Hilux and Rodeo

Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 16:29
ThreadID: 16806 Views:6035 Replies:4 FollowUps:0
G'day All,

Sold the Troopy on the weekend. I'm gonna miss that bus. I whizzed around to a few dealers and had a look at a few vehicles. I'm pretty happy with the GQs as far as layout, room etc is concerned, except they didn't have any diesels forme to testdrive.

I'm still concerned that they might be a bit big. Are there any people out there who own/owned/driven/hired a Hilux (post 97 IFS 3.0L diesel) or Rodeo (95-97ish 2.8 Turbo diesel) that can provide comment/advice.

I have received some advice that I should have no problem fitting a baby capsule in the back. This is OK as my wife and I are both pretty short anyhow. Are there any other inherent problems etc I should know about either of these vehicles?

Jono

If I went the Rodeo option I'd be looking at a suspension upgrade to obtain some lift. Rancho seem to have a kit out that can achieve a 2inch lift (probably enough) without swapping the leafs to the top of the back axle (not too sure about that).

I've also heard that the turbo on the Rodeo kicks in pretty late making it hard to drive on soft sand. I was under the impression that a vehicle as light as the Rodeo wouldn't have a problem (considering the ol' troopy has done some very soft sand stuff).

Reply By: guzzi - Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 18:17

Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 18:17
JonnoC

I can comment on the Rodeo.
A suspension upgrade is not manatory but is a good thing depending on the condition of its current suspension. A 2in suspension lift will not cause any problems, over 2 is a different matter. old CV boots might not like it either.
Bigger tyres can give a bit more clearence under the diff pumpkins, but will effect acceleration and speedo accuracy.
Any turbo diesel will benefit from a larger exhaust, up to 2.5 inch the rodeo seems to.
The turbo full boost "kicks" in at 2500 rpm, drive it around 2200 to 3500 and nothing stops it, struggles a bit under 2000 in soft sand and hills.
Fitting a child seat to an older model isnt a big deal, the ftiting has to be done by a licenced workshop and a mod plate fitted to the vechicle (QLD).
Ive done a fair bit of soft sand, and it handled it alright, didnt get bogged, didnt stall, the secret is correct tyre pressures and correct engine RPM and in the right gear.
Water crossings up to the top of the tyres no problem but if it is a constant occurence you might like to extend the breathers on the g/box and diffs.
It has a bloody good and effective LSD rear diff which can get you out of (or into as the case may be) trouble.
Reliability is good, on mine anyway, service interval on the diesel is 5000km.
Comfort, not bad for a ute but its not a commodore, and it can be fairly noisy.
The engine is direct injection and as such sounds like a cement mixer full of bricks, it does however show a very clean pair of heels to anything with diesel hilux written on it.
The only other negative is holden /isuzu parts priceing which follows the toyota model and then adds the multiply till it hurts quotant.
pete
AnswerID: 78949

Reply By: Allan-TPWA - Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 19:32

Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 19:32
Jono

I wanted the troopy but due to a little baby the hilux was the answer. I have the 99 3.0L diesel. The baby seat fits into any of the 3 positions in the back and still plenty of room in the front, we are both 5ft 10. I haven't heard of or had any problems with the hilux. My mate has the 3.0L TD in a 02 hilux and I find his lacks a little in low rev situations due to turbo lag and higher gearing, but on the other hand his is much better than mine on the highway, horses for courses.

The other thing I am not keen on if the that the IFS lacks as much travel as the previous hilux. Not that it has let me down with reduced travel but is always in the back of my mind.

The engine bay in the 3.0L diesel suits a full size 2nd battery but with my mates 3.0L TD a full size battery can't be fitted.

I could go on all day about why hilux is the best out of the dual cabs, but I'll leave it at that.

AnswerID: 78959

Reply By: Will - Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 22:11

Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 22:11
Hi Jono, I can only comment on the ride and comfort of the rodeo, I use one for work ( three years old and V6 petrol) and find the dual cab a good size and comfortable.
Will
AnswerID: 78999

Reply By: shorty - Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 15:57

Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 15:57
Have owned a 1999 turbo-diesel for 3 years.32705 klms pulling a 16 ft van approx 1400kg & about 300 kg in ute used 3967.34 ltr which is 12.13 ltr per 100 klm.
this is at 92 kph which seems to be its sweet spot under load.Without the van at highway speeds around 9 ltr/100klms. Around town not much worse about 10 ltr/100 klms. Has hyclones fitted [wait for the backlash] and a snorkel which definitely improved the performance & the petrol economy.
my test hill
as bought change 3rd to 4th died in bum -back to 3rd
hyclones fitted held on in 4th
plus snorkel can accellarate in 4th.
Rear springs sagged fitted loadmasters from blueys ute world solved problem,also reduced body roll.
ute had baby capsule fitted in back when i bought it. still have fitting.
Have 70-30 hankook tyres which have been puncture free on gibb river road type roads at 30 psi . Ute good in sand if can maintain 2800rpm.can go most places if you take your time.
no problem with rodeo's towing in 5th gear[advice from holden engineers],all other makes to my knowledge recommend 4th which proves how strong the gearbox is.
AnswerID: 81942