Turbo 1hz

Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 23:53
ThreadID: 16827 Views:5476 Replies:5 FollowUps:4
Hi I have just purchased a2nd hand std 100 series and fitted gxl seats, carpet, consol & Wheels (I Know Why Not Buy A GXL?-- I Like Barn Doors) and have been looking a round at after market turbo kits and may be intercoolers.I will be towing a Camper trailer & tinny about 1.5 tonnes all up.
Has anybody had experience with this
-is it worth it(power wise)
-does it put extra stress on the engine(if so what goes wrong)
-hows the fuel consumption

Andy

Reply By: CraigQ - Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 12:44

Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 12:44
I have a 2001 std wagon and fitted a MTQ(Formally known as Dynamic) turbo system about 6 months ago. Cost $3100 fitted, time taken 2 days. No troubles yet and I have done about 20000km.

While I have noted an increase in power (86.4kw at the rear wheels up from about 50 kw), mainly when towing, I am not totally satisfied with the dollar value of the increase. Saying that I am still running the factory exhaust system and about 8-9 pound boost which is probably restricting the turbo a bit and affecting power.

I am looking at getting some work done for $1900 at Brisbane tuning and turbos(similar to what Chris had done on a GU) and getting a 3 inch mandrel bent exhaust, injector and pump service, mods to the turbo and wastegate as well as a few other bits and peices which will see about a 25-30% further increase.

Fuel economy has not suffered, if anything it has improved when towing.

A question for you,
Did the GXL seats fit straight in with no mods?
Was the console from a GXL? and this fit in without any mods to the lower dash?
How much would I be looking at for the seats and console?

Craig
AnswerID: 79064

Follow Up By: Andy (S.A.) - Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 18:56

Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 18:56
Thanks Craig
The front seats fitted straight in cost about $1200 with consol . I am in the prosess of modifing the top gear lever surround & boot due to the gear levers being further towards the dash. The rear seat needed a bit of hammer work & drilling but not much due to it being 60/40 split tilt anchor points. all up cost just under 2k.
I'll see how I go with the consol if it turns out ok may take a mould.
All the bits where out of a gxl
Andy
FollowupID: 338548

Follow Up By: Member - DOZER- Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 19:09

Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 19:09
You will never be TOTALLY happy with the power of a 1hz, turboing it is good value for money,as it makes them more driveable, so would be putting a replacement hotdog where the big cannon muffler is make an improvement that was worthwhile for the outlay. But doing a complete exhaust wont get you much more than the muffler replacement.
Intercooling will get more, but at what cost....for the extra??
Best conversion i have seen came from an 80 series... 95-98 factory turbo multivalve motor fits straight in with gearbox and transfer....heaps more power/torque/gearbox is twice the strength as the 1hz 100 series r151 prado gearbox, and your 1hz/gearbox is worth heaps as a runner to resell or trade in on the original jap import motor.
If you could get that motor for 12k, and sell yours for 6k, you would have a factory turbo 100 without the limitations of a independant front end for 6k plus fitting. long way around, but it is common for the turbo 1hz 105's to have gearbox woes at around 200k kms that cost 2k to fix...namely 3rd gear synchros.
FollowupID: 338552

Reply By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 12:50

Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 12:50
Gday Andy,

See my post 16437.

Obviously, I don't run a 100 series, but ran a naturally aspirated GQ pushing 33's and 4 inch lift with goodies. When towing a camper weighing in at 1t and the tinny and motor topping it at around the same as yours, boy could you feel it!

I have responded to alot of these questions of late, and do not consider myself to be an expert by any means!

However, you will be told alot of different things by different companies. Of course, whoever you talk to do it better.

For a 4.2 donk, you want a turbo, the right injectors, 3 inch exhaust, boost around 10-12psi, a pre and post dyno report and the tune (fuel increase and/or decrease) done in accordance with the dyno.

With boost comes the need for more fuel, and with more fuel comes heat. With heat comes concern and if not treated right, replacement engines, turbos etc (and angry wives!).

E.G.T's (Engine Gas Temps) are important to measure as I've noticed with the GU that the motor stays cool and the gases get really hot as in 600 degrees. That is a lot of heat!

So, some may say 7 psi is enough, if you decide to run a truck at that, see what you think. If it still feels like a slug, power it up! I ran 80,000k's on the GQ TD42 running at 12psi with moded pump etc with no probs. However, you will need to improve the quality of the oil to stand the higher op. temps.

Fuel, on the GQ, I lost a kilometer per litre. On the GU, I've gained nearly a k/l. But more than likely because of the restrictions on newer motors for environmental protection.

As for intercoolers, you will get quoted 15% increase, but is it worth another 16kw for 2k?

Hope that helps!

Chris.
AnswerID: 79065

Reply By: Andy (S.A.) - Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 18:59

Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 18:59
Thanks Chris
Ive Heard About EGT did you run a boost compinsator on the fuel pump?

Cheers Andy
AnswerID: 79107

Follow Up By: Ian from Thermoguard Instruments - Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 09:22

Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 09:22
Hi Andy,

"did you run a boost compinsator on the fuel pump?" - This is the second time I've read recently on this forum something that implies that some aftermarket turbo suppliers are able to 'add' a boost compensator [also known as an aneroid or manifold pressure compensator] to existing injection pumps. Do you have any more info on this? I'm not up on the aftermarket turbo market - my Discovery 300Tdi is factory turboed and intercooled.

The injection pump I'm most familair with is the Bosch VE-type distributor pump [also manufactured under licence by Nippon Denso, Diesel Kiki and numerous others, for the Japanese market]. In a VE pump on a turbo-charged engine, the boost compensator is an integral part of the pump housing and governor mechanism. If possible at all, converting a non-compensated pump to have a boost compensator would be horrifically expensive.

So, does anyone know whether the aftermarket suppliers have some way of 'adding' a boost compensator? Or do they just replace the whole pump?
FollowupID: 338619

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 12:49

Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 12:49
Gday mate,

Nope, the fuel pump on the patrol is suffice to run 12 psi.

The compensator I'm pretty sure is an aneroid that piggy backs on the fuel pump allowing more fuel in than the standard jobby. They are however very expensive.

Chris.
FollowupID: 338653

Reply By: Croozer - Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 21:51

Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 21:51
Andy,
I have since sold it, but I fitted a Denco turbo kit to my 1hz DX 80 series a few years ago. The kit included a Schwitzer turbo & replacement mandrel bent exhaust, and was well worth it IMHO. I towed a Kimberley camper with ease, spent most of the time in 5th gear (running 285's) and it did not adversely effect fuel economy. I think it cost me around $2600 at the time.

Stu
AnswerID: 79129

Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 00:07

Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 00:07
Andy - email me at krobbo@optusnet.com.au and I'll supply you with R&D feedback re same mod over past 2-3 years.

AnswerID: 79155