terrano advice on suspension???

Submitted: Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 23:51
ThreadID: 16852 Views:2691 Replies:4 FollowUps:0
Hi everyone! Can someone point me in direction of a good suspension workshop in S.E. parts of Melbourne since I'm looking at upgrading my suspension (orriginal one is tottaly gone it's like no shocks at all, torsion bars are maxed out and front end is SINKING!!). Also a brand reccommendation would be appreciated!! Looking at putting some bigger rubber when the time comes, what is the biggest tire diametar that you can legally fit on to 16 inch rims?

Many thanx!!!

Reply By: Member - Browny (VIC) - Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 14:42

Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 14:42
DT,

Toperformance in Vermont are the Koni dealer, I've dealt with them as have a few of my mates, they give plenty of advice and options, and even point you in the right direction if they can't help.
Worth a call I reckon

Toperformance
2 Trade Place
Vermont
9873 1722
AnswerID: 79222

Reply By: theshadows - Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 15:26

Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 15:26
I cannot help you with a workshop....
Torsion bars you got a couple of choices from the pathfinder boys.Becareful of going up to hight as you can destroy the CV boots very quickly.You might want to see if you can drop the front diff using spacers?
Remember legally tou can only go up 15mm on the recomended tyres on your tyre placard for road use. Dont worry to much on that considering that the Jap placards are only stickers so grab a white sticker a bit of photo shop work and nobody will know the difference.

I run maxxis 31-10.5 15s I find it is really over tyred and ill drop it down to 275s.
My placard donst let me run 16 inch wheels {yet} so I cannot help you there but 275 -16s I think would be about right. If you run a larger tyre then I would think that a body lif would be in order.
AnswerID: 79230

Reply By: mr diamond - Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 20:03

Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 20:03
gday mate.
when i lived in melbourne the only people i would lket do my suspention work was suspention city in north melbourne.
im going back over 10 years ago but they knew what they were doing.
now im in bendigo i only use pedders stuff now.
AnswerID: 79274

Reply By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 07:42

Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 07:42
Dragan,

TJM dandenong did a good job on my Jerry Can. Talk to Rick Reeves, he is the Manager and is also a qualified mechanic. Some of the blokes who work for him are not as knowledgeable (he was able to do things others said weren't possible).

Good luck with your projects.
AnswerID: 79326