You're not putting those in MY fridge...

Submitted: Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 12:03
ThreadID: 16860 Views:3004 Replies:10 FollowUps:10
... says the big brave wolf to Tracy.............
Fridges are meant for alcohol......... put the fruit & veg in an esky........
Well, we did, but it didn't keep that well. So, Tracy = 1 Wolfie = 0
What is the best way to cart vegies? Cardboard boxes? Bags?

Oh, she still likes me, 'cause I washed the esky out 10 minutes ago............

Wolfie

PS .......... had a quick look in seach, cause I'm sure it's all been done........... but nothing of any great relevance come up.

Reply By: Vince NSW - Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 12:17

Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 12:17
Good arvo Wolfie,
We have found that the fridge is not a good place to keep the fruit & veg (other than tommartoes), Have found that a lot of the veg freez well above 0 deg. This is at good beer temp, say 3 -4 deg.
We have found that if we pack the veg in a styrene box that fruit come in with news paper packing to stop the bits bashing together, it keeps well for the trip. We do not put a lid on the box as the veg tends to sweat.
Vince
AnswerID: 79207

Reply By: Baz (NSW) - Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 12:41

Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 12:41
Hey Big W, hey Vince, what Vince says is good those containers vegies come in from the warehouse are the best and the idea is to keep them cool (bit like yourself) not cold, the vegies i mean. Cardboard and paper are the go sweat less, thats why mushies are packed in brown paper.

Baz
AnswerID: 79209

Follow Up By: Patrol22 (Queanbeyan - Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 18:00

Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 18:00
Yep but the only problem is that they tend to squeak a lot and drive you nuts.
FollowupID: 338681

Reply By: mr diamond - Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 12:46

Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 12:46
what are vegies and why would you take them on hollidays any way.lol
AnswerID: 79211

Follow Up By: Vince NSW - Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 15:21

Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 15:21
The vegies need to see some of Aus just like the rest of us
FollowupID: 338662

Follow Up By: flappan - Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 15:37

Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 15:37
But not all veges and fruit can . . . (Fruit Fly areas).

Get rid of the things , cause they space they take up , is room for another carton . . .
FollowupID: 338667

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 16:21

Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 16:21
Thanks for the Laugh vince.. Very funny. You really cant beat a pie and a cold beer!!!!
FollowupID: 338670

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 16:23

Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 16:23
OOooppppps , Mr Diamond i mean,,,,
FollowupID: 338671

Follow Up By: motherhen - Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 00:22

Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 00:22
To Mr Diamond (with apologies to Mr Wolf for hijacking his thread) - I am with Westnet both at home and two work places. Have found them the best; very prompt and thorough support service. Have had them on the phone (freecall number - their expense) for half an hour or so helping talk me through a problem which was not even Westnet's fault. Great people. They are also i think the only ISP that puts $s back into the community. I work at a local community run Telecentre, and for everyone who connects to Westnet with a start up disc from us, they give us 10% of their takings - a great way of supporting technology in the rural areas. Would you like me to send you a free start up disc? Reply to this follow up if you would. Like most opening deals - comes with up to 200 free hours in first month. Motherhen
FollowupID: 338731

Reply By: Garbutt - Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 15:27

Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 15:27
We use foam eskies, pick them up free from wife's work, then use paper towels to sparate different type of veg or individually wrap if on really rough tracks, then keep the esky in a shady part of the car, they then seem to keep as well as they do at home.
AnswerID: 79231

Reply By: Member Eric - Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 15:41

Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 15:41
put your veg in a sealed plastic contaner , then pot it in the fridge

AnswerID: 79234

Reply By: Des Lexic - Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 16:14

Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 16:14
Wolfie, If they have won you over with the styrene foam box bit, here is a couple of tips. Tracey will get cranky with the constant irritating noise that the foam makes when it rubs against anything. Solution. Get some material (the dress making type) and cut it out to cover the foam box. Then glue it with PVA glue to the foam box and no more sqeaking. It also makes the foam box a lot stronger.
Result Tracey=1 Wolfie delivers fresh vegies to tracey =1 Wolfie is a hero again =1
Final result Tracey =1 Wolfie =2 Bonus, Wolfie gets to drive Tracey's car again.
AnswerID: 79246

Reply By: Member - Melissa - Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 17:52

Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 17:52
Shock, horror! Most of you guys are way off LOL. Firstly, an esky is one of the worst places to keep fruit & veg as it doesn't allow it to breath. F&V actually gives off gases as it ripens and trapping these in a container or bag will actually speed up the ripening process. And there is absolutely no need to take up valuable fridge space with F&V...it'll keep for weeks stored wrapped in newspaper in a cardboard box (or other breathable container) and stored out of direct sunlight. Just ask your grandparents, or parents depending on your age, what they used to do before fridges became a household item.

Anyway, I've got some fairly detailed info on the whole food storage suject on my website, then click on the link Food Storage in the LHS menu. Surprizingly, this is the page that gets the most positive feedback from visitors.

:o) Melissa
AnswerID: 79255

Follow Up By: mr diamond - Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 18:00

Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 18:00
hi melissa.
hope you are well .havnt seen you around much you been on hollidays again lol.
away from the post i noticed you are using west net for your internet.
how do you find the service from them.we about to change from i primus and was thinking about west net.
thank you very much.
FollowupID: 338682

Follow Up By: Member - Melissa - Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 18:08

Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 18:08
Hi Diamond,

I'm well, thanks for asking. Wish we had been on holidays but alas this is not the case. Since having the bub I just don't have as much time for browsing as I used to. Also seem to be perpetually busy with other projects and the list just gets bigger :-(

I've been with westnet for about a year after giving bigpond the flick following endless problems with them. Happy to say that I've found Westnet very good apart from a period of about 2 weeks some time ago when the average transfer speed was around 26kB instead of 46kB (on a dial up connection). Not sure what the problem was but it was a one-off.

Value wise I found them comparable to most other ISP's but they give me 20MB free personal web space as opposed to most others which which only offered 5 or 10MB.

:o) Melissa
FollowupID: 338685

Follow Up By: troy35 - Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 08:19

Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 08:19
Just to add to the question about westnet I have been with them for over 5 years now. I run a part time computer repair business so have experienced first hand the level of service from many different isp's.
I always reccomend Westnet to anyone who asks what ISP they should use. Their service is excellent, their tech support is great and they ALWAYS phone you back. Plus you get many added extras such as MYFOTO where you can setup an online photo album.
I was on dial up but am now on adsl at 512kb and the speed is fantastic.
FollowupID: 338750

Reply By: motherhen - Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 00:24

Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 00:24
Get two fridges (a car fridge takes up the same room as the esky) - one for the veges and one for the beer! That way you and Tracy can enjoy lots more trips away.
AnswerID: 79315

Reply By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 06:43

Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 06:43
Wolf how was your turbo tent.

AnswerID: 79323

Follow Up By: Lone Wolf - Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 07:45

Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 07:45
Eric......

First impressions only.

Really easy to erect & stow, with 2 people, don't think I'd like to do it on my own, it's a lot of tent for 1 person.

Build quality seems okay. I'm not an expert on tents, but those I have seen, the Turbo seems comparable to mid range tourers.

Wind stability....... don't know. Had perfect weather, so can't even comment on rain proofing.

Overall design...... good, not perfect...... just good. Colour coding of Velcro straps to tie off the knuckles would be a bonus.

We used it for 4 nights in duration at one site. Certainly nice to come home to. Tracy uses a camp stretcher with 2 foam mattresses & I use a swag rolled out on the floor. Between us we had a 1200 x 900 table, which we used for personal washing & storing our nice electronic gadgets. Everything else went on the floor, with plenty of room to spare.

One thing we did do, which we haven't done before, is to lay a rubber backed picnic rug inside the tent. Ours is 2400 x 1800, and it worked a treat, stopped little stones & stuff ruining the floor, 'cause we're not shoes off people, and you simply pick it up, take it out & shake it, and put it back. Nice on bare feet as well.

Eric, all in all, I am happy with it. Tracy is more happy, because she doesn't have to bend anywhere in the tent.

Oh, one thing. In the lessons, it says that it is suggested that the tent is pitched & tied using spring tensioners..... yet none are supplied!

I heeded others warnings about the state of the ground in the Flinders, and made up 10 pegs using 12.0 mm. dia rods at 300 mm. long each. To each one I welded a bent eye of 10 mm. rod on the side 20 mm. down from the top, to which a spring tensioner is permanently attached along with a clip for the guy line.

Money for value? I don't know yet. I paid $860.00 for it, and I'm sure it will serve both of us for a few years with comfort.

That's all I can tell you about it, except that I remember reading a post whereby someone asked if you could use it without the fly. NO.

Wolfie
FollowupID: 338744

Reply By: troy35 - Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 08:31

Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 08:31
I think a lot depends on where your going and the climate your going to be in. Putting vegies in a foam box wont last 5 minutes in the Kimberley especially this time of year and really wouldnt last all that long even in the dry season.
I use my esky for beer as I think it stays colder in an esky.
AnswerID: 79333