On Board Air Tank

Submitted: Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 14:40
ThreadID: 16890 Views:5516 Replies:7 FollowUps:5
Hi Gang,

I got home last night and was scanning through the Big W catalogue and blow me away there was a complete 240volt 1.5hp air compressor in there with a 6 litre tank as part of the unit for $68.00 (This was physically smaller than the $98.00 GMC units on sale at Bunnings.)

This got me thinking and I shot down and had a look.....the tank is fitted with gauge, pressure cutout switch, bleed valve and air compressor connections.....I purchased the unit with a view to removing the 240 motor and plumbing my Max Air into the tank and have the whole tank etc mounted onboard.

What do you guys think...is a 6 litre sized tank worthwhile? Will it give me enough to run some small air tools and air guns for cleaning? Will it benifit the inflation of tyres if charged before needing to inflate tyres?

I thought for $68.00 it was worth a play with to determine if I gained anything from having the reserve tank fitted onboard.

Stuart.

Reply By: Baz (NSW) - Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 15:10

Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 15:10
At home i have a small compressor around 6ltr's, a Junair button tank it's a dentists compressor so very quiet, mate it's brilliant runs a spray gun rattle gun nail and staple gun i found it's not so much the capacity but how fast it refills the tank that counts,i looked at one of those $68.00 jobs and i'm gunna buy one myself they are alot lighter than this Junair one i have so should be able to take it away and run it of a inverter, good buy i reckon.

AnswerID: 79371

Follow Up By: Baz (NSW) - Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 15:18

Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 15:18
Oh yeah i forgot, pumps the tyre's up on the Explorer OK it would probibly take a couple of goes from dead flat but should be a bit faster than just with your 12v on it's own, the extra storage tank with your 12v pump plumbed in would be a good idea, maybe you could rig it up as 12/240v.
FollowupID: 338801

Follow Up By: AT4WD ADVENTURES - Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 15:22

Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 15:22
Baz,

Thanks mate for the info....I thought I was on the right track and besides you can't buy the tank and all the bits for this amount of money and if my experiment doesn't work out I atleast can have a 240volt compressor for around home or run through an invertor when away. It will be interesting to see how long the 12volt Max Air takes to charge up the tank.

Stuart
FollowupID: 338802

Follow Up By: AT4WD ADVENTURES - Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 15:26

Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 15:26
Baz,

I though where it would be most useful is if you needed to seal a tyre on a rim or just re-inflate from 16-20psi when coming off sand/soft stuff onto road.....thought it might speed up the process.

Stuart
FollowupID: 338803

Follow Up By: Will - Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 20:24

Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 20:24
Hi Guys, for work my ute is fitted with about a 6 litre air tank and 2 thompson 12v compressors.
Will reseat the bead on a tyre that has rolled off. Will also run a good quality rattle gun.
Inflating a tyre from 0 easily.
Will
FollowupID: 338827

Reply By: Nigel (WA) - Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 15:11

Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 15:11
Sounds like a great idea, i think i might go and get one for that price.

Cheers for the information
AnswerID: 79372

Reply By: flappan - Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 15:25

Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 15:25
May not run a Rattle Gun , and may not run a decent sized Paint Gun , but should be plenty good enough , to run Air Guns , and Tyre Inflators.

Might even get away with running those Nail Guns/Staple Guns , and possibly those small air spanners.

For that sort of money though , you may be lucky , and run most things . . . I think its more about how fast the tank fills.
AnswerID: 79374

Follow Up By: AT4WD ADVENTURES - Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 15:27

Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 15:27
Hey Flappan,

I am going to hook up over the weekend and check fill times at different pressures and I will let all know the outcome. It will be interesting to see the end result.

Stuart
FollowupID: 338804

Reply By: Allan Mac (VIC) - Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 18:50

Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 18:50
Stuart,
Look forward to your results with interest
Macca
AnswerID: 79392

Reply By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 19:11

Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 19:11
Brilliant! I was looking at something like that to run my air horns, that way I can blast 120 PSI through them instead of the pathetic flow of air the standard 12v pump that comes with them does. Could also use it to run Diff lockers then too. I'll hook it up to my blue tounge.
AnswerID: 79396

Reply By: fourplayfull - Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 19:19

Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 19:19
Sounds like you guys are expecting this 6 litre tank to keep a kiddies bouncing castle errect !! Fact is unless you can get the max air up to 180 psi , the reserve will drop at a staggering rate , even then IMHO I think you will be dissappointed .
My experience : Latest Big Red comp with no thermal overload takes 4 mins . to fill a 25 litre tank and a 1 litre tank (for lockers) - inflating 35" tyres from 12 psi to 36 psi comp. cuts in after first tyre - using pressure switch set at 110 psi .
I will wait to see your results as the PRICE IS RIGHT
Cheers John
AnswerID: 79400

Reply By: cokeaddict - Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 21:42

Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 21:42
Sure sounds great value even if it wont work ona 12 volt pump.
The problem i see happening is, running the air compressor (12V) for so long to fill the tank. I used tohaeva MAX AIR ( stupid me sold it) I used it to inflate air matresses for camping and found that it got very hot after inflating 1 single and 1 double air mattress. I would hate to see how hot it would get trying to fill a tank that size, BUT like everyone else, I am very interested to see how it goes..Keep us posted please.
Also wondering if this tank is LONG and THIN OR SHORT and FAT ? You think it would fit on floor behind the back seats (just the tank) of a GQ ? will go check it out tomorrow after i elect the next prime minister!
Cheers Angelo
AnswerID: 79411