Compressors
Submitted: Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 23:42
phil
Does anyone have an Endless Air compressor? Do they represent value for money and give reliability, or am I better going with a 12V compressor?
Reply By: Member Eric - Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 07:23
Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 07:23
Endless air compressor ?
or do you mean endless air
tank ?
Reply By: fozzy - Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 07:31
Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 07:31
phil
they pump out heaps of air and will inflate tyres faster than any of the ones the 4wd shops flog-can even run rattle gun off them if u install
tank on car
if i could get one for td 100 i would
Reply By: Member - DOZER- Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 09:27
Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 09:27
Gday Phil
I made my own from a mitsubishi air cond pump, cost $50. they are thesame as what endless air use and charge 350 for. Other than that, they are excellent compressers, you can air down big tyres and fill them afterwards as fast as u do at the servo....question is do they make a bracket for your motor, and how much??
There is another compresser selling that is basically a starter motor and a endless air ...heavy but transportable, and when you have low tyres, u ususally have a full battery. worth considering....dont know what it is called, but Go offroad knows.
Follow Up By: IT Doctor - Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 01:35
Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 01:35
Dozer
How do you keep the bearings from drying up on your self made unit?
Follow Up By: Member - DOZER- Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 11:45
Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 11:45
The endless is greasable, i threaded the viewing post (copied endless) and greased,, catch grease with
water trap down stream.
Reply By: Member - NewMan (VIC) - Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 10:15
Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 10:15
Had a look into those and although thought it was agreat idea, could not justify the approx $1000.00 for the unit.
This was to be fitted to an 80 series cruiser.
$350 for comp
$300 for bracket
$350 for fittings and
tank.
Pluss labor to have fitted.
A bit overpriced IMO
Tony N
Reply By: Rod W - Monday, Oct 18, 2004 at 14:42
Monday, Oct 18, 2004 at 14:42
Like Dozer, I have mounted a ex-aircon compress, been on the vehicle for about 4 years, I lucricate it every now and then with a teflon additive, works atreat. Cost $50-$70. The base of my Bull bar is the air resivour.