Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 21:09
andrewr612
Hi - can anybody help???
I have a 3,500kg boat and trailer with brakes. Am looking for something to tow it with. It will be towed around much of the country (where there is
water :-), plus of course launching and retrieving it from various boat ramps. So I am looking for something that is reliable, has the power to tow it up and down hills, is comfortable to tow on the freeway (my wife will be driving some of the time), and something least likely too to get stuck on a
boat ramp. Have decided on an auto, still wondering about diesel vs. petrol vs gas. Can spend around $25 to $30k. So far have narrowed it down to Landcruiser 100 series, Nssan Patrol, or Range Rover (V8 on gas). Anything else I should consider??
Any advice would be very much appreciated.
It has beeen suggested that I try towing it with a few dealers cars, but firstly they are sensor brakes on the trailer so is not actually legal to tow it unless the kit is installed in the vehicle, plus the trailer has a 70mm towball, not too common anywhere!
Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 21:46
Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 21:46
So in reality you dont need a 4wd cause your only using to tow boat and launch boat?
Try an F100/F150.. lots of power, and would suit you
well for towing.
Reply By: crayman - Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 22:02
Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 22:02
Hi Andrew
I have a 26" Bertram and TRI AXLE TRAILERall up about same weight as your rig i tow it down to ramp 2 or 3 times ayear GQ 4.2td pulls out ok, but reluctant to tow very far or fast, 1K to ramp, boat tends to take control of car your trailer may be better set up than
mine id try F150 4wd ,safer i think
Maurie
Follow Up By: Member Eric - Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 18:28
Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 18:28
I didnt know they made a 26 inch Bertram , lol
Sorry mate had to pick you up on that
Reply By: TD6 - Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 23:13
Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 23:13
Had a similar problem years ago with a 23 ft Cat. Put a P76 V8 (4.2 ltr) in a short wheel base Land Rover. Did the job but the fuel economy was out of this world.
Go for the Rangie or F Series Ford. Both have heaps of grunt but forget about economy.
Reply By: Flash - Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 07:16
Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 07:16
You really will need 4WD (both for grip and gearing) otherwise forget getting up some of the more slippery ramps around.
I towed a 3+ tonne trailer sailer (800 kgs lead ballast !!) around some of the east coast with my 4.2 diesel Patrol a few years ago- fuel economy wasn't that bad actually as it's way more aerodynamic than a caravan or similar. Once you're rolling it cruised very comfortably, though hills were a bit slow...
4 wheel brakes of course so stopping was not a major issue.
Legal??? I suspect when fully provisioned it was possibly
well above max legal weight. Ignorance is bliss! It actually towed the whole shebang very
well.
Reply By: Uppy - Member - Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 09:35
Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 09:35
Hi Andrew,if you could afford a little more i would go the 4800 patrol,can tow anything ,a very good 4x4 off road.The wife can drive it,It comes in both auto or manual.Or a 4500 patrol.But I will be given a hard time for recomenting these wagons due to the fact that they are both petrol,and this
forum is more the deisel way,which is why i havent been on much
kind regards uppy
Reply By: KO2004 - Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 16:00
Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 16:00
We have a 22 ft ski boat which weighs around 2.5 t. We often have to put the car in 4wd drive to pull it out of the
water. BTW we have a Nissan Patrol.
Something that goes into 4wd is useful
Reply By: Member - Landie - Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 16:12
Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 16:12
You'll need to look at which vehicles are legally rated to tow a 3,500 kg outfit?
Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 21:10
Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 21:10
The answer is soo simple,, Nissan patrol 4.2 Diesel.
Reply By: V8Diesel - Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 21:40
Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 21:40
Well out of the price range, but put a F250 with the Navistar 7.3 turbo diesel V8 and Alison auto on your wish list. A mate of
mine tows his 32' boat with it easily. Real good on juice too for what it does.
I've got a Landcruiser with a 6.5 Chev V8 diesel in it that used to tow a 25' fibreglass boat no worries. Not sure of the legalities for HJ 75's though. If you look around, there may be Cruiser or Patrol wagon with the conversion for that sort of price.
Re: the Range Rover, another friend bought one to tow his 25' Thomascraft. It was a resonably new vehicle at the time, but it was the most diabolical piece of crud imaginable. If you like walking, setting fire to money and screaming, buy a Range Rover.