Chainsaws

Submitted: Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 17:46
ThreadID: 16967 Views:8047 Replies:17 FollowUps:15
I'm looking at buying a small chainsaw to cut wood for the campfire. I saw a Mcculloch 14" inch at Bunnings for $269.

Does anyone have any suggestions as to which ones are good and who does them at the right price?

Reply By: cokeaddict - Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 17:55

Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 17:55
Hi Jim, I got me a Talon last year. Just for cutting fire wood at camp sites when needed, have used it a few times, i am very impressed with it. Its no comparison to the McCulloch brand but it works very well for me. One thing i would suggest here though is when you eventually get one. Use synthetic oil. I do this because i have a 20 ltr can for my 2 stroke bike and its always run on synthetic oil. Long term its a much better option. I run my lawn mower on it and whipper snipper and my mower is now passing 25 years old and still starts second pull. Also my bike is a 1981 model and it too starts first kick to this day. Just my shillings worth if its any good to you
cheers Angelo
AnswerID: 79759

Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 18:17

Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 18:17
Ange,

The bloke at Bunnings put me off the Talon, said it was Chinese made and they get a lot back. I was interested in it at $194, seemed a bargain. Made me think an extra $75 could be a good investment.

Any problems with your's.

FollowupID: 339129

Follow Up By: cokeaddict - Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 20:00

Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 20:00
No problems at all with mine, and yes the bloke was right about getting many back, he was refering to the first lot that hit the shelves. They were shocking. But they really have sorted out the problems now. But saying that Jim, all models have problems. I see it as luck of the draw really. But like all my stuff, i look after it and dont abuse it. Its cheaper that way in the long run.
WHatever you decide, good luck
FollowupID: 339158

Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 21:09

Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 21:09
Thanks Ange.
FollowupID: 339179

Follow Up By: Aandy(WA) - Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 23:38

Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 23:38
I bought a 16inch Ryobi a couple of years ago and am very happy with it. It has cut many trailer loads. I also have found that the Talon 16 inch is exactly the same apart from colour. The mower shops sell another exactly the same under the MTB (I think) brand and some internet research at the time found a McCulloch 16inch model exactly the same. The mower shop told me that all 4 brands are rebadged McCullochs. Prices have dropped over the last couple of years. Other brands with good reputations are of course Stihl (I saw one for $399 last weekend - 14inch I think) Poulan is very well made I'm told by a repairer who has had years of experience. Small petrol engines seem to be getting cheaper by the day - I saw a generator at Bunnings for $98!!
FollowupID: 339222

Reply By: Bob of KAOS - Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 18:12

Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 18:12
Jimbo,
because I live in the bush I have two chain saws - a small Stihl and the bigger Farmboss. However, I never take them camping. If absolutely necessary we cut wood with a bushman saw, but usually just drag logs to the fire and feed them in as needed. I know its a personal thing but a chainsaw is enathema to the style of camping we do and the reason I go bush. The other factor is the weight of the chainsaw.
AnswerID: 79761

Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 18:24

Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 18:24
Good point Bob but I don't plan to use it at any unreasonable times. Maybe 5 or 10 minutes in the middle of the day, well away from campsites so as not to upset anyone.

On the weekend we struggled to get a decent fire going for the camp oven. the wood we gathered was to small and burnt away too quickly. I was standing looking at a pile of logs around 4-5 inches thick which were to big for the tomahawk, and I kept thinking, if only I had a chainsaw.

FollowupID: 339130

Reply By: Stew53 - Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 18:18

Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 18:18
I Bought a Mcculloch for the same reason and spent most of my spare time trying to get it to run, lost count on the number of times I had to repair the pull starter, I threw the thing away and bought the cheapest Stihl Chainsaw about 9 years back and I neglect the thing and it still runs faultlessly (you seen the ad with the one in the back of the ute, could be mine), one of the reasons I bought the Stihl was that the local CRT agent sells them and has heaps of spares and service manuals and parts were as I have never seen Mcculloch spares etc to the same extent.
Stew
AnswerID: 79764

Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 18:25

Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 18:25
Thanks Stew,

What's a CRT agent?

FollowupID: 339131

Reply By: Stew53 - Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 18:41

Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 18:41
CRT is the local rural supplies place ie farm tools, chemicals, seeds, dip etc
I must admit I do use my elcheapo Bow saw I got from mitre 10 for $12 most of the time in the bush.
Stew
AnswerID: 79768

Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 18:50

Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 18:50
Hmm,

Maybe the bow saw is a better alternative. How long is it and how quick does it get through a log?

jim.
FollowupID: 339137

Follow Up By: Stew53 - Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 19:24

Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 19:24
600mm, very quick
FollowupID: 339141

Follow Up By: Gajm (VIC) - Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 20:39

Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 20:39
I agree the bow saw is a great option, and you sleep well afterwards too.
FollowupID: 339170

Follow Up By: duncs - Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 23:18

Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 23:18
How quick does it go through a log?

Depends how hard you push it. I know a guy who would be as quick with a bow saw as most people are with a chainsaw. Personally I am a lot slower but how often do you need it.

I always use the drag and break principal for firewood collection and have never had a problem. Even when building up a bed of coals for the camp oven if you build the fire properly you can get the job done with light stuff.

The main reason I have been encouraged to carry a chainsaw was to remove fallen logs from the track. Never had to do that either. I carry a large axe 'cause I've got one and I have hardly ever used that either.

Just my 2c
FollowupID: 339219

Reply By: Utemad - Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 19:02

Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 19:02
Don't forget you can be fined for taking a chainsaw into a National Park. It has to be disabled by removing the cutting bar and chain.

Lets not forget that collecting firewood by going into the bush and removing deadwood is an environmental issue. It is home to all sorts of things.

I believe you also cannot take firewood onto some of the islands. Due to the possibility of introducing pests.

If you are only going away on a short camping trip try to take all the wood you need. Alternatively consider a gas only trip. I know some people think its not camping without a fire but it is not sustainable if everyone thinks that way.

Some places already have a 'no fire' policy regardless of the season.
AnswerID: 79774

Follow Up By: Utemad - Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 19:04

Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 19:04
I forgot to mention that we use a Husqvarna at work. Not sure of the model but it is a real big one. Bloody heavy.
FollowupID: 339140

Reply By: Paul's lot - Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 19:04

Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 19:04
If it's just for camping I went for the Poulon. They are a yank thing with a big following over there and you can get them cheap. Mine hasn't let me down yet and I'm on my second chain after numerous re-sharpens.
AnswerID: 79775

Reply By: Boeing - Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 19:25

Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 19:25
Jimbo, Don't forget all the safety gear.... a chainsaw could wreck a good camping trip.

AnswerID: 79780

Reply By: Member - Jack - Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 19:48

Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 19:48
You might like to look at a simple bush saw. I have just come back from a trip through Victoria and took it with me and it cut everything I needed very easily. Just remember that you can get two sorts of blades - one for wet (green) wood and one for dry woodl I take both.

When I was in the Grampians on this trip I was a bit slack and did not change the saw blade (green wood) and struggled to cut a log of about 6" diameter. After a while I changed the blade and it cut though it like a knife through butter. Effortless.

And I have a small Stihl chainsaw, but very rarely does it get with me on a trip.
Might save you a stack of bucks.

Jack
The hurrieder I go, the behinder I get. (Lewis Carroll-Alice In Wonderland)

AnswerID: 79783

Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 21:13

Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 21:13
Thanks Jack,

Great feedback.

When you say a "simple bush saw", what exactly is this and where do you get one? The idea of of different blades for different wood sounds great.

FollowupID: 339181

Follow Up By: Member - Jack - Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 22:36

Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 22:36
Hi Jim:

I *think* they are commonly called a bow saw - normally there is a release on the handle which takes the tension off the blade to allow you to change them, then pull the handle back to get the tensiion back into them.

If you like I can photograph mine (looks pretty tatty, but still cuts) and a pic of each of the blades. I get the good Sandvick blades every time. Not that expensive.

I have a bit of plastic tubing that I fit the blades into (attached to the saw) so that it does not tangle/cut stuff up in my tool box, nor my fingers as I am ratting around trying to find it. Give me an email and I can get the pics for you tomorrow (when the sun comes up).

Jack

FollowupID: 339201

Follow Up By: Member - Jack - Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 22:43

Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 22:43
Sorry - forgot to mention that you can get them from almost any hardware store. But the important thing is to make sure you have the correct blades. After that the cutting is dead easy.

Jack

FollowupID: 339202

Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 20:06

Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 20:06
I have been known to cut half a ton of wood or more during the night whilst sleeping jimbo. Just ask the Teddy Bear Picnic crowd lol.
AnswerID: 79785

Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 21:17

Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 21:17
Mate,

Only a half a ton? Jenny reckons I could drop a forrest, that's why she won't sleep in the same bed as me.

Get's better after a few brews, the wilderness could be in danger.

FollowupID: 339184

Reply By: Crackles - Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 20:42

Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 20:42
Jim. the 006 Stihl is a powerfull compact saw that is an ideal size for a 4x4. Big enough to clear a decent log off the track and get a bit of wood for the fire. What ever you choose stick with the proven quality brands like Stihl, Huskvarnah, Shindiawa & Tanaka. You pay a bit more but at least they will start year after year & if you want to sell, it will have some resale. Hardware stores are hardly the best spot to buy a quality saw. Cheers Craig...............
AnswerID: 79793

Reply By: rolande- Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 20:53

Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 20:53
Jimbo,
Look at a chainsaw purchase as a long term investment. I cut my own firewood and use the saw for tree trimming, etc, around the house. My Stihl is now 15 years old, only gets a service once per year and will last me another 15 years. Be sure to buy a "Made in Germany" one as opposed to a made in USA one, from about $400 for a small one they are an excellent long-term investment. If you find a Poulan or Weedeater at a good price, I believe these are the same as the USA made Stihl saws, (Stihl bought the company), but German made still much better
Rolande
AnswerID: 79797

Reply By: Suba Mac - Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 21:55

Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 21:55
Jim

Beware of cheapies from Bunnings. There is a reason why. I have McCulloch which is about 8 years old. I went to a repair shop and they said that you can not get spare parts for them (even the new ones) except for basic maintenance items (chains, bar guides, sprockets). Mcculloch basically went bankrupt and were bought out (can't remember by who, it might have been electrolux). The only products (with the old name) are off the shelf with little or no support parts. If I were you I would hang the extra expense and buy a Stihl or a husqi (Husqvarna - strangely owned by electrolux as well but these are the real deal)

Suba Mac
AnswerID: 79816

Reply By: Muddy 'doe (SA) - Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 23:00

Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 23:00
Can't beat a sharp Bow Saw for compactness. Used on many Scout trips and cut logs up to 12" with only reasonable effort required. Also good as an emergency measure if there is a log on the track. Will be buying one for myself when I see one at the right price! Will have to investigate the multiple blades for green and dry wood.

Muddy 'doe
AnswerID: 79831

Reply By: Member - Bradley- Tuesday, Oct 12, 2004 at 08:12

Tuesday, Oct 12, 2004 at 08:12
Mate stick with the big guns, still and huski for a good saw, trust me ten years later you will still have no dramas with them. Still have a nice small saw with tool-less chain adjust etc. for about $600. But looked at a nice Huski the other day 32cc small job, on special for $390 Nice little saw, good all rounder. PS- when you buy it get a spare chain as well, saves having to sharpen one on the go if you bite into the dirt. Our big huski has been used hard for the last 10 years , even had a tree roll over it and it still starts first go, and runs like a charm. Chainsaws are one area where you do get what you pay for. see ya
AnswerID: 79858

Reply By: GeeTee - Tuesday, Oct 12, 2004 at 12:50

Tuesday, Oct 12, 2004 at 12:50
Hi Jim,
I have just bought a Husqvana 136 14" chainsaw in Geraldton (WA) on the way back here to Darwin. Cost me $399 but worth it. Starts every time and cuts like going through butter. Have got 2 Mac's in the shed that cost more in repairs than a new Husky ! ! I use it to stock up on wood where it is freely available, potato sack on the roof rack.

GeeTee
AnswerID: 79904

Reply By: Moose - Tuesday, Oct 12, 2004 at 13:25

Tuesday, Oct 12, 2004 at 13:25
Jimbo - if all you want the saw for is a bit of firewood once in a blue moon I reckon you're wasting your money with a chainsaw. I have a small Husqvarna and it's bloody brilliant but I use it for more than just camping firewood. They are real handy when you need to clear fallen trees off tracks - I've tried that caper with a bow saw once and it wasn't easy. But for just a bit of campfire wood I reckon the bow saw would be a better bet. Mind you if you have the space to carry the chainsaw and money's not an issue then go for it. As far as prices go just look in the phone book and ring around.
AnswerID: 79908

Reply By: D110V8D - Tuesday, Oct 12, 2004 at 15:19

Tuesday, Oct 12, 2004 at 15:19
You pay for what you get. Get a Sthill. Nothing else worth considering.
AnswerID: 79925