Shortcut nearly kills honeymooners

Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 12, 2004 at 04:54
ThreadID: 16982 Views:3344 Replies:6 FollowUps:8
Shortcut nearly kills honeymooners
By Rebecca Falconer
October 12, 2004

A FRENCH couple's honeymoon turned to a nightmare when they took a shortcut through the Central Australian bush.

And the decision, based on a route in a map and guidebook they had been following, almost cost them their lives.

If not for a lucky encounter with an Alice Springs couple who were camping by a remote swimming hole, the pair might never have been found.

Aymeric and Adeline LeFranc were on the home stretch of a four-day self-drive tour of Glen Helen, Kings Canyon and Uluru when they became lost on the way back to Alice Springs.

Their guidebook and French map both indicated a well-defined dirt road from Ernest Giles Rd through the Finke Gorge National Park to Hermannsburg.

But instead of heading north to Hermannsburg, the pair headed northeast toward the abandoned Stuart's Well track - and became heavily bogged.

Thirty-six hours later they were running out of food and water and Mrs LeFranc walked off to find help.

Mr LeFranc stayed with the car.

By sheer luck Mrs LeFranc found Boggy Hole.

But there was nobody at the spot and Mrs LeFranc backtracked the 18km to the vehicle.

The following morning - 2 days after becoming stranded - the couple headed out to Boggy Hole again with the last of their water.

Late on the morning of September 30, they were found by Dave Tolley and girlfriend Amy Hoben. The Alice Springs duo had been camping at Boggy Hole.

With the help of their saviours and six hours of digging and winching, Mr and Mrs Le Franc were safely back in Alice Springs.

Director of Direct 4WD Awareness Jol Fleming said every 4WD should have a step-by-step guide of how to handle such vehicles in the glove box.

Northern Territory News

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Oct 12, 2004 at 10:27

Tuesday, Oct 12, 2004 at 10:27
"But there was nobody at the spot and Mrs LeFranc backtracked the 18km to the vehicle"

You would have to have manure for brains to walk 18klms in that heat.. Specially if you dont know where you are, you maybe walking away from help.

Not in any order.
1) bet no HF or Sat Phone.. they were probably hired a 4b and kicked in the ar$e as they paid, and told to be back in X days.

2) even if they had a HF/Satphone, nobody would have under stood them.

3) THIS IS WHERE AN EPIRB WOULD HAVE WORKED.

4) About time the Gov did some new maps for this country before more people die. The ones I got for Robe SA, the latest datum was 1980something..

5) I bet they never told anyone of their plans EG we will be in X town on X day, and would never have been missed...
AnswerID: 79881

Reply By: Glenn (VIC) - Tuesday, Oct 12, 2004 at 10:32

Tuesday, Oct 12, 2004 at 10:32
Time for a lobby group to push for legislation in the area of hired 4wd's. How many people will have to die before something is done to ensure that education and training is enforced prior to the hiring of a 4wd.

Again, luck has spared the lives of two individuals who were incorrectly set up.

AnswerID: 79882

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Tuesday, Oct 12, 2004 at 12:53

Tuesday, Oct 12, 2004 at 12:53
Maybe we could ask Scrubby to lead this group after all it is pedestrian related. If people had the correct gear and knew how to use it it would save a lot of walking.
FollowupID: 339280

Reply By: cokeaddict - Tuesday, Oct 12, 2004 at 15:29

Tuesday, Oct 12, 2004 at 15:29
SO HOW do they say "she'll be right mate" in french?

Hey Truckster what are those EPIRD's worth and how big are they say compared to a shoe box? Do they last for years without being used or do they have a use by date?
Ill be looking into getting me one i think. Maybe not for me (I hope) but someone else I stumble across in my travels
AnswerID: 79928

Follow Up By: Member - Bruce (San Diego) - Tuesday, Oct 12, 2004 at 16:00

Tuesday, Oct 12, 2004 at 16:00
I got my EPIRD from ExploreOz and pretty much carry it with me everywhere we go all over the world. its about twice the size of a packet of cigarettes. Mine is the old system so I gues I'll have to replace it in 2007 I think. Pretty cheap insurance at about $300.00.

Over here in the states a girl just sat in the bottom of a ravine in her smashed car for 8 days with a couple of broken legs, bet she would have liked one, and the couple who were attacked by the saltie at Cape Melville set theirs off and were lifted out pretty smartly.

Bruce
FollowupID: 339299

Follow Up By: Bros - Tuesday, Oct 12, 2004 at 16:14

Tuesday, Oct 12, 2004 at 16:14
cokeaddict,
Sorry truckster i happened to see the question from cokeaddict and you had not replied.
E.P.I.R.B.'s cost anywhere from $190 to $300 depending where you get it from. They come in varying sizes from the personal one (roughly ciggy packet size) to the larger ones (Approx 80mm dia and 350mm long).
In the future Aus is switching over to a more powerful ( hertz range)version with the relevant hike in price.
Legal life of 5 years so when you buy get the one with the most time left.
I use two, both over the time limit for dire emergency (last resort) and who cares how old they are as long as they save lives.
Bros.
Work is the curse of the down and out bludger.

FollowupID: 339302

Reply By: Willem - Tuesday, Oct 12, 2004 at 19:32

Tuesday, Oct 12, 2004 at 19:32
The track those two got bogged on runs across Henbury and Orange Creek Stations. It must have rained out there recently. There are some steep gullies to cross but it is not a real 4x4 track. I have been on it a number of times over the past two decades. How they took the wrong turn is strange...but then again. The well defined road as mentioned is the the Boggy Hole Track from Ernest Giles Road through to Hermannsburg and Larapinta Drive, traversed by many 4wheelers each year. In places it would not be well defined but one has to follow ones nose along the riverbed. Having a good map helps. Once again tourists underestimate the vastness, remoteness and harshness of this country.
AnswerID: 79957

Reply By: Richard - Tuesday, Oct 12, 2004 at 19:57

Tuesday, Oct 12, 2004 at 19:57
I was up there a week ago and contemplated the Boggy Hole track but as I was a single vehicle got advice from the local police who said 'We don't tow out tourists'. I have a well equiped vehicle with plenty of sand driving experience and took their advice. A couple of mates took 8hrs to do this 100km track back in April.
I generally carry a weeks worth of food and water.
I won't comment on the last paragraph in the article.
AnswerID: 79961

Reply By: Rick Blaine - Tuesday, Oct 12, 2004 at 20:28

Tuesday, Oct 12, 2004 at 20:28
Well Well Well... Hmmmmm I dont know what to make of this....I mean well intentioned visitors leap into our surf each summer and have to be rescued... this Frog couple were rescued at a boggy hole....maybe we should be giving better advice before these "adventurers" arrive. Honestly one rarely hears of a dinkum Ozzie getting lost and dieing... I mean we all get lost at times but we seem to have the inherent skill to find ourselves again & frankly if we were lost in the centre of desolate France we would only have to walk 5km to the nearest vinyard...and the same applies to most visitors from overseas they have absolutly no idea of how vast Australia is.. they think the Sahara desert is a killer but it would fit in the ACT neatly...Maybe the idea of an EPIRB being supplied in all hire 4x4s is a good idea. I have never had to use mine, after all I'm only allowed on the blacktop....
AnswerID: 79968

Follow Up By: Rob - Tuesday, Oct 12, 2004 at 21:48

Tuesday, Oct 12, 2004 at 21:48
Another round of abuse for visitors to Oz or genuine concern? Our
'Frog' visitors were lucky this time - fortunately there was enough water
for them. One rarely hears about anyone getting lost and _dying_ but when you do - the media will love it - especially if they are 'Frog', 'Pom',
'Kraut' etc. We're all the basically the same - we can all get lost.

By the way, I think you will find that the continent of Australia will neatly fit into the Sahara - with a sizeable strip round the edge for you to get lost in. Coincidentally, France will fit 3 times into this 'strip'. (Lots of _vineyards_!)

We're all basically the same. In some people's case, the difference is the education.
FollowupID: 339331

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Tuesday, Oct 12, 2004 at 21:52

Tuesday, Oct 12, 2004 at 21:52
Rick - Word of Warning - while not critical to your survival, if you ever get on "Who Wants to Be a Millionaire" and the final question (to win $1 mill) is “What is bigger in area? 1) The Sahara Desert or 2) The ACT - and you lock in 2)The ACT - …you will be a bit disappointed, to say the least:)

FollowupID: 339332

Follow Up By: Member - Mungo Explorer (NSW) - Tuesday, Oct 12, 2004 at 23:44

Tuesday, Oct 12, 2004 at 23:44
Sahara desert fit the ACT? You should be a politician...
On the story of the two French travellers, the problem is the irresponsible hire companies, plus the mystique - to the uninitiated - of what a 4wd can do. Before I had my own, I remember several occasions when I hired a 4wd with noone telling me about manual hubs, centre diffs, etc, let alone what to do in an emergency. And I thought it would go anywhere, including straight through the Daintree rainforest down to the beach (seriously, I tried!).
Can't blame the tourists for not knowing. The responsibility lies with those making money out of them.
FollowupID: 339340

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 09:19

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 09:19
Mungo has hit it right on the head.
"the irresponsible hire companies"...

That was my point about grabbing the $ and kicking them out the gate telling them to be back on X date.

They have NO problems taking $, but as Mungo said, they would never show you ANYTHING, probably not even where the key goes to open the door.

But what do you do? 1 day training is better than nothing but as all would know here, you dont learn enough in 1 day to get you out of most situations.. but its a start.

EPIRB training
Radio Training - HOW AND WHO TO CALL ON WHAT FREQUENCY
HOW TO ENGAGE 4WD AND WHEN
Tire Pressures
HOW REMOTE OUR LAND REALLY IS

Maybe even trip planning with them. You pick up car in Cairns, and your going to Cape York. Give them some sort of guidance. Show them what dangers there is off the main track.
But then you will always get the know-it-all that wont listen and will get inbleepand cry when it happens..

there is no easy answer
FollowupID: 339359

Follow Up By: Rick Blaine - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 09:22

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 09:22
Maybe I've seen "Casablanca" to many times......
FollowupID: 339361