply By: Austravel - Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 09:09

Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 09:09
Thanks all.
AnswerID: 79043

Reply By: D-Jack - Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 16:56

Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 16:56
Heres one - I once got told that when jump starting a car with expensive ECUs etc that you can overcome the problem of not having spike controlled jumper leads by switching on the the car headlights - I don't really understand but the globes apparently will blow first thus preventing computer damage.

There may be something in this - maybe you could switch your lights on overnight whilst charging the battery still connected thus making the charging process safe.

Oh, there seems to be a problem with my theory I just noticed - what if you were camping and wanted it to be dark?
AnswerID: 79094

Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 20:30

Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 20:30
Two headlights running draw around 120 watts ie 10 amps. This is usually more than you may be putting in with charger. Hence, the battery will not charge?

Not sure, just a thought.
FollowupID: 338565