Cooper Discoverer STT
Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 21:47
Willem
Hmmmm.....my new Coopers clocked up 3000km over two weeks in the bush. Of that distance about 800km was on bitumen, the rest on the
Birdsville Track, Simpson tracks,
Walkers Crossing to
Innamincka, Coongie and back, Old Strzelecki and
Flinders Ranges station tracks.
I noticed that the front tyres were unmarked but the rear tyres have some chip marks on the lugs and one lug is about to break off. Then there is also the problem of small cracks on the tyre surface between the lugs. It is bit worrying that this should happen to a $300 tyre after so short a distance. My tyre dealer has declined to comment but is referring the matter back to Cooper Tyres themselves. Anyway I should know the outcome within a few weeks....in the mean time it is back to the Kelly Safaris for the bitumen runs.
I ran tyre pressures commensurate to desert treks and rough gravel roads with a top pressure of 32psi.
Reply By: locallaw - Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 21:59
Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 21:59
Gidday,My Coopers done the same thing.Big chunks off the rear
wheels travelling along the Plenty.From what I hear the tyre compound is too hard.
Just my bit.
Seeya Locallaw
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 22:18
Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 22:18
STTs?? too hard? ya kidding.. they are soft as chewin gum...
Follow Up By: locallaw - Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 07:14
Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 07:14
Gidday,Who said STT.
Seeya Locallaw
Follow Up By: Moose - Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 13:25
Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 13:25
Willem said STT - check the heading. You're talking about STs aren't you?
Reply By: Will - Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 22:34
Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 22:34
Hi Willem, I am interested in your comments on
Walkers Crossing as I am thinking of using that track in July 05 to get back to
Innamincka from
Birdsville.
Will
Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 20:48
Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 20:48
Hi Will
The
Walkers Crossing track is at present quite an easy run apart from a few blind corners and one very bad
cattle grid(it sticks out above the road surface by about 75mm and the GQ flew for a few metres). The crossing itself has been filled in and graded and you can do the whole run in 2wd. A local map is an advantage as there are tracks running in all directions through the gas field. This road largerly depends on the weather every year. If it is wet then it is a No Go area.
Follow Up By: Will - Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 09:25
Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 09:25
Thanks for that info Willem,
July next year could be completly different as we know, but at least that opens up different possiblilies. The track most be closed periodicaly by the local authorities or land owners? I was under the impression that it was closed permanantly.
That is the beauty of this
forum, being able to glean first hand information.
Once again Thanks
Will
Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 21:10
Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 21:10
Hi Will
Walkers Crossing track is a South Australian PAR ( Public Access Route ) whereby the SA Gov and the landholders come to an agreement to keep the road open to the general public. It can of course be closed for reasons such as being waterlogged, washed out, cattle mustering or mining purposes, but those are rare events. This year however it was washed out badly and has only been repaired in recent weeks.
Reply By: Crackles - Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 23:30
Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 23:30
Willem. Interesting the rears where worn more. Was your car lightly / heavily / or over loaded? Craig...........
Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 20:50
Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 20:50
Craig
A medium load of tucker, fridge, 2 adults, 40lt
water, 215lts fuel, recovery gear.
camping gear....still had space for lots more...:-)
Follow Up By: Crackles - Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 21:19
Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 21:19
I'd say you just snuck inside the GVM of you truck. Weight seems to be the biggest destroyer of tyres. With 4 girls to cart
mine came in 250 kg over on the last trip so now I'm on a weight reduction program. My rears suffered a little more too. Good luck with the warrenty.
Cheers Craig............
Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 01:07
Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 01:07
Hi Willem
Had the same problems with BFG All terrains.
Chipping of the lugs, it appears that the gibbers are just hard on tyres.
Spoke to the guys at
Birdsville Auto when I was there in January, they said all brands will do it just hard conditions and the gibbers are as sharp as $hit.
The rear always due to them being under power / load when driving these tracks / roads in 2 wheel drive.
It has been said by experts that it is less of a issue with coarse treaded tyres like mud terrains as the bigger lugs are more resistant to chipping.
I now have looked at a range of tyres on other vehicles that have done these tracks and seen similar damage regardless of brand.
Tyres just aren't what they used to be I guess.
Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 20:53
Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 20:53
Thanks John,
Thats what I figured but it is worth my while putting the question to the tyre manufacturer to get a definitive answer
Best tyres are those Indian made MRG 14 or 16ply skinnies....trouble is they will rattle your false teeth loose.........:o)
Reply By: Member - Ruth D (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 07:42
Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 07:42
Willem - glad you are back safely and not caught in all the rain and mud and hailstorms. I can attest to the fact that Willem's "Ruby" was not overloaded in anyway. Very interesting about the tyres. Have had a number of people asking after you Willem, including Wayne from NSW who will no doubt put up his version of travelling in the last week when he returns home this weekend - very interesting trip. The hailstoms have ripped the flowers in the SD to pieces and also the flowering spinifex (the storms mostly on the western side). Temperatures climbing - reached 40 yesterday but nice overnight.
Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 20:42
Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 20:42
Hello Ruth
You must have missed my post 16724 all about dust and mud and
water. We had a very interesting night in the Flinders with nowhere to sleep. Had a roaring fire though which was kept going through the night.
Still cleaning the mud off Ruby and fixing a thing or two.
Reply By: Bob of KAOS - Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 08:20
Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 08:20
I notised that my rear STs had more damage than the fronts. I reckon if you checked the weight carried over the rear
wheels it would be a lot more than the front. The other thing to consider is that with a bold lug pattern, there is less area of rubber on the road so the pressure on the lugs is roughly twice the pressure on the same size segment of a smooth highway tyre. I'm sure rocks get in bewteen the lugs and force them apart as
well.
Sadly, I think we are still a long way from the perfect 4WD tyre.
Using the Smartire system I continuously monitor tyre temp and pressure. The rear tyres always achieve higher temps than the front, regardless of inflation pressures. I usually inflate the rears to a higher pressure on trips to allow for the increased load they carry. The temp in the rears is often up to 161 degrees F on bitumen in the tropics, while the fronts are some 20 degrees less. Slowing down lowers temps. I am sure at higher temps the rubber is more prone to damage.
Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 21:01
Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 21:01
Thanks for your feedback, Bob,
I normally drive quite sedately(being an old fella who is not in a hurry) and nurse the truck along. It would be interesting to see what the weight difference is between front and rear of vehicle. Apart from fuel and
water I carry a light load. I tend to want to think that with the diesel engine and winch etc over front it may be heavier than the load in the rear. You are right however to say that lug tyres will sustain more damage because of their configuration. The
Birdsville Track has a very rough surface in
places and must do some damage to the tyres.
Reply By: pathfinder - Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 08:57
Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 08:57
Try Goodyear MTRs next time - quite amazing on rough rocky roads - barely a hint of damage and absolutely no chipping/torn lugs... They actually make you a bit lazy in not bothering so much about reduced tyre pressures and speed on dirt...
Follow Up By: warthog - Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 14:57
Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 14:57
I was considerring mt/rs as
well, until I spoke to a copper from
yuendumu comm on the Tanami the other day. The mt/rs on his patrol cage car (paddy wagon) had done 20,000 mostly dirt k's. The front weren't too bad bot the rear were chipped to buggery and just about rooted. Thinking about bfg a/ts for the patrol now.
Cheers Chris.
Follow Up By: pathfinder - Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 15:11
Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 15:11
how often do you have the weight of 10 people in the back of your Patrol ;)
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 15:22
Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 15:22
Having had BFG, Simex, adn MTR's for road work, next set will also be MTR's.. brilliant tire
Follow Up By: warthog - Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 18:03
Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 18:03
Truckster, I have duellers on at the moment and seem to be ok but not the best for grip. Did you find the BFG at no good? The wife whinges about me spending money on the car I was hoping for a bit more grip plus longevity (maybe asking alot), would you say the mtrs are better than bfg?
Follow Up By: Wetty (W.A) - Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 20:10
Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 20:10
I wouldn't put BFG's on a wheelbarrow. . . . . . Wrecked a set in 2000k's on dirt and sent them back to Goodrich with a "please explain" attatched. Still no word on what the problem was. The tread had sepparated from the centre of the tyre and lugs were coming off in my hands at
Meekatharra.
Haven't had any experience with MT's but have had good runs out of Cooper Discoverer A/T's
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 14:21
Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 14:21
Like a piece of string on the BFG's.. lots of fans that it wouldnt matter how good or bad they were that they would be "THE BEST"..
If i could get the older MT's Pre KM, I probably would consider it.
The MTR's are IMO, the best all round tire there is... Wont last as long as a HT or AT on the tar, but will work in the dry/wet on road and offroad
well.
Wetty is having a good run out of his
coopers, others here have had nightmare runs with them too.. I dont know one tire on the market that has beenposted here on this or other forums that have a "THE BEST" AND "WOULDNT TOUCH AGAIN" fan club.
Tires are a 100% lottery. Find something you are happy with and stick with them.
Follow Up By: warthog - Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 15:24
Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 15:24
Thanks truckster maybe i should just stick with the duellers, 80% worn and still havent had a
puncture.
Reply By: Moose - Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 13:40
Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 13:40
G'day Willem
I have STTs now, and have had them before. Never had any lugs break off completely despite some fairly decent 4WDing. There is one with a chunck missing but given what they've done that isn't surprising. I just rang the wife and asked her to
check for any small cracks on surface between lugs because I couldn't remember seeing any. She says there are none. My tyres have covered about 20,000 kms. If you were fully loaded the weight would be over the rear more than the front so I guess some wear marks on the rear would be expected, but over that distance it shouldn't be much. On a trip to the
Kimberley once my new tyres (not STTs) were severely worn on the rear, but with the two rows of seats occupied by the family it meant that I had heaps of weight over the back - I guess I should have rotated them before heading
home. With my STTs I usually only run 32 psi on the tar and drop down to 24 or so off road (but really depends on the road condition). Hope you have a successful outcome. I am considering a second set of bitumen only tyres - how do you find the Kellys?
Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 20:33
Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 20:33
Hi Moose
Initially I had a heavy load on the truck as I had to carry some jerriesdon the roof rack but overall the weight on this last trip was kept to a minimum. I did do quite a bit of gibber country and that would probably account for the cuts in the tyres.
The Kelly's came with the GQ when I bought it. They are very hard tyres and easy to squeal on the bitumen, raising eyebrows including
mine. I would say that they are about 50% worn and should give a few more k's. They are OK for an on road tyre I suppose. Inc identally I see that Kelly give 85,000 guarantee on their tyres. No sure if there are conditions though. Thee is no guarantee on the STT's
I run my tyres at 32psi on bitumen and 28psi on dirt and down to 15 in heavy sand conditions.
Reply By: geocacher (djcache) - Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 23:48
Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 23:48
Hi Willem,
I have a set of ST's on my dual cab and on the next 10k service after they were put on (so less than 10,000km) I am missing a lug on the inside of one of my rears. I haven't looked for cracks but my mechanic's pretty thorough and he hasn't commented.
I haven't been in the gibber country either, Toolangi in the wet, the Wonnangatta back in April and a very wet trip in the Strathbogies.
Haven't asked the dealer yet but suppose I should.
I figured maybe they grabbed on something after a bit of slip and ripped it off.
Follow Up By: geocacher (djcache) - Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 23:49
Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 23:49
Wasn't overloaded either and the ST's meet the load index for the ute.
Follow Up By: geocacher (djcache) - Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 23:00
Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 23:00
Just posting follow up for above.
Same problem on my ST's (less than 10,000km)
Had a look yesterday and as
well as the lug being ripped off, lots and lots of cracks and chipping. Several lugs at risk of ripping of.
Off to see the dealer this week..
Reply By: Member - Ruth D (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 13:13
Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 13:13
Yes, Willem, I did miss your other Post but have just read it. Wow, what fun, should have gone with you and Uncle (would've been better than work) especially watching you float down the creek - and seeing all the EO people as
well.
What adventures.
Reply By: mitch - Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 16:15
Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 16:15
Seeing as the damage is on the rear only it may be the front tyres thoughing up stones and /or disturbing the road so the rears cop a rougher path
Regards Mitch
Reply By: Earvin Johnson - Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 12:05
Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 12:05
Hi Willem,
I have just returned from our trip in which we covered most of the same territory as yourself. Ruth told me you were out and about so I kept a look out but to no avail.
I have had similar problems with my new ST's. There is considerable chipping on the rear tyres and one lug has completely ripped off and a couple of others which have started to tear at the bottom of the lug.
I will be off to see my tyre dealer tomorrow to voice my concerns.
Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 00:08
Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 00:08
Hi Willem
Just a bit of a follow up on the Tyre chipping issue you raised on this post.
I was in ARB Northern today and got into an interesting discussion with another customer who was in the store about this issue.
He owned a Nissan tray 4.2 with Cooper STT's on it.
He had just returned from a trip around the three corners,
Birdsville, Innaminka etc and had experienced exactly the same problems as you and me with my BFG AT's for that matter, his tyres were virtually new before the trip and he was not a happy camper considering the state they were in on return.
Other trucks in his group had MTR's and BFG's and faired just the same.
His view was the same as
mine, the Gibbers break up under the wheels and are a sharp as $hit, they tried playing with pressures, did not seem to make a difference to the chipping and cutting issue.
People who post on here saying they have no problems with these issues have not driven on Gibberd outback roads is my view.
High country rocky tracks, dirt tracks, mud tracks don't seem to have the same affect. It the Gibbers.
As previously said by me I have seen the same problem on all brands.
I don't have an answer for the cure, it would seem to be the price we pay for driving in these conditions.
I would be interested in any answer that Cooper or BFG or any other manufacturer would provide.
Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 19:27
Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 19:27
Yeah, the Gibber is pretty tough on tyres and I drove a fair deal on gibber along
Walkers Crossing Track and elsewhere.
I have left the tyres at the tyre
shop for the Cooper rep to have a look at. I would like to have comments in writing from them. I am not after anything really except to find out what the manufacturer says of its product and if they are going to make a better product in the future.
Funny thing is I never had this problem with skinny's.
Follow Up By: geocacher (djcache) - Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 22:59
Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 22:59
Just posting follow up for above.
Same problem on my ST's (less than 10,000km)
Had a look yesterday and as
well as the lug being ripped off, lots and lots of cracks and chipping. Several lugs at risk of ripping of.
Off to see the dealer this week..
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 23:15
Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 23:15
Dave and Willem let us know what the Cooper man says.
Interested to know how they explain it, probably the same excuse BFG would use.