Td 4.2 Turbo

Submitted: Sunday, Oct 10, 2004 at 18:09
ThreadID: 16935 Views:7092 Replies:6 FollowUps:7
Hi folks
In the last few days there have been a number of reports of up grades on the Nissan turboed engine.
Some of these have had some impressive results.
Can some one tell me thar part numbers of the upgrade impellor that has been used and whether the turbine housing is a replacement or the original needs to be machined.
Also, is the waste gate vacumm unit replaced or adjusted
Ray

Reply By: Flash - Sunday, Oct 10, 2004 at 18:31

Sunday, Oct 10, 2004 at 18:31
Can't answer your question directly......
but there was an article about it all in the December 2003 "Caravan and Motorhome" magazine.
It quoted an upgrade done by MTQ Toowoomba... 07 4633 1355 which involved a new impeller AND machining the housing. (Plus exhaust etc.)

Cost was quoted as $2635 in the article for a big performance boost- 85.8 kw up to 112.5 and 20% more torque at the wheels- all for a LOWER EGT- 603 degrees down to 533, and better fuel economy.
Hope that helps, cheers.

AnswerID: 79601

Reply By: Andrew - Sunday, Oct 10, 2004 at 20:15

Sunday, Oct 10, 2004 at 20:15
Has been discussed extensively on the Yahoo Patrol Group
Here is one archived thread:
TD42T upgrades
AnswerID: 79618

Reply By: Member - John - Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 01:34

Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 01:34
Kiwi, I have had the MTQ mod done to my 4.2TD, makes a hell of a difference. Lowered EGT and more power, use about the same fuel. The turbo housing is remachined and bigger wheels put in, timing mods and exhaust. Hope this helps.

AnswerID: 79647

Reply By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 10:17

Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 10:17
Depends on where you get the work done.

Some machine housing and upgrade impellers, other just use stock.

I have same wastegate vacuum unit and boost adjust. Exhaust. I would suggest upgrading dump pipe.
AnswerID: 79678

Reply By: Paul from Denco Diesel and Turbo - Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 11:19

Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 11:19
In the process of assessing the TD42 factory turbocharged Nissan for improving power, Denco went through various exercises to obtain the best results.

Initially we simply machined the housing to take a larger turbine wheel. Without adjusting fuel, we obtained an additional 4 hp. Most of you will be aware that any amount of power can be achieved from a diesel by increasing the fuel. So overall, power increases achieved from only replacing the turbine wheel are largely achieved not from swapping the wheel, but by increasing the maximum injected fuel. We consider this a false economy – spending $2600 for a machined housing and a turbine wheel worth around $500.

Instead, with the Denco system we have chosen to replace the entire factory turbo with a new turbo, charge air pipe and exhaust system. The Denco increase in power are achieved by an overall increase in efficiency. On standard fuel, Denco Turbo Systems will give power increases of around 15% and with minor fuel adjustments, up to 25%.

The Denco Nissan Patrol TD42 Turbo System upgrade including GST is valued at $2600 and includes:
* Replacement of the Hitachi turbo with Schwitzer fully serviceable S2A turbo
* 2½” mandrel bent exhaust system
* Cast charge air pipes
* All other hoses and fittings required to upgrade the system+
* 30-day money back guarantee on price of turbo if not completely satisfied

AnswerID: 79683

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 11:52

Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 11:52
And the kit can be fitted at home with a good tool kit in 1/2 a day with 2 blokes. Me and mate have now installed 2 kits....

Happier with mine, we found some more power, but according to the graph (which I need to call and ask if it was KW or HP - if it was in HP, my sons pushbike has more :( ) is still Syd-Melb away from others claiming 120 at the wheels, :'(

Next mission is going to try and get 14psi boost happening somewhere some how... Any recommendations people?

... But i do lose more KW with the auto.. which is another point of call to check out.
FollowupID: 339065

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 11:55

Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 11:55
PS. its Hills that totally KILL my car. crusing and overtaking on flat is fine, but hills are actually dangerous, might be better in low 4wd reverse
FollowupID: 339066

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 12:36

Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 12:36
So what happened last week with the trip mate? Did you get some good or bad answers?
FollowupID: 339078

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 22:58

Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 22:58
I lost the chart, going to call again to see if they still have it and will get emailed..

story wasnt brilliant. I lose heaps with the auto apparently.. but still going to look at more boost. its 12 psi now, but it just has NOTHING.. nothing on hills.
FollowupID: 339208

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Tuesday, Oct 12, 2004 at 06:28

Tuesday, Oct 12, 2004 at 06:28
Fair enough mate, surely you can't lose that much through the auto???

If you had 120 hp at the rears, that's not what you are looking for, I'm sure. I'll give John a burl if you want and see if he's worked on an auto td before...

Let me know if you'd like me to find some info out.

chris.
FollowupID: 339232

Reply By: crayman - Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 16:10

Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 16:10
Hi Chris
No i havent fitted 3" dump yet it has arrived at exhaust center but i amm 100ks out of perth willl try and get fitted this week let youn know how she goes
Maurie
AnswerID: 79739

Follow Up By: crayman - Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 22:05

Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 22:05
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Here`s a post i have lifted from another site some interesting facts
Maurie

The 4.2 TDI (current model) has the same pump as the old one, the
only difference is an electronic timing control.
One of the most polluting gases emmitted by diesels is Oxides of
Nitrogen (not visible) and particulate matter (grey/black smoke).
To pass pollution control the 4.2TD (previous version) had the timing
retarded slightly to reduce Oxides of Nitrogen.
The new one has a sensor on injector number one (you will notice the
injector is different) from where it receives a knock reading and the
control unit retards/advances the timing accordingly, however the
pump still has the mechanical centrifugal advance, it is just the
initial timing which is controlled.
Everything else is the same, it also has an idle posistion sensor to
tell the system when you have taken the foot off the throttle so it
can retard the injection right off and to turn on/off the EGR (which
is also to reduce Oxides of Nitrogen).
The turbo housing is small on purpose, it allows the turbine to spool
at low RPM for better driveability and no turbo lag, however the side
effect is less high RPM power.
By changing the housing/turbine they change the flow and it gains
power at higher RPM but looses some of the low end torque.
Depending what you are after the modification may be a solution for
you, if you are after highway power go for it, if you are on the
other hand after off road torque and flexibility, leave it as it is.

All other changes as advertised by certain people are a compromise
not worth the effort, most of them bypass the turbo wastegate
(causing it to overboost), fiddle with the aneroid settings, (in the
older ones they also advanced injection timing) with disregard for
Oxides of nitrogen which are harmfull for the environment and also
for the engine.
FollowupID: 339194

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Tuesday, Oct 12, 2004 at 06:32

Tuesday, Oct 12, 2004 at 06:32
Gday Crayman (Maurie)

Excellent post mate. I thought the smaller turbo housing allowed for bottom end boost. Top end, I feel is great in mine now with the mods and I have enough for my needs.

With Motsons doing the 'scrape out' of the turbo housing, all they do is better your top end. I think I'd be dissappointed with that sort of result. Bottom end is where the TD6 lacks, once the turbo kicks in, it's all good.

That was proved last weekend when we were out playing. Another GU (TD) was out and couldn't find the weeties to get himself out of a hole. I pulled myself out of that same hole because the turbo kicked in so low that I had the hp to turn the wheels with minimal acceleration.

Thanks mate,

Chris.
FollowupID: 339234