Submitted: Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 19:12
Member - Brian (Gold Coast)
Todays the day!!!
At 4:45pm we picked up our mighty Patrol from the insurance office. It looks good, drives
well, and we are very excited! 39 days away from our truck..... now the fun begins all over again!!!!!!!
:-))
Thanks to AAMI insurance Qld!!!!!
Reply By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 19:18
Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 19:18
Good on ya Brian, hope is all
well, you'll probally be paranoid for the first few weeks now, looking and listening for every little squeak and rattle! :-)
She'll be right though!
Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 22:08
Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 22:08
Take it to a caryard pretend you are trading it in, get them to pick the faults, then take back and get them fixed..
Follow Up By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 06:29
Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 06:29
That's a damn good idea Truckster!!!!! Actually my brother-in-law, who is a mechanic but now works in a car yard selling import Jap sports buzz-boxes, had a quick look at it yesterday when we got home, is going to go over it today....... so far so good!!! But I'll keep it in mind and tell others to do that!!
Thanks mate
Reply By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 22:14
Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 22:14
May i asked what happened?
Follow Up By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 06:39
Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 06:39
"May i asked what happened?"
Sure!!
On the last weekend of August, my lovely bride dodged a kanga on a dirt road out from
Aratula and flipped our Nissan on it's lid. Thankfully she was totally unhurt, having been driving at <50k's, the rollover apparently was quite gentle, but bad enough to do heaps of damage. Our Patrol now sports a new roof, bonnett, windscreen, and a schmick new paint job. Our two month old ARB winch bar even went to the powdercoaters!
I know that down in the southern states, the insurance companies are hard to get along with, and AAMI have their share off detractors down there, but, here in S.E. Qld, I can't praise them highly enough! This being our first ever insurance claim, I really didn't know what to expect, or indeed what to do, but in the end all I did was a make a phone call and pay the excess.
Reply By: Member - Peter D M - Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 18:35
Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 18:35
hi brian
its a relief when you make your first claim after years of premiums and all goes
well. i'm with aami as
well and 2 months ago my first accident in 30 years 1 phone call paid $350 over phone and local repairer did job more than happy with service. if only people understood all insurance policies on accessories.
regards peter
Follow Up By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Sunday, Oct 10, 2004 at 08:15
Sunday, Oct 10, 2004 at 08:15
Yeah I agree totally Peter. But it's only since owning the Nissan that I learned all this. All my other cars, I was like... No.. don't tell 'em about the stereo, they'll jack the premium up... But with the fourby...
well y'know how much accessories cost, and I rang AAMI and spoke with them and they explained WHY I should tell them about everything. So I did, except about a month before the accident I put lights and a UHF in but never got around to ring them up... so they had to come out... what a pain in the butt that was! So you can bet I've already told them to expect my calls over the next few weeks while I "put-it-back-together"....LOL.... I offered to send them pics as I add stuff!!!!
Reply By: Baz (NSW) - Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 20:39
Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 20:39
Good to see it back on the road mate, 39 days wow how did ya cope christ did ya drive everybody mad. Your partner gonig to get back behind the wheel i hope, get back on so too speak.
Follow Up By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Sunday, Oct 10, 2004 at 08:26
Sunday, Oct 10, 2004 at 08:26
Thanks Baz... oh it was difficult mate.... LOL... but we kept it pretty much in perspective. The hardest part was we knew where it was, there's a laneway that runs between two main streets here and the repairer is on the lane.... so I started using the lane as a "short cut" to peek in and see how they were going... LOL..... and my bride dropped in there a couple of times... but told them we weren't trying to hurry them up... we just wanted a good job! We can be very patient when necessary and this was one of those necessary times!
She drove it home Friday, I have found every excuse imaginable to drive it since... "do we need bread??" Gayleen has been quite nervous behind the wheel since the stack, but is getting better. It was her first accident in 20 years of driving.... and she drives a LOT. (Not just to-and-from school y'know???) And although this happened on a main road, we have booked her in for the club's awareness day this month to "start again" as it were. Do the basic stuff first and build up from there, my theory being that as she builds confidence "off-road" she'll be more confident on-road.