Roof Rack tables

Submitted: Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 12:50
ThreadID: 16959 Views:3183 Replies:8 FollowUps:13
Any one had experiance with the roof racks that double as a table. Other than the need to unpack every thing....what was your thoughts of them.

Also....any ideas of suppliers on the South Side of Brisbane who stock/sell them.

Thanks in advance for your replys
Simon

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 12:55

Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 12:55
You need very big bar stools to use the roofrack as a table.
AnswerID: 79705

Follow Up By: Well 55 - Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 12:57

Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 12:57
Nah you park the vehicle in a hole.
FollowupID: 339083

Follow Up By: Simon C - Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 13:01

Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 13:01
OK...Looks like we need to be specific on some questions.

Unload roof Rack, remove from vehicle, and THEN use as table at ground level.

Thats how they work in Qld anyway.

FollowupID: 339085

Follow Up By: Gajm (VIC) - Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 13:21

Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 13:21
Not trying to sound negative, but what are the advantages of the roof rack tables? I have the old card table type, I would really like something better, a bit more solid, but these are cheap, light and fold up thin enough to pack away somewhere.
FollowupID: 339089

Follow Up By: Gajm (VIC) - Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 13:34

Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 13:34
Nevermind, just did a search
http://motorcare.com.au/tblrck.htm
They deliver anywhere.

To me they are too expensive, and that's without adding the Rhino rack, but if that's not an issue, and all you are carrying on top is a few chairs, and things that you will need to unpack to use with the table anyway, then they probably wouldnt be bad.

One good thing about a normal roofrack is you can unload everything and set up camp, then go and use it to do a woodrun, or similar
FollowupID: 339092

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 19:26

Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 19:26
"Unload roof Rack, remove from vehicle, and THEN use as table at ground level."

So sitting in the dirt you mean? With the ants and dunny budgies?

You are joking arent you?

Have you ever picked up a full length roofrack? You would break ya back for a 30 min lunch stop??

Get one of the folding alloy tables that roll up, we have 3 of them, they rock.

FollowupID: 339142

Follow Up By: Simon C - Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 19:41

Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 19:41
Chill Out Truckster.

Mate. Just asking if any body had used them. Appears you haven't, as the link that Gajm found shows it on legs. As for unpacking lunch, sorry but you missed the point again. Not even us Qld's are that dumb. I'm talking 7 days set up some where. Gives the miss's a good sized table to work on (doesn't it ?)

And an alloy rack possibly wouldn't break your back.

Thanks to all who had constructive comments

FollowupID: 339147

Reply By: dogart - Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 13:40

Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 13:40
Unload roof Rack, remove from vehicle, and THEN use as table at ground level.
Table can then be used to spread out bananas before bending which were carried on the roof rack, and then we can clear the table and test all the matches to see if they work before we build the fire!

SORRY!!!

Thats how they do it in Qld anyway.

Seriously SimonC, it sounds like alot of effort just to have a table mate.

Love Qld, Bananas and playing with matches!!! DOH
AnswerID: 79708

Reply By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 13:53

Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 13:53
Answer: Buy table from camp shop, put on roof rack, Stack gear on table.
A hell of a lot easier to setup and a hell of a lot cheaper too!
AnswerID: 79714

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 19:27

Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 19:27
> Buy table from camp shop

Yup 100% correct. Spend an hour unpacking table in 30 degree heat, for a 1 hour stop? then 3 hours to repack as nothing EVER goes back where it came from.
FollowupID: 339143

Follow Up By: Gajm (VIC) - Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 20:32

Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 20:32
Come on Truckster, packing up is just like playing Tetris.

The best part is when you have it packed before leaving home, stand back, and think to yourself you've done pretty well to fit all that in....and then the wife brings out more.

Can you give me a bit more info on the roll up Aluminium table?
FollowupID: 339168

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 22:34

Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 22:34
"packing up is just like playing Tetris"
Have you ever completed tetris 100%?
FollowupID: 339199

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 22:36

Follow Up By: Gajm (VIC) - Tuesday, Oct 12, 2004 at 10:36

Tuesday, Oct 12, 2004 at 10:36
Truckster, the second of those tables looks like the go for us, do you have any idea what they are like to pack and unpack? could the kids do it with no fear of losing fingers? The table and chairs is one of their jobs for setting up camp.
FollowupID: 339258

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Oct 12, 2004 at 11:04

Tuesday, Oct 12, 2004 at 11:04
Yea the kids could do it in about 1 minute easily. they fold down to pack similar size to a fold up chair. check em out. not too rich either on the pocket.
FollowupID: 339265

Reply By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 14:13

Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 14:13
Gday Simon,

Saw one of them the other day! Whilst the designer had a great idea, it probably best suits the 'one day trip' as opposed to the full blown 6 week cape trip. I would suggest that packing your picnic stuff etc would be ok, but to buy a fold up jobby for $40 seems like the more economical way to go...

Chris.
AnswerID: 79717

Reply By: Rob! - Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 17:12

Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 17:12
Simon

I came across them on the net while searching for a roof rack
here

Personally, I'd just buy a fold up table.

R.
AnswerID: 79754

Reply By: Vince NSW - Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 17:40

Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 17:40
What a great item.
I allways wanted to take a table tennis table to the Cape incase ithe trip was a bore
Vince
AnswerID: 79758

Reply By: Glenn (VIC) - Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 19:23

Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 19:23
mmmm I am sure I had a response here...where could it have gone?
AnswerID: 79778

Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 19:38

Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 19:38
I thought so too, as I saw my name mentioned and hydraulic legs...

Al
FollowupID: 339146

Reply By: Boeing - Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 20:47

Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 20:47
Hi Simon, Had a look at the site. Can't get excited about the product. Coleman do a folding table that gives the compact packing advantage but unfolds to about the size of a tressle table. Worth a look.

AnswerID: 79796