Okay, so how do YOU manage...

Submitted: Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 22:47
ThreadID: 16849 Views:2961 Replies:5 FollowUps:10
... to dry out your BIG tents?

I mean, like my small Microfast MI4, it's easy, just erect it on the Table Tennis table, under the verandah.

Coleman Overlander, just sort of throw it over all of the clothes lines under the verandah.

Swag, same as Coleman.

Now, what about a framed tent, like the Black Wolf Turbo? I want to get the underside of the floor dry. Owners of other framed tents, such as the Oztent, may have a really cool way of doing this.

I'm sure it's really simple........ but the solution eludes me at present......

Wolf with wet Black Wolf.......wondering what we will work with when wet wolves wish Wednesday was windy........ whoa...... what a lot of W's.........

Reply By: Des Lexic - Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 22:52

Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 22:52
eat lots of prunes and create lots of warm wind. i.e. windy wolf.
I hear there is a nice breeze at the top of Skytrek anyway. Just keep out of the ruts.
AnswerID: 79141

Follow Up By: Lone Wolf - Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 23:02

Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 23:02
... I see you've spoken to Andrew & Jen....

Basically, I'm a silly bugger. But I got through, and I went straight to the office and handed them back the key, and bought a Sky Trek Badge, Fridge Magnet, and 2 Stickers...... 'cause I earned 'em the hard way!!! LOL!!!

Ya know, the funniest thing.......

When you eventually get to the top of Mount Canarvon, there is this new CDMA phone tower up there, and you see everyone with there hands to their ears, walking around, speaking to themselves!!

Tracy called Mark at home, and when she had finished, she says.." Wow!! The reception is clear......." Duh!!!
FollowupID: 338583

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 23:35

Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 23:35
the stirrer is sitting along side me at the moment setting up my moving maps system and still causing trouble
FollowupID: 338589

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 23:09

Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 23:09
Stick it up in the front yard, dry all but the base, and wipe the base with a towel as you fold it...

usually hour or 2 in the sun drys our SCross tent well
AnswerID: 79148

Follow Up By: Member - Cocka - Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 07:24

Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 07:24
Your right T, but leave it sit on the verandah for a while before finally sticking it back in the bag, just to let last little bit of moisture evap.

After our last trip gave the OzTent a hose down, left it up to dry, then turned it on it's side to see how the bottom was. I knew we had a couple of spikes from those "cats eye bindies", you know those big mothers that sit there with one point poking up in the air, dangerous enough to go through the bottom of y' thongs.

Well, when I got inside the tent to look through the bottom against the daylight it was like a stary night in the Simpson. Couldn't believe it. Guess it was the badges of honour from so many camps.

BTW we always throw down a big mat of Sarlon (shade cloth stuff) under and in front of the OT. Fixed the major holes with the Gaffa, well you don't see it do ya, it's on the bottom.
FollowupID: 338605

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 08:57

Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 08:57
Shade cloth is something I looked at at the caravan show the other day, $35mtr :(

But then the Scross dude is doign deals on it, so wanna get enough to cover under tent AND outside into the annexe..
FollowupID: 338612

Follow Up By: flappan - Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 09:03

Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 09:03
$35 a metre for shadecloth . . .

Gold Plated Truckster . . .

I bought a HEAP of shadecloth at $7 a metre from Clints Crazy Bargins. Its the 70% stuff , not the better , but more expensive 90% shadeclooth.

Your only putting the stuff on the ground.

I use 90% shadecloth for the Walls of my CT.
FollowupID: 338615

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 11:07

Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 11:07
Thats exactly what I though! $35 Mars Rock not gold...

As ya say, it doesnt need to be Gold, its to walk on and keep crap out of tent!

SCross were doing $100 for enough to completely do under the tent and awning.. will check the clints stuff, what suburb did ya get yours?
FollowupID: 338636

Follow Up By: flappan - Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 11:16

Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 11:16
I got mine in Canberra , but most of those Cheapo type places, Clints, The Warehouse , Reject Shop etc , sell the cheap Shadecloth.

I bought about 5 Metres of 3.6m wide stuff at about $9 a metre (enough to do the CT and Awning (14ft wide) , and I bought about 5 or 6 metres of 1.8m wide for about $7 a metre (use that for kids tents and stuff).

I dont even think I paid $35 a metre for my Coloured 90% shadecloth for the Walls ?

I think it was around $20 a metre or so.

I DO have some of that Caravan Floor , non slip matting , THATS expensive . . . but that was given to me.
FollowupID: 338637

Follow Up By: Member - Cocka - Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 11:17

Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 11:17
Check Bunnings. Different qualities - colours - widths & prices. Gives you the choice.
FollowupID: 338638

Follow Up By: Wombat - Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 11:33

Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 11:33
Truckster,

When you're heading up the Hume on your way to Wagga Wagga there is a second hand & seconds building supply place on the LHS about 2km from the Western Revenue Road and I'm pretty sure they have shade cloth at $5 per metre. I'll check the price on the way home tonight if you like.
FollowupID: 338643

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 23:57

Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 23:57
Damn, didnt see ya reply wombat till tonight... :-s
FollowupID: 338945

Reply By: Member - Ivan (ACT) - Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 07:46

Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 07:46
Depends on the weather mate - if it's good, I spread it out 'face up', and then when dry, turn it over and dry the floor in the same way.

If the weather is sus (or you live in Melbourne ;-) then I hang it in the garage on four hooks I have mounted - leave it there for a day or two - no worries with rain or dew...
AnswerID: 79167

Reply By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 07:57

Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 07:57
Usually with a flame thrower...

Mate, I had a wierd tip given to me the other day. You can try all you want for days to dry a tent, but when you go to put it up again, you'll be wondering what the smell is. Aparently it takes weeks for canvas to fully dry. If you sprinkle scented baby powder over the tent as you fold it up, it will absorb any moisture and leave your tent smelling...well kinda nice when you go to use it again.

Chris.
AnswerID: 79170

Reply By: Lone Wolf - Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 09:05

Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 09:05
Okay, thankyou all.

I have told Tracy all of the different ways, and she just looked at me all blank like.....

I think it's THE LOOK!!

You know, the one that means I have to do it........

Wolfie
AnswerID: 79182