GU/TD priming pump
Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 19:31
Member - Cocka
Changed the standard fuel filter this arvo (first time by me). All pretty straight forward, disconnect hoses, electrics etc (isn't that electric plug a bogger), change over filter and reassemble, reinstall - connecting hoses etc and prime - pump, pump, pump, pump etc etc. I can't get the bleeding filter to fill up with fuel, I tried priming the fuel lines (which I shouldn't have to do) more pump, pump, pump a thousand times. Aggghhhhh, it's getting dark, the mossies are biting, I'll go and have a medicinal shiraz, post a Q on EO and fix it in the morning.
Q.- Which line is the inlet/outlet to the pump, there's no direction marked on the pump but I think the LHS (rear connection coming up from the chassis) is the inlet side.
Q.- Good idea to fill the filter with fuel before assembly, maybe ehh ??
Q.- Any other wise old Turk out there had and solved this same problem. How ??
Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 19:36
Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 19:36
Q.- Which line is the inlet/outlet to the pump, there's no direction marked on the pump but I think the LHS (rear connection coming up from the chassis) is the inlet side.
Trace it under car
Q.- Good idea to fill the filter with fuel before assembly, maybe ehh ??
yes always, you may even strike it lucky to start car that way and have it prime itself....
Mine did.
Reply By: Member - AndrewPatrol - Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 19:41
Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 19:41
What car you got. I got a 3lt gu and could have a look if you want.
Follow Up By: Member - Cocka - Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 19:53
Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 19:53
Thanks Andrew. No need to go out in the dark mate.
Mines the same as yours but unless you pull it all apart it wont achieve much, not unless you've already done it.
Follow Up By: Member - AndrewPatrol - Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 20:49
Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 20:49
Just went and checked. When filter is bolted in car the front (of car) fitting goes to the injector pump and rear fitting is one from
tank.
Follow Up By: Member - Cocka - Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 21:10
Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 21:10
yeah, that's the way I saw it also. I had nothing in the manuals to say otherwise.
Your a good man for doing that, I'll have another shiraz for you.
Reply By: Mudguard - Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 19:55
Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 19:55
G,Day Cocka,Had the same with my GU, I use to connect a length of clear plastic hose to the outlet and suck, when you see diesel stop obviously and reconnect the hose ,no juggling with a full filter.But I have now gone to a CAV filter assy,quicker priming and glass bowl to watch the floaty bits. cheers
Reply By: Member - Browny (VIC) - Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 20:05
Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 20:05
Cocka,
I reckon if you have a close look on the housing of the primer pump you should see some kind of directional type marking,
mine has a triangle type marking showing the outlet side, but yours wouldn't be the first primer pump to fail.
Browny
Reply By: Bilbo - Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 21:17
Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 21:17
I can't understand this. I've changed my TD fuel filter many times 'n never had a prob. I assume that you've undone the plastic wing nut on the top of the filter body to let out the air from the filter and then closed it. Only THEN undo the bleed screw on the HP fuel pump on the enigine.
Simple>
???
Bilbo
Follow Up By: Member - Cocka - Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 21:30
Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 21:30
Think I've got a different model to you Bilbo. There's no wingnut on
mine or bleed screw. This is a 3lt GU TD.
Reply By: TD6 - Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 21:35
Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 21:35
Cocka,
The trick is to pump slowly not fast. Pretend you're doing CPR it works a treat.
Reply By: Peter Guy - Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 11:52
Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 11:52
The primer pump on my GU 2.8 also won't pump if you have connected the out-let hose to the pump prior to priming after changing the fuel filter.(fuel line between the primer pump/fuel filter and the engine). As soon as the outlet hose is disconnected it pumps beautifully.
I think the the reason is it needs the air to escape to let the fuel come up into the filter. As soon as a little fuel squirts out you then can connect the out-let hose and give it a few more pumps as it is then primed.
As soon as you start the motor the engine fuel pump takes over.
I'm sure you will experience the same result.
I hope this helps you.
Cheers Peter Guy.
Follow Up By: Member - Cocka - Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 17:15
Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 17:15
Thanks fellas for your thoughts and inputs.
I managed to attach a soft plastic hose on the inlet side into which I inserted a small funnel and filled the filter by holding the funnel/hose up high and pouring in fuel. However the pump was still not working.
I pulled it all out again & removed the filter to have a closer look on
the bench, feeding in fuel from a positive prime it almost seemed to be pumping backwards up the tube/funnel. NowI'm just about ready to drop it in the bin and I give the black botton a down whack with m'hand in frustration, and that did it, what ever it did, it decided to pump. Eureka.
I then kept the filter filled and reinstalled, she primed Ok now. Flatened the starter battery but the beast kicked over with the spare. Now you have one happy chappy & the beast is ready to rip into the Flinders next week.
A couple of things learnt. The
water drain plug can be hard, as it is awkward, to loosen - when changing the filter remove the outlet plug & smear a little grease on the nylon threads - test the
water float with an OMH tester across the points & tip the sender upside down to see the switch works.