Submitted: Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 22:00
Willem
That's what my engine management system kept on telling me in
the desert. Every now and then..beep beep beep....drove us insane. We checked all the fluid levels and all the connections and found no problems but still every now and then beep beep beep. It the end I disabled the engine management system and we had peace.
Yesterday arvo late I was under the truck attaching a tow hitch which was left off when the bullbar was fitted. I touched the winch cable and sparks flew out of the engine compartment. Then I saw what had been the cause of the beeps. The winch power cable had rubbed through on the radiator protection panel underneath and was arcing every so often. How we did not have a dead short and a battery melt down or a fire I do not know. I am just a lucky traveller!
Reply By: Peter 2 - Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 22:10
Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 22:10
Willem I've seen that sort of thing happen a few times over the years, once it caused a vehicle to burn to the ground and the other two it trashed the electrics and she no go anymore ;-))
After I witnessed the first one cremate itself I went down the hardware and bought a couple of metres of clear plastic hose larger than the positive cable to the winch (about 1" ID) and slid it over the cable giving it a very tough shield. I also made sure that the cable (now sheathed in hose) was
well tied down at regular intervals with cable ties to stop it moving.
Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 22:17
Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 22:17
Thanks Peter,
I have a 4by mate staying here from up north and he swears by that crinkly sort of stuff(don't know the name of it) which you also find in newer vehicles. But yes, I will be covering up most of my cables with hoses or the crinkly stuff if I can get hold of some.
Follow Up By: Peter 2 - Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 08:48
Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 08:48
There are a few advantages of the clear plastic over the split tube:
1/ Cheaper and easier to obtain.
2/ Tougher than split tube and much thicker wall.
3/ split tube tends to retain any
water, dust or mud in the 'bumps' that enters it whereas the plastic tube is smooth inside and it runs back out.
4/ Being clear it can be seen through for possible problems.
I always use the clear plastic to protect large cables like winch power leads and also short lengths can be cable tied over hoses etc to provide protection against abrasion.
I use split tube for several normal wires and for added extra wiring.
Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 09:41
Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 09:41
Try some garden hose for high current applications(4 to 0 ga), it's reinforced, waterproof and doesn't kink or break easily. For long runs under the vehicle (to/from second battery, or high current apps) try running the garden hose protected cables in electricians conduit, nicked every 6-8" to take cable ties to stop it rattling, with standard electricians conduit clamps (shaped like a "?") screwed to the chassis. Should be more than enough insulation and protection. I've seen some "bling" audio installations that use similar ideas.
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 10:56
Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 10:56
Just watch what you cover these cables with. Each additional layer of covering reduces the ability of the cable to remove the heat from the cable thereby reducing its current carrying capacity. You wouldne want a meltdown when winching.
Reply By: Rosco - Bris. - Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 22:26
Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 22:26
Hey Willie
Sounds more like you wacked a "Road Runner".
Cheers cob
Follow Up By: Lone Wolf - Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 22:37
Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 22:37
Funny thing is.............
Road Runner vs. Willie Coyote...............
Wolfie
Reply By: Member - Bradley- Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 22:42
Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 22:42
Yep, vibration and chafing can do some marvelous things, on the jets i have seen nylon retainers wear into stainless and titanium tubing, stainless wear into inconell sheet etc. things all materials engineering learning would say isn't possible. The standard plastic insulation on most cables is fairly susceptable to chafing through . The 'crinkly' stuff is known as convoluted or split tubing, just a plastic moulded, not bad though. But, if you want some really good gear - get onto a hydraulic and pnuematic supplier and get some 'spiral-wrap' hose covering, it is a hard abrasion resistant flat coil which wraps around the hose / cable and allows it to move but protects it from abrasion and chafing. You can get it made from teflon, nylon etc. You will see it heaps on earthmoving gear etc. And while you are at it get some soft 'p' clip hose clamps, the aluminium ones with the rubber inserts would be fine, and secure the cables at regular intervals on the body and the bullbar, leaving enough free length between the body and chassis to allow for movement.
Had to be some 'action' on the maiden voyage didn't there !!! cheers mate
Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 22:49
Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 22:49
Thanks for that Bradley
Yeah that was all that went wrong plus I discovered a broken exhaust bracket which I think was broken before the trip. All repaired now. Getting used to the diesel and am quite happy with it.
Reply By: Tim - Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 23:19
Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 23:19
This is an excellent example as to why you should fuse everthing that you can.
Tim
Follow Up By: Peter 2 - Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 08:41
Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 08:41
Nigh on impossible to fuse a power lead for an electric winch. Far too much current and you are introducing a possible fault point.
Follow Up By: Tim - Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 12:42
Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 12:42
Yeah thats why I said everything you can, not everything.
Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 02:46
Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 02:46
Beep Beep, did ya leave the fridge door open and it's about to back over you. LOL.
Serious lucky one mate, It all need to be covered and fixed
well for what we do.
Reply By: Bob of KAOS - Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 08:25
Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 08:25
Willem,
I had a similar experience in the first Disco. Driving along the banks of the Darling the warning lights in the dash kept coming on. After several kms I opened the bonnet after hearing an arcing noise. The Optima cranking battery, being much smaller than the OEM battery, had slid sideways in the battery bay and the positive terminal was touching the clamp. I cut a bit of timber to slot alongside the battery, and like you, I thanked my lucky stars.