redarc solonoids

Submitted: Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 18:27
ThreadID: 16896 Views:3328 Replies:6 FollowUps:2
phoned our local 4by shop today and was talking aabout redarc solonoids.
he said they are not suitable for jackaroo or other cars with computers you will have to buy a pirahna system.
does any one out there have a redarc fitted to a 4by with efi or is there something else i can fit to save the computer.
ive checked the archives and they seem the way to go with out spending$19838754678368726345.
thank you

Reply By: Member - Captain (WA) - Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 19:07

Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 19:07
Hi Mr Diamond,

The Redarc is most definetely suitable for EFI or ECU controlled engines. It has built-in surge protection and I have one on my 3.0TD GU Patrol. I got mine for $99 from Coventries (trade price) whereas other brand types are hundreds more. I reckon the redarc smart solenoid is arguably the best, most cost effective way to isolate dual batteries.

Here is their tech sheet explaining the voltage protection.

http://www.redarc.com.au/sbi-techspec2.htm.

AnswerID: 79394

Follow Up By: mr diamond - Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 20:36

Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 20:36
thank you captain thats what i wanted to hear.
sounds like bendigo off road just wanted to sell the pirhana unit.
i emailed redarc about 7pm to ask them not expecting to hear anything til monday but got an email from them tonight .hows that for service.
cheers mate
FollowupID: 338828

Reply By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 21:13

Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 21:13
Mr Diamond,
I too have been told NOT to use the redarc on computerised vehicles. I emailed a whole heap of outlets for info on which dual battery system to use, all said no to redarc, some actually supplied redarc and still said no. Since this little excercise, I've come accross several people with redarc's fitted to vehicles ranging from a BA falcon to a 100 series. None have had any probs so far, most have been in place over 12 months... I'm not sure what the mentallity is with distributors out there, maybe there is a greater profit margin in other brands.
Blue
AnswerID: 79410

Follow Up By: mr diamond - Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 21:26

Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 21:26
gday blue.
your probly right about there mentality.
i think they work on most people just believing what they tell them and make a lot more money out of them.
i emailed redarc and got great info out of them including redarc have built in surge protection to save efi computers.
FollowupID: 338831

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 22:10

Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 22:10
Have you contacted the Redarc people.

Why not look at Rotronics setup?

BTW, the Piranha was only $3-400.
AnswerID: 79425

Reply By: Trevor - Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 22:11

Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 22:11
Mr Diamond,
I fitted a Redarc relay to our '97 EFI Jackaroo earlier this year.
It was quite straight forward and the redarc people were very helpful both over the phone and via email. Their website is quite informative too.
The relay was $110 from Ashdowns.
Motor Traders quoted $160, so it may pay to shop around.
All up cost was $171 for cable, lugs, insulation etc.

Trev
AnswerID: 79426

Reply By: Member - Hugh (WA) - Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 00:04

Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 00:04
Mr Diamond,

I fitted a 100A REDARC to the Patrol in June ($95 from Alanco - trade). I have this running second battery onder bonnet and 6B&S cable to Anderson plug at the rear when towing the camper (3rd battery). Since then have done trip to Red Centre via Great Central Rd and other day trips. Has not missed a beat and no problems with battery charging, etc.

Service and advice from REDARC when deciding which unit to buy was fantastic. Per the above comments, the unit is OK for ECU controlled vehicles.

I would certainly recommend REDARC to you.

Regards, Hugh
AnswerID: 79443

Reply By: Member - Bradley- Sunday, Oct 10, 2004 at 00:09

Sunday, Oct 10, 2004 at 00:09
Yep have spoken to the guys from redarc over the phone in the past regarding some teck issues on their units, brilliant product knowledge and service advice. Just good quality no bs products for the transport industry. They do a huge amount of gear for the heavy trans industry (b-doubles etc) so the quality is there. No dramas fitting their solenoids to efi vehicle, and go the extra step of fitting the bypass activation wire and switch as the ability is already built in to the unit. Cheers mate
AnswerID: 79546