TD6 POWERUP - STAGE 1

Submitted: Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 20:13
ThreadID: 16920 Views:2561 Replies:4 FollowUps:6
Hi all Patrol owners and other interested parties,

Here are some results from my 2004 TD6 ST Patrol Wagon:

This vehicle is completely standard except for a Mandrell Bent 3 inch exhaust system from turbo flange right through. I have a EGT sensor from Ian at Thermoguard which I highly recommend. Far better than an analogue dash mounted gauge and for the price you can't beat it. Autometer boost gauge taking its readings after the intercooler. On Friday the above vehicle was run on an MDX dyno with the following results:

Max horse power: 101hp @ wheels
Max torque: 217 ft pounds
Peak boost: 9.8 PSI (in car boost gauge read 10 psi and the dyno machine read 9.8)

These are all corrected figures taking in to consideration ambient air temperature and barometric pressure. All runs were completed in 4th gear with the same ramp rate used for each run. All up 5 individual runs were completed with the last one running out at 98 hp at the rear wheels. Loss of hp due to heat soak.

Peak exhaust gas temperature was 527 degrees celcius.

It was interesting to note that if 3rd gear was used hp was between 5 and 10 hp greater.

As soon as I can get hold of a scanner I will scan results and post dyno sheet on the net (if someone can tell me how).

Next Friday vehicle will be running 12 to 13 psi and I will post results then.

I was very happy with the results but felt deflated soon after as a 1972 RX3 turbo coupe pulled out 479 rear wheel hp at 26 psi!!!

Anyhow, will keep everyone informed.

Sevo

Reply By: crayman - Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 20:59

Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 20:59
Hi Servo
Had the same 3" system (Mercury)fitted yesterday less 3" turbo drop pipe its arriveing tomorrow dosent feel alot different hopeing 3" drop pipe makes the difference ,std drop pipe is visually smaller internaly,was the upgrade in power noticable
Maurie 4.2TDI

AnswerID: 79528

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 15:18

Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 15:18
Maurie,

I'll be interested in your outcome of dump pipe. I think that's what is giving me a bottle neck of heat.

Chris.
FollowupID: 339110

Reply By: sevo - Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 21:14

Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 21:14
Gday Maurie,
The power differance was marginal seem to come on boost earlier,but seat of the pants feel is not that much. good system for the money.are you going to fit a pyrometer?
sevo
AnswerID: 79529

Follow Up By: crayman - Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 21:57

Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 21:57
Servo yes i will fit (im pretty sure hole taped into drop pipe to accomadate pyro) yes i agree you dont expect to feel masive power surge`s in a diesel
Maurie
FollowupID: 338930

Reply By: sean - Sunday, Oct 10, 2004 at 14:19

Sunday, Oct 10, 2004 at 14:19
Sevo

my TD6 stock standard has the following for ramp up.

Torque - 165 ft-lb
HP - 109
Boost 10.2 Psi

so your figures, if we use the comparision as an approximate guide, show that you have more torque but less HP which indicates that your torque curve is peakier than standard exhaust set up.

I have always maintanined that the stock standard TD6 is a dog and also fuel guzzler with a load on. I too am looking for mods that wont affect reliability so please keep us posted.

And looking forward to seeing the test figures posted.

Sean

Sean
AnswerID: 79583

Follow Up By: sean - Sunday, Oct 10, 2004 at 14:29

Sunday, Oct 10, 2004 at 14:29
Correction, I am confused with the metric to imperial coversions.

My torque is 1986 foot-pounds. Your figure it seems should be 2170 which is a 9-10 percent greater. Maybe the 3 inch overall gives less performance???? when we compare HP.

Difficult to say from 2 different dyno tests but still should be indicative I think.

Sean
FollowupID: 338984

Follow Up By: sevo - Sunday, Oct 10, 2004 at 20:57

Sunday, Oct 10, 2004 at 20:57
Gday Sean,
Our vehicles have similar readings and is interesting to see your results. Every dyno will give different results and the only real way we could be more accurate is to run all our patrols on the same dyno , same operator , same day etc to keep comparisons as accurate as possible. Just by changing ramp rate or using differant gear will give greater results. Was your test completed in 3rd or 4th gear?

On saturday i fitted boost controller and set boost to 12-13psi with a very noticable differance felt on road test no excessive black smoke noticed and EGT stayed in normal range. Will dyno again on wednesday with more info then.
thanks
Sevo
FollowupID: 339015

Follow Up By: sean - Sunday, Oct 10, 2004 at 21:54

Sunday, Oct 10, 2004 at 21:54
Sevo

I agree. But one thing for sure is the TD6 is is is happy with no load . Put a load and there is lack of power and heavy fuel usage. So it seems the motor is tuned for normal highway use. Around town or on highway I get about 13-14 litres per hundred. Put a trailer or van on and this goes to 19-23 per hundred. Towing a smaller off road trailer I can use 25 per hundred sitting on 110. There have been times when I could not get it over 100 towing a small off road trailer. Thats why I put it on a dyno to see whats happening but result was that all is fine.

The pre EGR motors did not seem to have these problems so I think that this is where the problem lies. I dont really see how using 25 litres per hundred is good for the environment.

All I want is reasonable power and good economy. I had a 3 litre before this one and it had heaps more power and used heaps less fuel. It was a much better tow vehicle. So this motor is just not efficient with its standard EGR set up.

Sean
FollowupID: 339023

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 12:31

Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 12:31
Gday Sean,

I just got 7.97k/L towing the camper with gear, drawers etc over the two tanks. That's obviously with the powerup, lift and bigger tyres.

To me, that's pretty good. On a bigger trip, I'd probably have another 200kgs or so.

Chris.
FollowupID: 339076

Reply By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 10:14

Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 10:14
Gday Sevo,

Good stuff. Keep it coming, look forward to seeing your upcoming dyno reports!
AnswerID: 79677