On Board Air Tank - Follow Up

Submitted: Sunday, Oct 10, 2004 at 09:15
ThreadID: 16931 Views:4985 Replies:10 FollowUps:20
Hi Gang,

As a follow up to my post PostID: 16890 Posted: 08 Oct 14:40.

I have grabbed the 240v Air Compressor complete with the 6 litre reciever tank and started to experiment. The complete unit on 240 volt pressurises the tank to 8bar/110psi in around 30 sec and then shuts off via the pressue switch fitted.

I then rigged my Max Air to fed the tank whilst still being controlled via the pressure switch. The Amx Air took around 4mins to fill the tank and then shuts off via pressure switch fitted.

The problem is that the Max Air fills the tank okay but once the Max Air has stopped and the tank has 8bar/110psi pressure the Max Air tries to run but struggles against the pressure in the tank. The quoted working pressure for the Max Air is 150psi.

As I am no guru with air compressors I would ask the following from the forum:

How do I avoid the back pressure from the tank against the Max Air?

Is having the 6ltr volume at 8bar/110psi pressure worthile when filling a tyre?

Can I remote mount the tank under the car and relocate the fittings such as pressure switch and gauges and compressor say under the bonnet or in the rear of the car? These would be connected to the tank via appropriate air hose or would I need to use copper lines?

I have about 15-25sec of blown air available before refilling tank for general use depending on diameter of end nozzle and think this would be useful when out and about on those tracks, what do you think?

Looking forward to the forum input.....

Stuart

Reply By: duncs - Sunday, Oct 10, 2004 at 09:43

Sunday, Oct 10, 2004 at 09:43
Stuart,

Like you I am no guru when it comes to air compressors but I have been looking at the idea of a larger air tank for use on the vehicl. I have an ARB Compressor fitted to the car, this has a small tank attached from ARB.

I have spoken with the guy from the local 4wd shop who is well regarded in the industry. Think Outback Challenge.

He said to use a flexible hose as it will cause less problems when it DOES work loose. The other thing that I am going to do whem I fit the tank is to connect it to the compressor with snap on fittings the female (shut off ) on the compressor so that I can disconnect and remove the tank and still use the compressor. (My 4wd is the family bus and I don't keep all my touring accessories in the car all the time cause they often just get in the way, eg. when I neeed the third row of seats.)
Also this will allow me to isolate the tank when I don't need it, why inflate the tank to 40psi when I don't need to? The other thing I am considering is a shut off valve in this line as well, just to make the isolation process easier. When all this is sorted I intend to put fittings on the front and rear of the vehicle so I can connect a hose without having to access the compressor.

Finally, if that 15 - 25 sec of air is before the compressor cuts in again I think that would be very useful.

Keep up the experimenting, I am interested in the results.
AnswerID: 79572

Reply By: Bob of KAOS - Sunday, Oct 10, 2004 at 09:46

Sunday, Oct 10, 2004 at 09:46
Stuart,

I reckon the volume of a tyre is about 30L (assuming an 8" wide tyre on a 16" rim with an outer diameter of 32"). To double the pressure of air in the tyre from atmospheric pressure to 1 Bar or 15 PSI you would need to add 30L of air. So your 6L tank at 5 Bar would barely get a flat tyre up to 15 PSI. A 30 L tank at two Bar would inflate a flat tye to 1 Bar or 15 PSI. A 30 L tank at 4 Bar would inflate a flat tyre to 2 Bar or 30 PSI. A 30 L tank at 6 Bar would inflate your flat tyre to a useful 45 PSI.
So a 6 L tank is pretty much a waste of time and effort (unless you can store air at about 200 Bar which is what scuba cylinders do).
AnswerID: 79573

Follow Up By: AT4WD ADVENTURES - Sunday, Oct 10, 2004 at 11:15

Sunday, Oct 10, 2004 at 11:15
Bob,

I was more looking at the help it may give when reinflating a tyre from 16-20psi back to operating pressure say 40psi when coming off sand back to tar. Whats your view....surely a reserve in place prior to fiinshing the day on sand would speed the process up...whats your view.
FollowupID: 338981

Follow Up By: Bob of KAOS - Sunday, Oct 10, 2004 at 18:11

Sunday, Oct 10, 2004 at 18:11
Stuart,
it may save a few seconds on the first tyre, but after that you are inflating 6L of reserve plus 30L of tyre times 3. I think the only advantage of a small reserve may be as stated elsewhere to seat the bead on the rim, but if you aren't changing tyres this is not an issue.
I had a system with about 20L of reserve (the nudge bar acted as the reserve tank) and it was a waste of effort. I should have done the sums first.
I think the best options for rapid inflation at the end of the day are 1. a serious compressor or 2. a cylinder of nitrogen (CIG) 3. keep 4 spares inflated to 60 PSI - connect each in turn to one of the flat (20PSI) tyres and let the pressure equilibrate between the two to give about 33 PSI in each.
FollowupID: 338997

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Oct 10, 2004 at 19:41

Sunday, Oct 10, 2004 at 19:41
As Bob says its probably no good for tires, but for blowing the airfilter out it may do.

I also think the spare at high pressure is a waste, as its the one ya put on the car if the other is flat. And it would hold about the same as this tank

if ya gonna sit there and slowly pump up 3, what difference is there in 4? few mins... have another cancerstick, or coffee.. Take some pics, talk bullchit with ya mates cause you can bet they are waiting for your compressor anyway.
FollowupID: 339003

Follow Up By: Member - Gary W (VIC) - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 10:33

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 10:33
I have 25ltrs of air its enough to take 3 tyres from 25 to 35 psi. Using it for blowing stuff out is fine but it empties even faster. I reck 6ltrs is next to useless - if you can organise 25ltrs plus then it starts to become useful.

Gaz
FollowupID: 339372

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 11:06

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 11:06
What are you using for a tank Gaz ?
FollowupID: 339391

Follow Up By: Member - Gary W (VIC) - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 11:16

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 11:16
I was a bit of a dill and paid for tanks. My mechanic organised it. I have a 5 Ltr under the car and a 20 ltr that is portable and plugs into an air line in the back of the wagon. The inside tank sits between the drawers & the middle seats.

Gaz
FollowupID: 339398

Reply By: Member - Mark (VIC) - Sunday, Oct 10, 2004 at 10:09

Sunday, Oct 10, 2004 at 10:09
Place a one way air line filter between the tank and the compressor. This will stop all the back pressure on the compressor and make it start easier under load and also stop air leaking back through the compressor when it's not running.
AnswerID: 79575

Reply By: Yeah Mate - Sunday, Oct 10, 2004 at 12:00

Sunday, Oct 10, 2004 at 12:00
Stuart
-1 As Mark says install a check valve between comp and tank ¼” bsp/npt would do the trick, get from comp shop, truck brake place or Blackwoods.

-2 Having a volume tank (receiver tank) is a good idea, because if you roll a tyre off the rim you need the volume to get it started back on the bead of the wheel.

-3 Mount the tank/switches etc where you will, but mount the pressure relief valve/blow off valve on the tank or real close to it, buy hose from truck brake shop with push-loc fittings think swag-loc do them.
AnswerID: 79576

Reply By: troy35 - Sunday, Oct 10, 2004 at 15:29

Sunday, Oct 10, 2004 at 15:29
Just out of curioisity what is your tank made from?

I was thinking about making a tank from an old fire extinguisher.
Do you think this would work??
AnswerID: 79586

Follow Up By: Member - Bear - Sunday, Oct 10, 2004 at 18:24

Sunday, Oct 10, 2004 at 18:24
Troy35

Some people recon that this is one of the best ways to do it. The other is the Scuba tank but these are bulky and heavy..
FollowupID: 338998

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Oct 10, 2004 at 22:08

Sunday, Oct 10, 2004 at 22:08
Its only been done 209302984029402934029340293840293840239480 time in the past, but why would you bother, you can get an air tank from truck wrecker for $20 upwards..
FollowupID: 339026

Follow Up By: troy35 - Sunday, Oct 10, 2004 at 23:03

Sunday, Oct 10, 2004 at 23:03
Because I would like to be the 209302984029402934029340293840293840239481st person to do it.

I thought a truck air tank might be too big to fit anywhere.
FollowupID: 339029

Follow Up By: Wazza (Vic) - Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 14:59

Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 14:59
Here is a small air tank (around 6 or 7 litres at a guess), fits between chassis rail and side step on 80 series no probs. $15 from truck wreckers and came with mounting brackets.

Not useful for much, except a good burst of air for popping a tyre back on a rim (done it a few times, works well) and a shot of air for blowing out the air filter with an air gun. Will pump up one tyre from 15psi to about 22psi. It fills to 100psi in the time it takes to put the tyre valve cap back on and take off the next one, but that is with two compressors feeding it. Takes 1 minute to fill from empty (with an ARB and a Blue Tongue running together)

http://www.geocities.com/cruiserpics/pics/airtank/IMGA0726.JPG

Wazza.
FollowupID: 339104

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 23:04

Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 23:04
Troy.

Truck tanks come in 10000's of different sizes. Take a drive to a truck wrecker on saturday, and suprise yourself., they even come with drain and pressure relief valves.
FollowupID: 339215

Follow Up By: troy35 - Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 23:14

Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 23:14
There are no truck wreckers in Broome. I actually manage a transport company but most of the tanks I have seen would be too big. Might have to get the workshop manager in Perth to see what he can find for me.
FollowupID: 339217

Reply By: Rosco - Bris. - Sunday, Oct 10, 2004 at 16:56

Sunday, Oct 10, 2004 at 16:56
G'day Stu

I think it was Boyles 1st Law of thermodynamics ... P1V1=P2V2.

Hence 6l at 110 psi = 18l at 36.666666667 psi. So if the volume of the tyre is 36l then it will only be inflated to about 18.33333333 psi. Get my drift ??

AnswerID: 79595

Follow Up By: Rosco - Bris. - Sunday, Oct 10, 2004 at 17:02

Sunday, Oct 10, 2004 at 17:02
P.S.

6l at 110 psi gives you almost 15l at 45 psi so if your tyre was sitting at about 20 psi it would be reasonably well inflated. But don't forget that's only 1 out of 4.

I reckon you'd need a stubby or 2 to complete the job.
FollowupID: 338992

Reply By: PerthGQ - Sunday, Oct 10, 2004 at 18:54

Sunday, Oct 10, 2004 at 18:54
Stuart,

My daily bread comes from working in the pneumatic and hydraulic industry, so here's a couple of tips:

A check valve in the line between compressor and tank wont unload the compressor. It will still be starting against whatever pressure is in the tank PLUS whatever the spring rating is that is part of the check valve.

I've installed a manifold in the GQ with additional ports, one of which is fitted with a solenoid valve that when I flick the switch opens the compressor line to atmosphere, thereby truly unloading the compressor. Mainly used for free running to help cool down quicker.

You can place the compressor, tanks, valves etc in any parts of the vehicle, as long as the connections are correct. The best way way to connect it all up is to get some proper polyurethane tubing (6mm) from someone like Festo, SMC Pneumatics, Norgren etc along with the right fittings, and then just install the tube inside some protective sheath, the stuff you put around electrical cables. DONT use copper as it will work harden and fracture very quickly. I've got the compressor on the firewall, under the bonnet, manifold on the other side of the engine bay and air outlets at manifold, bull bar and rear step. One outlet is connected to a pressure regulator & gauge that I can adjust for the tyre pressure required. That way I can set it to road pressure and not have to watch it every second. 150psi in a tyre would go off with a hell of a bang!

The point about Boyles Law is valid, and once exhausted, the tank is just another void for the compressor to have to fill, along with the tyre. Too much time.

You could change the cut-in set point on the pressure switch but there's no point, as the flow rate slows proportionally to the pressure diference, so as the pressure drops lower in the tank, so too the flow of air from the tank slows down.

Hope this helps, and for the record, I've got an ARB compressor that does a 31.5 10R 15 tyre from 16psi to 40psi in 3min 20sec. No problems doing my four tyres and mates as well.

Keith
AnswerID: 79603

Follow Up By: AT4WD ADVENTURES - Sunday, Oct 10, 2004 at 21:55

Sunday, Oct 10, 2004 at 21:55
Keith,

I guess what you are saying is a solenoid would need to be placed in between the tank check valve and the compressor and enegrised to take the load off the compressor after the pressure switch has operated. In other words the compressor runs, fills the tank, pressure switch operates turning the compressor off, check valve stops the backpressure, solenoid needs to open a clear path on output side of compressor to atmoshpere, tank pressure drops through use, pressure switch applies power to compressor, solenoid closes, compressor overcome check valve spring and starts to fill tank.

Is this correct....thanks for the idea of 6mm tubing...great stuff.

Stuart
FollowupID: 339024

Follow Up By: PerthGQ - Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 13:54

Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 13:54
That's it Stuart, got it in one. Good luck..Keith
FollowupID: 339096

Follow Up By: AT4WD ADVENTURES - Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 16:54

Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 16:54
Keith,

I have located some tubing and push fittings as mentioned above because we have used this stuff for instruments at work and had some laying around. What valve arangement can I use....is there a soft start valve thats reasonably economical that I could use (when I did some research this popped up and got me thinking that rather than electrically unload the compressor maybe I could do it through a valve like this).

I can access Norgren or SMC products and I only ask as you seem to know your stuff.

Stuart.
FollowupID: 339127

Reply By: Member Eric - Sunday, Oct 10, 2004 at 20:54

Sunday, Oct 10, 2004 at 20:54
if you own a max air , why get a air tank , its so quick anyway on its own
AnswerID: 79627

Follow Up By: AT4WD ADVENTURES - Sunday, Oct 10, 2004 at 22:00

Sunday, Oct 10, 2004 at 22:00
Hey Eric,

Yeah I know the Max Air is quick....but you can't do things like seat tyres quickly, blow air through parts or dust from objects, operate small air tools etc. without a small reserve of some sort and if was no hassle to make and bugger all cost then why not try and DIY something that actually works and serves a purpose. I may even plumb two 6litre tanks in parrallel one on each side of the vehicle.....

Stuart.
FollowupID: 339025

Follow Up By: Member Eric - Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 06:38

Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 06:38
Sorry Stuart , I beg to differ . I have a max air and I have re seated over 15 tyres , home at practice and out bush . All you have to do is remove the valve .

Blowing out air filters , you use the air mattress nozzle . it works well enough to do the job. You really should try one , you would be impressed.

I tried to re seat tyres with my ARB, well I tried every trick in the book , and no go lol . I am sure some people here tried and succeeded. But with the max air , it popped on with no fuss

FollowupID: 339032

Follow Up By: AT4WD ADVENTURES - Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 14:58

Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 14:58
Hey Eric,

I have a Max Air and I will try your way tonight.....but still like the tank option for all the reasons laid out below....like diff locks as well.

I was also canvassing ideas on how to do the project properly and there has been some great input on this front.

Stuart
FollowupID: 339103

Follow Up By: Member Eric - Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 16:22

Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 16:22
The way I do it , I usually kick the back rim in as much as possible . Then i stand the tyre upright , make sure the valve is at the bottom , as you sit the hose on , this will apply minimal pressure to the bottom of the rim , I ussually have my knee resting on the center of the rim and pull the top of the tyre towards me . Pops on withought any issues .

have fun
FollowupID: 339118

Reply By: AT4WD ADVENTURES - Sunday, Oct 10, 2004 at 22:01

Sunday, Oct 10, 2004 at 22:01
Hey ALL,

Keep those ideas coming and thanks for the input so far.....

Stuart
AnswerID: 79636

Reply By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 12:10

Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 12:10
I still reckon it's a top idea, as said above blowing air filters out, cleaning things etc perfect. And there is nothing wrong with a headstart when pumping your tyres up. And what about the time the compressor is running and you are checking pressures, putting caps on, and just generally buggerising around between tyres, at least it's not going to waste.
Also (and this is the main stupid male big kid reason for me) is that I would love to hook 120psi up to my air horns and bleep off the crappy compressors that came with them! LOL
I've run them through my 240v compressor at home and holy crap they are loud.
Also if I go air lockers down the track, I can just plumb them straight in.
The Blue Tounge will restart at 100PSI so I should'nt have a problem with it.
AnswerID: 79696