Optimax/ Premium Unleaded

Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 12, 2004 at 20:22
ThreadID: 17007 Views:3552 Replies:16 FollowUps:10
Well, I put three tankfuls of Optimax through the Jerry Can, and despite Shell's claims of it being a "high density" fuel and thus better mileage, I didn't see an increase. Couldn't quantify any performance advantage against the stop watch either.

Tried the same with an XR8 I had a few years ago with the same result.

I remember reading an article by Barry Lake in "MOTOR" a couple of years ago and he basically said that if it's not a high performance engine designed and tuned for PULP, don't waste your money.

Anyone had any experiences?

Reply By: Lone Wolf - Tuesday, Oct 12, 2004 at 20:28

Tuesday, Oct 12, 2004 at 20:28
Yes.....

Honda HRV 1600 cc. Engine requires Premium Unleaded.

There is a DEFINITE increase in power when using Premium Unleaded, which is what I use all the time.

Sometimes up north, it's not available, so normal unleaded goes in the tank, and you can tell the difference.

My son was trying to explain to me how the differences work, but he was already preaching to the converted.

I would have thought that an XR8 was a big enough ballsy engine to run on anything, and not be fussy like some of the Jap motors, probably why you didn't see any difference.

Bit like the Cleveland 351 I had, bugger would run the same on Standard, Super & ULP!!

Wolfie ( Premium )
AnswerID: 79969

Follow Up By: Member - Paul J (ACT) - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 09:23

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 09:23
Aaahhhh Cleveland 351, those were the day's!!!!
FollowupID: 339362

Follow Up By: troy35 - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 16:31

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 16:31
".....Sometimes up north, it's not available, so normal unleaded goes in the tank, and you can tell the difference...."
Wolfie how would they do that and get away with it? Premium unleaded is yellow and normal unleaded is purple.
I saw a Delica for the first time today, I had never even heard of them before until I started reading this forum. The guy who owned it said they were great. I have four kids so its ideal for what I need. Might wait a few years though until my youngest grows up a bit.

Troy.
FollowupID: 339457

Reply By: Stewbag - Tuesday, Oct 12, 2004 at 20:34

Tuesday, Oct 12, 2004 at 20:34
I do get a few more k`s out of a tank and the power diff is none just stops the pinging(au ute 6 banger with uni-chip)and they tell me never use it in the bike.
So i use other bands pulp.
Cya
Stu
AnswerID: 79971

Follow Up By: pathfinder - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 13:43

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 13:43
why not use it in a bike?
FollowupID: 339426

Follow Up By: XS Challenger - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 14:04

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 14:04
Because in a bike the higher density fuel needs the engine to be specifically tuned to use it. The Shell Optimax is the only one I know of that needs the tuning. BP, Caltex, Mobil are all ok no special tuning required.
I was told by my bike mechanic when I took my new Triumph in because it was running rough as guts and actually stalled a few times.
FollowupID: 339432

Reply By: GO_OFFROAD - Tuesday, Oct 12, 2004 at 21:00

Tuesday, Oct 12, 2004 at 21:00
Any increase in performance will only be noticed on an efi computer controlled vehicle, if the computer allows it.

It can take 500-5000km for the ecu to "learn" its required map for the premium fuel.

My HSV VU and VY R8's noticed a performance gain, and got 70km per tnak further on optimax, my 4.5 troopy chugged low rpm in low range like snow better, and did perform better if run for 5+ tankfulls.
AnswerID: 79973

Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Tuesday, Oct 12, 2004 at 21:30

Tuesday, Oct 12, 2004 at 21:30
You can usually pull the fuse for the ECU for about one hour to reset it and it will learn more quickly (goes back to factory default values). Gets rid of the "nasty memories" of the old fuel.

Do not pull the main fuse, unless you have all the reset codes for your audio system and any aftermaket accessories.......
FollowupID: 339329

Reply By: Wombat - Tuesday, Oct 12, 2004 at 21:15

Tuesday, Oct 12, 2004 at 21:15
Our Nissan 200SX get exactly 10% better fuel consumption on Optimax and pings like buggery if it is filled with normal ULP. 0-100kmh time is reduced marginally on premium but 200kmh comes up a lot quicker. From what I can gather the engine has to be tuned for the higher octane to get the best results.
AnswerID: 79978

Reply By: Utemad - Tuesday, Oct 12, 2004 at 21:25

Tuesday, Oct 12, 2004 at 21:25
My 2.6Litre Rodeo gets better economy with PULP and it seems to have a little more power as it revs less at 100km. I use it for trips and various other times.

However at 10c/litre more I don't think it is 10% or so better. So I don't use it all the time.
AnswerID: 79982

Follow Up By: Member - John - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 07:27

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 07:27
Utemad, How can it rev less at 100mk, unless the tires are different or gear ratios have been changed?

FollowupID: 339346

Follow Up By: Utemad - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 15:11

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 15:11
Sorry didn't mean it actually revs less. I meant to say that it sounds like it does. Bit quieter drives better. That sort of thing.
FollowupID: 339442

Reply By: bushfix - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 07:58

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 07:58
G'day Jimbo,

as Darren mentioned, it can take 500-5000km for the ecu to "learn" its required map for the premium fuel.

An interesting 'case study' to read from the LCOOL pages on Optimax in a petrol Prado can found at http://www.lcool.org/technical/prado_high_octane_fuel.html.
It describes the timing of spark generation wrt the compression cycle, for the particular engine.

Jeremy.
AnswerID: 80014

Reply By: flappan - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 10:14

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 10:14
I found we got a slight increase by using Optimax , and the BP Premium stuff.

We got about 50 to 100k's better per tank. When the price difference is about 10c per litre though , it makes no financial difference.
AnswerID: 80030

Reply By: Uppy - Member - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 10:19

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 10:19
Hi Jimbo,Ive got a 4.2 efi patrol,I only use plup,Ive found that it inceases both power and Kms,up to about 70 kms around town ,Perth, and on the open road I can get up to 120-130 kms per tank full
regards uppy
AnswerID: 80032

Reply By: lukasz - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 13:21

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 13:21
I noticed the same thing my GQ (carburettor) on BP Ultimate is using around 16 L/100km vs. around 19L/100km on regular. But the biggest difference is in engine responsiveness.

Lukasz
AnswerID: 80059

Reply By: Davoe - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 14:05

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 14:05
The difference in economy and power in vehicles tuned for pulp is simple to explain. It has nothing to do with extra density or other crap. It is because modern vehicles are built with knock sensors that retard timing and prevent pinging when using low octane fuel. Higher octane in the fuel allows the engine to run with a more advanced timing that allows more power and better economy. Most cars will run better on pulp but it depends on the original setup of the engine desighn. My 89 Toyota Camry book specifically said to avoid pulp
AnswerID: 80065

Reply By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 14:24

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 14:24
BP Ultimate 98 makes our work van (2002 Carby 2.0L Mitsubishi Express) run HEAPS better, it actually pulls in second gear instead of just limping along. It stops my EFI 850cc 3 Cyl Daihatsu from pinging but power diff is barley noticable.
My 250cc 4 cylinder Honda CBRR used to only run on BP 98. Even shell or caltex premium fuels would make it idle lumpy and smell of un burnt fuel and a cold morning with anything other than BP 98 octaine meant a flat battery from trying to start it. It just wouldn't go on std premium until the day warmed up. BP, first go every time. It had 4 carbys on it and was a jap import tuned to run on jap fuel.
There is deffinatally a difference. Most of my mates with petrol 4bies run BP 98 because of better performance in dunes etc. Mainly torque.
AnswerID: 80067

Follow Up By: flappan - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 15:06

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 15:06
I could get a noticable difference from the BP Ulitmate , unfortunately , No BP's close by.
FollowupID: 339440

Follow Up By: Uppy - Member - Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 10:30

Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 10:30
Hi Jeff WA,thanks for the picture for the rig pic.I owe you a beer,Im started packing for our trip,will ring when we get back,say hello to Becs and Micheal
kind regrards uppy
FollowupID: 339520

Reply By: Savvas - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 16:07

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 16:07
I generally don't notice a performance increase in the Jack, going from ULP to 98. Over 3 weeks or more of constant use there is a slight economy improvement.

However, the performance decrease is noticeable within a day or two going back from 98 to ULP.

I usually only use ULP or PULP around town, and start using 98 3 to 4 tankfuls before a long trip.
AnswerID: 80084

Reply By: Richard - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 19:11

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 19:11
Used Optimax for a while and noticed a slight improvement in performance and consumtion. Couldn't work out whether the extra cost was worth it particularly with the fluctuating prices in Sydney. Gone back to ULP.
AnswerID: 80106

Reply By: Member - Ivan (ACT) - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 19:38

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 19:38
This link is worth a look - explains a bit why performance isn't seen straight away (for the Prado anyway)
AnswerID: 80107

Reply By: Patroleum - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 20:25

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 20:25
One of the biggest advantages is the cleaning properties. Continual use reduces or eliminates buildup on the back of inlet valves. I have plenty of experience with BMW engines that are known for extreme buildup on valves, the same engines that have used optimax or ultimate since new or since head overhaul have no buildup at all,in fact look like new. Recently seen 2 examples 1 at 33000km other at 50000km. Was a total sceptic before then, now converted.
Clean inlet = better idle,smoother throttle response,more power+better economy.
Plus the added advantages of no pinging, should equal better engine life.

We had a Merc 230e, old 86 mod and found app 50km better econ per tank on opti, Fairly antique old engine type,would be at home in a chaffcutter and econ was improved. Now use it in the 4.5 80 series, don't know if it improves econ in it, it is always a monster on fuel.

AnswerID: 80115

Follow Up By: Savvas - Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 13:43

Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 13:43
Just curious, but why were the heads off the BMWs at 33000 and 50000kms?
FollowupID: 339539

Reply By: WDR - Monday, Oct 18, 2004 at 03:38

Monday, Oct 18, 2004 at 03:38
I have come to this issue late - Am now trying tu use the new BP 95 octane regularly, should I expect similar improvements to 98 octane over time?
AnswerID: 80632