Navara vs Patrol
Submitted: Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 18:24
Bitsumishin - Mike (WA)
OK, I'm interested in the difference between a 3.0 diesel Navara and a Patrol (2000 model/same engine). Apart from the obvious fact that stuff is stored outside on the Navara, are there any other issues and what are peoples
views. I'm thinking 2 adults & 2 kids will still fit in the dual cab and the
camping gear etc goes outside. Are the after market add ons pretty similar for both vehicles? The Navara seems easier to manover given that it is lighter and easier to see out the back (without a canopy at least)
Reply By: MAVERICK(WA) - Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 19:14
Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 19:14
patrol is much more comfortable - less bouncy. patrol is heavier. patrol is roomier. navara can carry more dirty yucky stuff and just have the tray washed out. patrol has more creature comforts. navara looks better (i'm a sucker for baby trucks - and big ones). navara weighs less - easier to get out of a bog. navara is cheaper. navara can be more fun when playing. work out what you really want to do and if you are going to put on a canopy anyway then buy a patrol. rgds
Reply By: Eric Experience. - Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 21:54
Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 21:54
Mike.
The navara back
seat is a shocker. IF your kids are small and are not going to grow up you will be ok, kids can be very tall in the early teens, The navara is not as good off road as the patrol due to the front
suspension, if the navara is pushed hard over rough ground the lower wishbones can brake. But the ute is much more trip friendly when it comes to carting large amounts of gear. May be worth having a look at the Musso ute, the mechanicals are very strong and the seats are great. Eric.
Follow Up By: mik*2 - Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 23:00
Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 23:00
you're joking arn't you? buy a musso instead of a navara???? give me a break....
mike
Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 22:01
Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 22:01
Thought the new navara was 3.2 ? The one I was in today was... gutless as!
Follow Up By: Member - Toonfish - Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 12:45
Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 12:45
my 99 navara is 3.2
yep non turbo is confirmed as gutless.lol
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 23:43
Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 23:43
Actually with the turbo kit on it, it was better when he gave it some revs...
Reply By: D-Jack - Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 12:05
Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 12:05
Did my homework on both about a year ago.
PAtrol TD puts out slightly more power and torque that Navara, but weights about 400kg more. Patrol TD is intercooled, NAvara's is not. Patrol in 2000 model has had problems with engines going (just search this
forum) Navara has not. PAtrol - coil springs all round. Navara - independent front
suspension, leaf springs at rear. A bit firmer at the rear but softer, rollier drive. My money would go to a Navara had the baby not come along. Is lower, for car parks, cheaper, and with jsut kids in the back would be stacks of room. Front seats as comfy as patrol. I got offered about a year ago a BRAND NEW Navara, with canopy, bull bar, tow bar,
snorkel, and tradesmans roofracks, tinted windows for $45000, without an ABN. So There, may help you make up your mind.
By the way I drive a 99 TD Jackaroo, so no need for me to be biased on the subject of Nissans.
D-Jack
Reply By: navaraman - Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 14:58
Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 14:58
I've got a 99 navara, the gutless 3.2 one. I use
mine at work and for
camping 4wheeling at the weekend, holidays etc. There is enough room in the back for my two kids aged 10 and 7 but I reckon in a couple of years time they ain't going to fit in the back without complaining (more than they do now anyway). When the time comes I'll have to get a Patrol, Pajero, Cruiser sized vehicle and keep the ute for work if finances allow or work from a trailer. The ute is ideal for
camping. fishing etc with the lockable canopy the only downside is rear leg room with two in the back.
Reply By: Bitsumishin - Mike (WA) - Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 19:33
Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 19:33
Very interesting observations. The one I drove was turbo charged & had every bit as much grunt as my current V6 (mind you it was empty). The back seats may be the killer though. Thanks for all the feedback.
Follow Up By: Member - Toonfish - Sunday, Oct 10, 2004 at 09:15
Sunday, Oct 10, 2004 at 09:15
my uncle has the same navara as me 99 3.2 diesel and turboed it 5 weeks ago with great results in top end power and accelaration without much diff in fuel economy .
was a DTS from memory so now i have to save bikkies to compete with him (at least on road -off road he sux standard butt!)
good improvement in towing uphill no more changes to 4th or even 3rd???????
Reply By: Member - TonyG (NSW) - Sunday, Oct 10, 2004 at 07:57
Sunday, Oct 10, 2004 at 07:57
Hi Mike,
I presently have both a 2003 Navara ST-R and a 2004 patrol ST, both the 3ltr deisel and 5 speed manual.
I use my navara as a work car, and my wife has the patrol as the family car.
My obervations are:
1. Navara drivers seating position is lower than patrol, with patrol more upright.
2. I am 6' 2", an drivers leg room in navara is compact with drivers
seat fully extended (ie knees almost touch steering wheel)
3. Leg room in rear
seat of navara is very poor when I have the drivers
seat fully extended. My 3 kids (11, 11, 9) are cramped in the back
seat. Patrol has heaps more leg room.
4. The storage capacity for gear in the navara is heaps more than cargo area of patrol and easier to load and unload.
We have settled into using the patrol for family trips, and I have to take a trailer as we can't fit all our stuff in the rear cargo area.
TonyG
Follow Up By: Bitsumishin - Mike (WA) - Sunday, Oct 10, 2004 at 08:24
Sunday, Oct 10, 2004 at 08:24
Thanks Tony. That sealed it. If you have a Navara but still choose to take the Patrol
camping even if it means taking a trailer, then I just know its not gonna be the car for my kids. Thanks for your help
Reply By: fourstall2000 - Sunday, Oct 10, 2004 at 09:25
Sunday, Oct 10, 2004 at 09:25
Do not consider the 2000 patrol if it is a 3 litre diesel,not unless the engine has been replaced by Nissan.
Reply By: The Pelican - Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 09:00
Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 09:00
I had both a 3.0 Patrol and 3.0 Navara. When purchasing the Navara I pressumed the the lesser power and tourque (due to no intercooler) would be offset by the lighter vehicle. This was not noticable until I hooked up by horse float which weighs about 2100kg. The Patol relished the job, but the Navara really struggled. I would have been interested in putting a D-Tronic type unit in the Navara and seeing how they compared, but sold it instead.
Given that it is a bit "floaty" in the front end and has poor rear leg room in the back, the Navara was the better vehicle, apart from the towing. Lower purchase price was also a plus.
Follow Up By: Bitsumishin - Mike (WA) - Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 19:52
Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 19:52
new a bloke called Pelican once; big bloke whose real name was Bill (Big Bill)