Campers, I'm converted

Submitted: Sunday, Oct 10, 2004 at 19:11
ThreadID: 16937 Views:3441 Replies:11 FollowUps:4
I picked up a camper trailer during the week at the right price and went away in it yesterday to Murrindindi Forest. Kitchen, watertank, awning, 6 inch thick Q/S mattress, storage box on the front etc.

It took a bit of convincing SWMBO that we needed one. She reckons she's past camping. Well she didn't want to come home. After sitting around the fire whilst I cooked a leg of lamb in the campoven, a great nights sleep on a big comfortable bed, hot breakfast in the morning, cold lamb sandwiches for lunch today; she's converted.

The beauty is the time saving. Doesn't take long to set up and put down, and when we got home there's almost nothing to unpack. Leave the bedding, chairs, tables, lights, cooking gear etc in the camper. Get the fridge out of the car, bring in the clothes, camera etc, empty the portable dunny and it's all over.

Camping will never be the same again.

Anyone want to buy a tent?

Reply By: Lone Wolf - Sunday, Oct 10, 2004 at 19:39

Sunday, Oct 10, 2004 at 19:39
Jimbo, went through the same thing with Tracy when I bought the Black Wolf Turbo Tent!

It's all in a good days spending!!!

Wolfie
AnswerID: 79607

Reply By: locallaw - Sunday, Oct 10, 2004 at 19:44

Sunday, Oct 10, 2004 at 19:44
Gidday,I take it that it didnt rain on your trip???.Be prepared for COLD SHOULDER and HOT TONGUE when it does.
Been there done that,
Seeya Locallaw
AnswerID: 79610

Follow Up By: pjd - Sunday, Oct 10, 2004 at 20:27

Sunday, Oct 10, 2004 at 20:27
rain hail or shine its far better in a camper than a tent
FollowupID: 339006

Follow Up By: squizzy - Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 16:48

Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 16:48
We have had our camper in some really good downpours, and one trip was 4 days continuous.
I know what I would rather be in.
FollowupID: 339125

Reply By: Willem - Sunday, Oct 10, 2004 at 20:39

Sunday, Oct 10, 2004 at 20:39
Whilst sitting around in the Birdsville Caravan Park a few weeks back, swatting flies, I took a keen interest in all the camper trailers coming in and and being set up. My travelling friends also have a Jayco Hawk. Bloody hell...I think you must spent half your holiday packing up and repacking the CT. "Oh it doesn't take long" was the catchcry. An hour to an hour and a half to either set up or pack up I took note.

I guess they are ideal for families but they are not for me...I couldn't be bothered with a CT..too much hassle.
AnswerID: 79623

Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Sunday, Oct 10, 2004 at 21:22

Sunday, Oct 10, 2004 at 21:22
Willem,

I've done it both ways (no, not that) and I love the camper.

Mine's not a Jayco style (they're great too), it's the flip over tent on a trailer style. Flip open the tent, peg out the floor and the awning which is already attached, five to ten minutes. Set up the table and chairs, hook on the kitchen, have a beer and start the fire. Have a feed and hop into a big comfortable bed.

Portable dunny in the tent part so that Jenny doesn't have to go outside for a wee in the early hours of the morning. Magnificent.
FollowupID: 339019

Reply By: Baz (NSW) - Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 07:46

Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 07:46
Welcome to the club Jimbo, they are good aren't they we'll never go back either.

Now ya gotta get one of these buggers too, nothing like a hot shower at the end of the day.

This post was brought to you by my Helton heat exchanger.

[ View Image]

AnswerID: 79657

Reply By: Patrol22 (Queanbeyan - Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 08:40

Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 08:40
Hey Jimbo
Like everything there are swings and round-a-bouts. CTs have there place and this is certainly not if really difficult terrain. Spent more than a few hours getting vehicles towing CTs out of trouble - especially across rivers. But then again for a trip into most NPs where you are setting up a base - they are great.
Pete
AnswerID: 79663

Reply By: D-Jack - Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 12:50

Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 12:50
Amen

And ours has got zip-on walls around the awning. Came in very handy at Flinders last weekend after all the rain, heaps of flies. Sitting under the fly-proof verandah made feeding the baby much easier, and I tempers didn't fray like they can when too hot inside the camper and too flyie outside!
AnswerID: 79704

Reply By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 14:47

Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 14:47
Howdy mate!

I was anti-camper until end of year holiday last year up to Bundy!

Hired out an offroad soft floored camper, didn't like the soft floor much, but on a whole, what a difference.

Just purchased the aussie swag camper with the hard floor, takes exactly 48 seconds to level, unclip and fold out. A further 1 minutes 34 seconds was spent preparing bed, and going to engel in back of patrol for a coldie. Exactly 54 seconds later I was sitting down on the chair, looking at the sunset sipping on a cold pil...

Ahhh, no poles, no wrapping up and folding up, no wet tent inside the car etc etc.

Chris.
AnswerID: 79722

Reply By: flappan - Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 15:20

Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 15:20
Horses for courses.

For a family . . . bees knees.

We can have the CT setup to sleep in , for a quick stop , in roughly 10 minutes. Probably 15 to pack away.

For a proper setup for a couple of days , may take about 30 to 40 mins , and about same to pack away.

For us though . . . took just as long , if not longer , to setup camp with tents etc , and not nearly as comfortable.
AnswerID: 79729

Reply By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 17:07

Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 17:07
What sort of tent you got? :-) How Much?
AnswerID: 79752

Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 17:57

Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 17:57
Sorry mate, just joking about the tent. I'm keeping it in case we need to get into some rough spots. The camper's not a real off road job.
FollowupID: 339128

Reply By: Member - Camper (SA) - Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 23:40

Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 23:40
Any tent which gave us the room of our CT would be so big it would be a bugga to carry, unpack and set up. Let alone the queen size bed, kitchen and storage space for food, gear, esky tools etc.
And I'd much rather carry all that stuff in a trailer than in and on a 4WD
My screen name is not Camper for nothing.
Camper
AnswerID: 79838

Reply By: Member - Melissa - Tuesday, Oct 12, 2004 at 11:40

Tuesday, Oct 12, 2004 at 11:40
Hiya Jimbo,

Welcome to the club. Campertrailers aren't selling like hotcakes around the country for nothing! Different strokes for different folks but we love our CT. We'd been looking at them for years from the time they were just starting to get around but could never afford one. Then back in the late 90's we regularly camped with a family of 5 who had a very good DIY campertrailer. Camping with them was a real eye opener and convinced us that a CT was the way to go so less than a year later we bought one and haven't looked back since.

We're onto our 2nd CT now so we had the experience from the first one to be more specific about what we wanted 2nd time around. Even so, we've still made a few minor mods and additions. Thought we just about had the perfect set-up too but I have an idea forming a shelf at the bottom of the kids bunks. That's half the fun of CT...you got something else other than the 4WD to tinker with now LOL.

:o) Melissa
AnswerID: 79892