Toasters

Submitted: Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 06:58
ThreadID: 16906 Views:4415 Replies:17 FollowUps:29
What do you use for taosting in the bush.

I've used one of those wire frame with gauze thingies over the gas burner for years. It's effective but only does one slice at a time.

I bought a Coleman 4 slice job which is a round piece of metal with holes that goes over the flame, and arranged on top is a frame that holds 4 slices of bread. It was so slow, it teneded to dry out the bread rather than toast it. I took it back.

I haven't got a griller, so that's not an option.

Any ideas?

Reply By: jackablue - Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 08:13

Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 08:13
Funny, I use the wire frame & too agree you only do 1 at a time. Just bought the same coleman toaster & tried it out last week, same result. Went back to the wire frame one, but the kids wanted to cook so it's not that bad when eveyone does a bit.

Jackablue
AnswerID: 79454

Reply By: Lone Wolf - Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 08:33

Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 08:33
Same here.............. the round one is a piece of shlt, threw it away and went back to the little wire job. Simplicity..... and it works.

Wolfie
AnswerID: 79456

Follow Up By: Member Eric - Sunday, Oct 10, 2004 at 20:43

Sunday, Oct 10, 2004 at 20:43
1800 watts 3000 surge ;-)
FollowupID: 339011

Reply By: Member Eric - Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 08:36

Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 08:36
I plug my toaster into the inverter and hey presto , we have toast
AnswerID: 79457

Follow Up By: Lone Wolf - Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 10:49

Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 10:49
Eric....... that is just so wrong!!
FollowupID: 338865

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 19:22

Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 19:22
but so good hahahahahah, i will do the same

FollowupID: 338913

Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Sunday, Oct 10, 2004 at 18:43

Sunday, Oct 10, 2004 at 18:43
Eric,

I just had a look at our 4 slice toaster and it draws 1650-1800 watts, so I'm figuring a two slice jod would have to pull around 850.

How bloody big is your inverter?
FollowupID: 338999

Follow Up By: Member Eric - Sunday, Oct 10, 2004 at 20:45

Sunday, Oct 10, 2004 at 20:45
1800 watts 3000 surge watts .

FollowupID: 339012

Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Sunday, Oct 10, 2004 at 22:24

Sunday, Oct 10, 2004 at 22:24
What are you planning to do, start a Nuclear War LOL.
FollowupID: 339028

Follow Up By: Member Eric - Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 06:41

Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 06:41
i would be very carefull about what you type on the net these days Jim. Next thing you know , my door gets kicked down , and these men in black are looking for a bomb in the back of my cruiser lol .
FollowupID: 339033

Reply By: Member - Jack - Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 09:17

Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 09:17
I use the wire thingo, and find it works fine. I also have an extendable toasting fork if anyone else wants to toast at the same time. I also have one of those "flip over" toasters, but everytime I did it the toast fell out into the fire. Scrapped that one and went back to the wire thingo.

Jack
The hurrieder I go, the behinder I get. (Lewis Carroll-Alice In Wonderland)

AnswerID: 79461

Reply By: Member - Paul- Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 09:53

Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 09:53
We use what I call a "toast-a-matic". Square wire framed fish griller used over the hot coals of your camp fire. Fits 4 slices of bread at a time and simply turn over to do the other side. Also good for grilling meats and Naan bread.

Regards Paul
AnswerID: 79464

Reply By: Bilbo - Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 10:59

Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 10:59
Break a mulga twig off - must have the forked bit. Push it through the bread, hold bread near coals. Toast in 10 seconds.

Use stick to light after breakfast ciggie, then throw stick on fire.

Next morning repeat as follows. Find another mulga twig,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,etc,etc

Forked mulga twigs are also handy for lifting boiling billys off campfires. Just use 'em upside down to the toasting fork method with one side of the fork broken off slightly.

Aborigine style and FREE!

Bilbo
AnswerID: 79467

Follow Up By: Gajm (VIC) - Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 12:22

Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 12:22
Aboriginal style of cooking toast??
FollowupID: 338879

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 19:23

Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 19:23
hahahaha Gajm I was thinking the same thing.

FollowupID: 338914

Reply By: Muddy 'doe (SA) - Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 11:27

Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 11:27
I have just the other day purchased the wire gauze single slice toaster mentioned and find that it works very well. If you find it is to slow doing one slice at a time then my suggestion is to buy another one! It was less than $4. Have one for each person that wants toast. People can only EAT 1 slice at a time! lol

If someone has a better way I am all ears but so far this thing is pretty good. Have heard that the gauze burns out pretty quick but as I said, it is less than $4 for a new one. How much do you value your fresh toast in the morning!

Muddy 'doe
AnswerID: 79468

Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 14:31

Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 14:31
Hi muddy

you can buy replacement gauze too, at around $1.50, that's at Grangers online price, could be cheaper else where....

Lyn
FollowupID: 338892

Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Sunday, Oct 10, 2004 at 18:47

Sunday, Oct 10, 2004 at 18:47
Muddy,

You're bloody brilliant mate. Why didn't I think of using two?

I'll answer my own question before you do; you're smarter than me.
FollowupID: 339000

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 11:30

Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 11:30
Camp fire and a stick, has worked for 100's of yrs and works 100%.

Toasters? Why bother leaving home?
AnswerID: 79469

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 19:46

Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 19:46
LOL...I'm just amazed that people want toast in the bush....what next, ice cream.
FollowupID: 338917

Follow Up By: Member - Bernie. (Vic) - Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 21:35

Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 21:35
Yeh Ray, had Ice Cream in the Flinders ( made on the trip)
chocolate/peppermint "YUMMY"

FollowupID: 338926

Follow Up By: Member Eric - Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 23:42

Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 23:42
The reason people dont take things to the bush is because they cant lol
FollowupID: 338940

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 23:45

Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 23:45
Plenty of room in the trailer or the car for a toaster, but I like to leave the kitchen at home when I camp in the bush, thats the reason for going bush.
WTF would you want icecream for in the middle of the HC?

Im with u ray, wonder why people dont just go to motels.
FollowupID: 338942

Follow Up By: Member Eric - Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 23:56

Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 23:56
Ok , is this the same truckster that admited to me that he has canned food in the bush because its easy ? Dont make me start on you now lol . Ill chop you with this one , I have seen the sh i t you carry around lol . No wonder you had a 9 " lift . It was to atleast give your car a 2" over standard lift with the stuff you carry lol .

i have a good memory Brucy baby LMAO / I remember everything you tell or ask of me ,,,,, even something about a Toyota lol

Should I stop ?????????????????????????
FollowupID: 338944

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Oct 10, 2004 at 00:00

Sunday, Oct 10, 2004 at 00:00
Point to something easier to cook than a tin of baked beans - you could almost cook it over a ciggy lighter
FollowupID: 338947

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Sunday, Oct 10, 2004 at 00:27

Sunday, Oct 10, 2004 at 00:27
Baked beans, now you're talking my language :)
No wonder some have suspension problems and vehicles cracking up...overloaded with toasters, icecream makers, home brew kits, electric can openers, dream pots.
Gee, I wonder how much my 50 cans of baked beans weigh :)
FollowupID: 338952

Follow Up By: Member - Bernie. (Vic) - Sunday, Oct 10, 2004 at 00:55

Sunday, Oct 10, 2004 at 00:55
Always carry a can of BB 24/7 emergency rations!!!
one of the easiest & good for you foods around.
no need to heat them either.

re icecream was 35deg. in the Flinders
would have been nice when sitting in the King river when 40deg on New Year trip.

Its so easy to have simple mouth watering food when camping.

PS Ray that new truck on the road yet ?
FollowupID: 338955

Follow Up By: Member Eric - Sunday, Oct 10, 2004 at 08:01

Sunday, Oct 10, 2004 at 08:01
Lol , so your talking convinience ? so what a toaster ? inconvinient ?

So Trucky you left it open .

You mean you would rather cook a tin of baked beans over a lighter instead of killing a goanna ? what kind of bush person are you lol
FollowupID: 338962

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Sunday, Oct 10, 2004 at 09:06

Sunday, Oct 10, 2004 at 09:06
Oh well, just a bit of light hearted fun. As long as we enjoy ourselves in a responsible manner and don't leave dunny paper blowing in the wind who cares.

Bernie...Yes it's on the road. In fact on road is the only place I've had it...it was born to be off road

Have a look at it here
That's the best pic i can do at the moment.
FollowupID: 338968

Follow Up By: Muddy 'doe (SA) - Sunday, Oct 10, 2004 at 09:36

Sunday, Oct 10, 2004 at 09:36
Baked Beans are great food but they are even better on a slice of fresh toast!

New rig looks good Ray.

Muddy 'doe
FollowupID: 338970

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Oct 10, 2004 at 09:41

Sunday, Oct 10, 2004 at 09:41
Goanna? they have bones, very annoying.. tin of BBeans or spagetti anyday.

Gee Ray, shes shiney
did ya sell the 33's? Might make good Trailer tires :D
FollowupID: 338972

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Sunday, Oct 10, 2004 at 11:03

Sunday, Oct 10, 2004 at 11:03
Yeah still got the 33's, had lots ask about them. I haven't been pushing to sell them, could trade them in later I suppose.

Thanks Muddy, I'm painting the inside of the tray at the moment as it's been knocked around a bit. Started painting it white but then thought that silver killrust in a spray pack would look cool and there's a fair few cans in the shed...looks bloodly good alright...must carry on...bloodly nice day too
FollowupID: 338979

Reply By: D-Jack - Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 11:51

Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 11:51
Bbq grate over the open fire if fires allowed. If not then single gas gauze thingy
AnswerID: 79471

Reply By: vuduguru - Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 13:16

Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 13:16
Sticks are fine but I use a suitably fashioned coathanger. Kid love it... they do the toasting. "Gauze thingies", inverters...That's soft ;-
Shane
AnswerID: 79483

Follow Up By: Gajm (VIC) - Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 14:05

Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 14:05
Even the coathanger is soft.....I hold a slice of bread over the fire in my bare hand...those flying doctor people are always so nice.
FollowupID: 338891

Reply By: Gajm (VIC) - Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 14:11

Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 14:11
i have a modified wire rod for over the fire, doesnt drop the toast when you flip it, and one of the mesh jobs for over the gas.

My mate uses the mesh, and actualy stacks his with several slices of bread, when the bottom one is cooked he removes it and the next one in line gets toasted, he reckons they get some heat into them and makes them cook faster, I dont need the pressure first thing in the morning, so I am happy to do one at a time, but it might be worth you trying.
AnswerID: 79487

Reply By: duncs - Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 14:34

Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 14:34
Mate of mine always puts an old metal shelf out of a fridge over the fire. Just stands it on a couple of rocks and everything gets cooked on that.

The billy stands on it, no spilt water, the sausages, steak etc go directly on top of it and never roll off, if you want to cook eggs then the frypan sits on top of it and you can cook about 10 slices of toast at a time.

When it gets worn out you simply go to the tip and pick up a couple of new ones from the white goods section. They ae light and easy to carry, my mate has a couple of hooks on the inside of hte rear doors on his troopy and hangs a couple on there, oky strap stops them rattling.

Some of them come with a protective plastic coating. so try to avoid that but if you can't, just chuck it in the fire and it will burn off. Make sure the fire is real hot and keep it going for a while.

On the gas we use the wire thingy with the gauze and everyone cooks their own.

AnswerID: 79488

Follow Up By: Shaker - Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 17:06

Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 17:06
I hope the 'old fridge shelf' wasn't cadmium plated!
FollowupID: 338903

Follow Up By: duncs - Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 15:43

Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 15:43
Cadmium?

Hmmm.... don't think so.

Then again I have noticed the old mate getting heavier and his belt is still the same length.......wonder if there is something in that?

Na can't be he's been doing it so long he'd be dead by now.
FollowupID: 339114

Reply By: Member - Brett H (QLD) - Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 18:15

Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 18:15
The wife handles the toast.
AnswerID: 79506

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Sunday, Oct 10, 2004 at 07:41

Sunday, Oct 10, 2004 at 07:41
I just _knew_ there was a reason why I should have stayed married!

PS. I use one of those Coleman 4 slice thingies - but because it's
bloody useless I've bent the arms out of shape such that it holds
one piece of toast at the perfect height above the gas - great :)
FollowupID: 338961

Reply By: Bros - Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 19:14

Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 19:14
Jimbo,
I have a four sided square toaster that sits over the top of a gas flame. Hey presto, 4 pieces in very quick time. I don't know where i got it from, just one of those things that you acquire. Over the open fire i use one of those lift up, swing away, handle thingoes that do four pieces at a time.
Bros.
Work is the curse of the down and out bludger.

AnswerID: 79510

Reply By: Tripp'n Around - Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 20:08

Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 20:08
Hi Jimbo

We have a wire one too and the only sort we have ever used.
We have always done what Gjam's mate does but with only the 2 slices of bread though.
Put 2 slices on wire, toast bottom and top of each slice, flip then over so toasted sides are together and repeat, minds fingers being burnt.
This works very well for us.

Cya
Tripp'n
AnswerID: 79521

Reply By: Peter - Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 01:48

Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 01:48
i simply use the lid of my gas light. give it a quick brush to remove anything stuck to it, wack the bread on, toast one side, flip it, and toast the other. as the 2nd side toasts i butter it up and cheese it up. yum.melted cheese toast.
simple. many a person who has gone camping with me and been told of the "methode gas light lid" and inspected the said lid have looked apprehensive. but when tasting the taste sensation that is the toast "methode gas light lid" they are converted.
that and the fact that they eat it as is or have nothing.
yeah it means flipping and isnt as quick as the duel side toasters out there but i am out camping. i am relaxing. i am in no rush. if i wanted to rush i would be in the city wishing i was in the country.
and before anyone asks, no one has suffered any ill effects. except sadness when the bread runs out because they go back for 2nds etc. but then hey we get to make damper in the fire.
AnswerID: 79648

Reply By: Member - Melissa - Tuesday, Oct 12, 2004 at 12:16

Tuesday, Oct 12, 2004 at 12:16
Jimbo,

We been using one of those Coleman 4 slice toasters for years. Nearly made the mistake of throwing it out after the first time though because as you say, very slow. Then we thought, hey all the heat is just going out the top instead of toasting the bread...so we made a hood from tin foil which we just sit over the top of the bread and it works a treat. Hood is simply a length of tin foil doubled over to form a square, then we push the corners down around the bread (just roughly). Same piece of foil lasts for ages - we just fold it into quarters and stick it back in the box with the toaster. So before you go discarding that toaster as useless, give this method a go. You'll be surprised!

:o) Melissa
AnswerID: 79900

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Tuesday, Oct 12, 2004 at 14:24

Tuesday, Oct 12, 2004 at 14:24
Good to here, I just bought one of those 4 way doovas, $5 bucks from Marko Warehouse, I was thinking by reading the other replies that I'd wasted $5, but I'll try your method out Melissa, thanks! Havn't actually had a chance to use it yet.
FollowupID: 339291