Trip Planning

Submitted: Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 12:32
ThreadID: 16835 Views:2660 Replies:10 FollowUps:5

I need some help planning a trip.

I'm 22 and getting married in February 2005, we are then planning the relocate from here (adelaide) to perth(which is where SWMBO is from) in July-August 2005.

Then I got to thinking, seeing as tho I'm chucking in my job and moving halfway around the country, why not make a trip out of it.
So we're thinking 3-6 months away and we've been saving like mad.
We are thinking of going up thru the centre, darwin, kimberleys, and down the west coast.

I've based my budget on the $100/day rule but to be on the safe side I'd like to get some work to extend the trip a little and just in case I run into trouble with the hilux.

Where is a good place to register for seasonal work or is it best to ask around when you land in a spot?

I'd like a CT but only have around $5000 to spend, I guess second hand would be the way to go? Are there any cheap newies out there?

I'd also like any tips on good spots to see on the way and places to stay.

Brad

Reply By: Des Lexic - Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 13:37

Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 13:37
You young blokes have all the luck.
Just a couple of observations. I think in today's climate, your $100 per day may be a bit light on. Leaving in Feb and heading north, your taking on Summer at it's fiercest and then as you get further up, the wet will start to cause problems with possible road closures etc let alone the humidity levels that can be very draining.
As far as picking up work along the way, most major towns have employment offices and they would know what casual work is around. Apart from them, the back packer hostels are a wealth of information on casual work and where to go to find it.
Tips on good things to see and places to stay would take days to enter here. Go to the local tourist offices and sort out the expensive crap to what's to see and do and just go and do it.
Most importantly, have fun while your doing it.
AnswerID: 79073

Follow Up By: Member - Spook (SA) - Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 13:44

Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 13:44
Thanks for your comments Des.
I'll have a good hard look at the budget again before we set off.
I had actually thought about the weather and sorry I didn't make it clear, we are prob heading off in around July - August so that would be better yes?
Thanks for the tips on work prospects I'll look into those.
Brad
FollowupID: 338499

Follow Up By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 17:49

Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 17:49
Gday Spook,we were away for three month last year and planned on $100/Day.There was four of us ,two kids 4 and 5,and until the last week we were pretty close to budget.The last week it poured with rain and we stayed in cabins(really blew it).We planned for two years for that trip and took two large containers of pasta/rice type dry food for camping out,brought up big on film for cameras,etc and hunted down the cheapest parks when we stayed in them.Heading off next year to and hope that the $100/day is still pretty close.Its hard but can be done.Good luck Nick
FollowupID: 338540

Reply By: Member - Peter (1) - Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 13:55

Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 13:55
G'day Spook,
You are definately making the right move, coming to the West. As above, $100 a day may be a bit light on especially the cost of fuel nowadays.
Travelling around July/August you may get some seasonally work, check out this web site: www.jobsearch.gov.au/harvesttrail. It gives what harvesting jobs are available around Australia, thats if you interested in picking fruit and vegetables or other farm type work.
Hope this helps as I only found out about this site the other day and haven't checked it out throughly yet.

It doesn't get any better than this!!!
Peter (1)

AnswerID: 79076

Follow Up By: Member - Spook (SA) - Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 14:07

Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 14:07
Thanks Peter
The west is a really nice place, which is why it wasn't hard for SWMBO to twist my arm.
That site looks fantastic for my purposes, that's the sort of work I'm after.
Brad
FollowupID: 338503

Reply By: Nigel (WA) - Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 14:25

Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 14:25
Hi Spook

Glad to see a another young fella on www.exploroz.com, i am 23 and getting engaged very soon and already live in perth.

Funny thing is i am chucking my job also, doing it as we speak to work away at Tom Price as a rigger a 5 and 1 roster.

As everyone and said $100 a day is light,i reckon about $150 is min and $300 is max .

There is loads of work in the country for farm hands, as i have just spoken to my girlfriend who is a farm girl hehehehe.

Hope everything goes well for yah adn yah have a safe journey

AnswerID: 79079

Reply By: Kimberly Kruiser - Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 14:41

Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 14:41
G'day BRAD
Half ya luck buddy.
$100 a day might be stretching it a bit I think these days. Did the same myself a couple of years back and well a truly blew the budget. A bit of roadside and free camping can help but theres still always fuel and the need to eat. As for what to see, that depends on what your own "thing" is but theres heaps and the local
tourist bureaus are a good source. There is a Free Cooks Tours booklet available that covers from Alice Springs around to Perth called the "Amazing North" which
with our copy of Camps Australia Wide proved invaluable. Try www.campsaustraliawide.com.
I didn't look for work on my trip but it seemed that most places we went to there was always something on the go.
I'm now living in Kununurra having relocated ( from south of WA) after our big trip,(they say once you drink from the Ord you will return) and there always seems to be plenty of casual work available around town if you dont mind what you do.
Theres nothing wrong with a second hand camper trailer. Get something in reasonable condition, look after it and you'll probably get back what you paid for it if your looking to get rid of it when your finnished.
Half ya luck, just kick back once ya get going and enjoy.
AnswerID: 79081

Follow Up By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 18:06

Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 18:06
Gday Mate,top spot your living in.We spent 10 days there last year and loved the place.Always said that if/when we moved we'd move there.We're heading back up there next year after doing the GRR and might check out job prospects/rent while there.Enjoy the Sunshine Nick
FollowupID: 338544

Follow Up By: Kimberly Kruiser - Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 19:47

Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 19:47
G'day NICK. Yeah is a top spot to live in, never tire of the ranges and the ability to be out in the scrub and away from it all in three and a half minutes.
As I said to Brad there seems to be plently of work but the rental costs and availability here are horrendous.
I'm lucky, wife has a job that comes with a house and I'm at Argyle Diamond Mine, two weeks on, two weeks off so we have the ability to tour a couple of times a year in one of the best back yards around.
Enjoy the GIBB, sure you will. Maybe the rental prospects may change by then.
Regards WAL
FollowupID: 338556

Reply By: gonebush - Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 14:53

Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 14:53
Spook,

Congratulations for Feb 05.

I must agree with the comments above re budget. You can only live on the fruits of love for so long so I think, from experience, $200 pw would be a good starting point remembering that the cost of living is a lot higher where you will be going . If you need to stay in a Caravan Park in the towns where you work then that'll be close to $100pw for a start.

There are plenty of places to bush camp along the way to keep costs down. This is an area to research thoroughly.

Regarding work, try these sites as well:

http://www.workaboutaustralia.com.au/

http://www.workingholidays.com.au/

Larry

AnswerID: 79084

Reply By: Willem - Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 21:21

Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 21:21
Mate,

There always workmout in the bush if you are willing. Alice Springs and Kununurra are good places to pick up a seasonal job. You'll be right. If you spend your $100 a day on fuel you'll stay pretty skinny while travelling. Anyway when one is first married one seems to survive on love and water...hahahaha
AnswerID: 79124

Reply By: Richard & Leonie - Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 22:16

Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 22:16
My brother-in-Law is looking for a cook and roustabout on Bradshaw station in the NT. A husband and wife team is prefered. Paid something like $150 a day and all found and you could get some helicopter rides out to the work they are doing setting up communications on an Army firing range. If you are interested send me a member email and I will give you his email address. No previous experience necessary but must be able to cook good plain food. Roustabout has to help cook, fuel helicopters, keep place clean and generally help out.
AnswerID: 79134

Reply By: Wizard1 - Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 09:02

Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 09:02
Spook,
AnswerID: 79181

Reply By: Member - Spook (SA) - Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 09:18

Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 09:18
Thanks for your replies,
You have all been a wealth of information and given us some things to think about.
Brad
AnswerID: 79185

Reply By: Draff & Pand - Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 08:27

Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 08:27
Hi Spook,

Firstly you'll have the most amazing time out there - there is so much to see and the travelling is wonderful!

We are only slightly older than you guys and just got back from 7 weeks away travelling up the center, through the Kimberley and down the West Coast then back across the Nullabor to cold Melbourne. (yes we know it was a long way in 7 weeks and we did miss some things but we still enjoyed getting out there and getting an overview and now we know where we want to go back to!!).

In case it helps for 2 adults camping with a Patrol we spent the following:
$4K fuel & servicing (we do our own services)
$600 accommodation (camping sites - some nights were free bush camps)
$1700K extra - tours, helicoper flights over Mitchell falls, cruise around Kimberley coast etc.
Food ?? - we didn't keep track as we figured we eat this anyway but we didn't go out much, cooked our own in camp - can't find a restaurant that beats a comfy camp chair and a view of those beautiful stars!

So that's about $130 per day not including food but you would be able to reduce the fuel & servicing costs as obviously you will cover the same distance in 6 months instead of 6 weeks!

Our favourite places were:
- the Bungle Bungles - well worth the trip in (in fact that was one of the best bits!) and the scenery was amazing - very good vibe to the place too and great camp sites
- Mitchell Plateau - the most road we came across but we expected that and I think partly because of that the people camped in there were friendly and it was possibly the best part of the trip for us. Drysdale River Station is a great place to stay on the way up or back from Mitchell Plateau - great people, great bush bar and great food! Mitchell falls is spectacular and defintely treat yourselves to a helicoper flight.
- Cape Range National Park - on the coast near Exmouth, fantastic park $10 per site per night and the cleanest toliets we found, our site was 10m from a gorgeous white sand beach with turquoise waters. We saw whales breaching over the outer reef and turtles and dolphins. It is a truely magic place. We stayed at Osprey Bay camp ground which we think was the best spot. If your budget gets stretched you can follow the beach run (trek notes on this site) and there are camp sites for nothing or very little if they're on Ningaloo station land further south out of the national park.

Hope that helps! And I'm very envious - wish we were still out there!
AnswerID: 79332