Hilux for the big trip ??
Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 20:55
Member - Peter J (VIC)
We are fortunate enough to be planning a 6 month trip, up the East Coast, and through to the
kimberley. I have limited experience and am starting from scratch.
My current thinking re a suitable rig, is a Hilux 2.8 Diesel, about 92 - 98. We will be towing a camper trailer, GVM about 900 - 1100 kgs, plus gear in the Hilux.
I'm keen to do a fair bit of beach/sand as
well as some river crossings.
My main concern is - will the Hilux have the power ?? I don't care if we can't get over 90 kays/Hr. What I am concerned about is, will she have the grunt for deep sand or
water ?? Also, will the motor cope with 20,000 kays of 4 wd'ing and towing ??
I have consulted a few mates. All have done the big trip. Guess what - totally opposing opinions.
I like the Hilux for it's fair purchase price, good economy, light weight, legendary reliability and 4wd cred. I'm just a bit concerned about power.
Another option is to pick up A 2.8 and have a turbo fitted. This boosts the power to about 75 - 80 kw.
Am I being realistic, or should I go for a troopie or 80 series ??
PS My budget is about 15 - 20 grand.
Some opinions would be appreciated.
Reply By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 21:23
Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 21:23
Peter,
Have you thought about something like a GQ Patrol 4.2L Petrol fitted with LPG. Tough, bulletproof, reliable etc. Will have much more grunt than a TD Hilux and will be more economical. Sure, there may be occassions that you can't get LPG, but on the overall trip it should balance out and still be cheaper, unless a significant portion of your trip will be in areas without LPG (I'm not sure of availability where you plan to go).
A GQ will tow a camper better than an Hilux.
Good luck with your trip you lucky sod.
Reply By: Member - Luxoluk - Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 21:35
Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 21:35
I'm a bit biased having just finished with a 3ltr TD sr5 Hilux. It was a terrific vehicle for its utility (no pun intended) and did heaps of desert and high country trips as
well as towing a 15" pop top on occasions. It did however run out of puff on a few occasions and I would have liked a bit more torque to tackle some of the real tall sandy climbs. There's nothing like being able to dial in more torque on demand!! I drove a non turbo diesel hilux and the difference was very real. If the 2.8 is like the 3.0ltr then I would consider chasing cubes or a turbo or both!! The 80 series and Troopie develop low end torque from their larger capacity diesels and the driving should therefore be more relaxed. The 80's coil
suspension is also an attractive feature. Diesel is the better motor for economy and low end torque. My next vehicle will be a TD troopie and low end torque is one of the attractions underpinning the choice. Only problem is I have to wait until early 05. Good luck with your choice...you will no doubt adapt to what you choose and any three vehicles will serve you
well. Maybe you could try out some of your mates vehicles for an evaluation??
Reply By: Kimberly Kruiser - Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 22:46
Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 22:46
Peter.
Excuse the pun (Been there,done that, got the photos to prove it).
Did half the big run few years ago in a 2.8 stock Hilux towing a 13 foot pop top. It
sure wasn't quick but it just kept on going. Changed into a HJZ75 Troopy half way
round purely cause two adults and a 4 year old nipper on a single cab bench
seat lost its appeal after a while.
Any of the vehicles your contemplating will do it. Its up to you what you prefer or can squeeze into the budget. I reakon stay with the diesel theme and enjoy your
run around the block.
Regards Wal.
Reply By: Member - Athol (NSW) - Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 04:01
Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 04:01
Peter,
I have just returned from a 6 week trip up through cental QLD to the gulf and back through western QLD & NSW and a trip around the
corner country last year. I have a 93 2.8 with aftermarket turbo and it did the job but, even at a reduced rate it was returning some horrible fuel economy ,avg. 16lt/100 worst was 18.5lt/100 and need I mention the headwinds!!!.The camper comes in at just on a tonne fully loaded and the whole rig with a 3.5m tinny on top weighs in a smidge under 3.5T (I weighed it the night before leaveing at work) So even though I love the xtra cab (I've had it 8 years) I think that might the last BIG trip I do before going up to a 4.2 TD, just to make it easier on the motor and easier up hills!!.
Athol.
Reply By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 09:14
Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 09:14
Morning!
If you have 15-20 grand, purchase a Nissan Patrol GQ TD42 for around 10-12 with 200,000k's on it. Then whack on a turbo with exhaust, injectors etc for 4000-5000 and spend the last two grand on
snorkel and
suspension,
snorkel will set you back 300-450 and
suspension,
well depends on what you get but a 3 inch dobinson kit (4 extra heavy duty coils, efs shocks and damper) will set you back around 800. Then you have a tough truck ready to take on the world with your camper!
Just a thought...
Cheers mate.
Chris.
Reply By: CraigQ - Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 12:59
Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 12:59
Check ou the 92 80 series in the trader with the intercooled turbo for 15 grand. Will tow anything anywhere, the only prob would be the 17-20l/100 fuel economy
Follow Up By: CraigQ - Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 13:00
Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 13:00
The 80 series will be more comfortable than a hilux too.
Follow Up By: Wazza (Vic) - Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 15:03
Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 15:03
Chatting to Eric yesterday, I think it has been sold.
Reply By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 18:25
Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 18:25
Gday Peter,I reacon the old Hilux would be fine,sure there gutless but they keep on keeping on(a
well maintaned one anyhow).Plus being a hilux if you do break anything you can get parts anywhere.Ive thought of putting a turbo on our 4 Runner but when we're away touring we only potter about anyway,so Ive given up on that idea.But if your towing a trailer it's worth considering.With the 4 Runner fully loaded,we averaged 10.5lts/100kms over 17000kms.
Reply By: GrantWA - Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 21:54
Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 21:54
Hi Peter
I owned a 94 2.8 Hilux dual cab until 18 months ago and loved it. I did alot of towing with it ranging from 0.5Ton to 2.5Ton. It was fairly comfortable towing but you wouldn't want to be overtaking too often. The camper trailer you speak of would be fine. I never had any trouble with the vehicle and took it offroad often. Found it had enough torque and went everywhere I wanted it to. Was a fun vehicle to take offroad IMHO. I played with the idea of fitting an aftermarket turbo (it had only done 75k when I bought it), but never got around to it. Offroad I was happy with the power, but around the city a turbo would be nice. It used to use 11-12L/100km and towing didn't seem to make a huge difference. For your budget, you should get something decent in that era. Good luck.
Grant
Reply By: Russ - Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 01:40
Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 01:40
Pete,
We have a 2.8l '89 hi lux, diesel, natuarally asperated, (currently on the market - new motor +), had a goldstream wind up camper about 1,000kg. Had a ball with it. Lack the guts especially in hilly terrain, strong winds etc, but still a good vehicle.
Great fuel consumption - bad 23 mpg, good 30 mpg.
Other comments are valid, look for something a bit bigger.
Definately would not recommend towing through heavy sand with that weight.
Enjoy.
RB
Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 09:20
Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 09:20
How was the Simpson trip Russ ?