Submitted: Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 02:13
t0me
Hi people,
I'm heading back to Oz after 6 years pennance in London and I'm looking to setup to take my lady for a couple of laps around the block. We'll be looking for an 18" Van (with dunny and shower) and a 4x4 to tow it. 90% on road driving. I'm guessing about 2T of Van on the back (any better idea's of weights?). I haven't owned a 4X4 before. My preference is for Petrol because I know Petrol engines and can work on them. From reading just about every conversation in this
forum I'm guessing my choices (especially at around $20-23k to spend on the vehicle) are:
Jeep Cherokee
Frontera
Pathfinder
Pajero
Jackaroo
Ford Escape
We want Automatic, Aircon, and seating for up to 4. We will want to fit or have bars, and side steps (because the missus is a short a$$ pom). I've been looking at post 1998 vehicles with under 120k on their clocks.
So, the questions are:
Where to buy (which state?) I'm from
Perth but we could go anywhere to buy it?
Which vehicle?
How hard is it to get bits for a Jeep or Frontera, and how expensive?
What sort of running costs/fuel economy for each?
Tips, tricks, idea's, suggestions?
Cheers in advance everyone.
Reply By: Utemad - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 06:53
Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 06:53
Don't mean to sound negative but I don't think any of those vehicles would tow a 2 tonne van. To do that comfortably I think you would be in Patrol/Landcruiser territory.
I have seen 1998 GU Patrols for around $20 000.
Reply By: theshadows - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 07:15
Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 07:15
I hate to be a bearer of bad tidings .I think you will be very disappointed.
All of these vechiles at that mileage will be over 30 grand. At 20-25 gran expect 200-300 thou on the clock and average condition.As for year model again 20 grand will drop into early to mid 90's models.
Might I surgest to look at 61 series landcruiser coming in under the 15 year import sheme. That and the patrol large turbo diesals about 18 grand landed with rego under 100k mileage and you will have to spend about 3-4 kns on sorting out towbars and luguage systems.They look almost brand new you can get parts anywhere and have all the creature comforts allready installed in them.
shadow
Follow Up By: t0me - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 07:37
Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 07:37
Whats that 15 year import scheme Shadow?
Follow Up By: Member Eric - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 07:48
Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 07:48
I5 years old to be alowed to be imported into the country . But if you live overseas you can bring in a personal import , something you have owned overseas for at least A year
Reply By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 07:19
Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 07:19
To tow that size at that money I would suggest a good GQ Patrol petrol fitted with LPG.
There are plenty to choose from and they're a proven unit.
Good Luck.
Reply By: t0me - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 07:24
Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 07:24
I should say I am only guessing about the weight of an 18ft van. I haven't found anywhere yet on the internet to give me a better idea so I've guestimated from what I've read in the forums.
I've found examples of all the cars I mentioned at those sort of prices looking at Autotrader online (thats where I built the list). There were no Patrol's listed at that sort of price.
Keep it coming, and thanks for your replies so far.
Reply By: t0me - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 07:40
Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 07:40
What sort of mileage do you get out of a Patrol petrol engine?
From what I've read I have to look out for the 3L versions from 1998, if they haven't had their engines replaced then I should probably leave them alone, right?
Follow Up By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 07:51
Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 07:51
Towing a van i would assume a petrol engine would give you approx 20-25litres per 100km.....Maybe even 30..... In a Patrol anyway....
A diesel would be approx 15-18.....
And i wouldnt touch a 3litre GU in that era....
Something like the following vehicle is perfect for what you want...
Nissan GQ Patrol 1997
4.2lt diesel, 192,000km, 5
seat wagon, bullbar, towbar, long range fuel
tank,
driving lights,
snorkel, side steps, dual batteries, cargo barrier, storage draws, air con, cruise control, no beach work, March 05 rego, health reasons force sale in EC.
Price: $24,500
State: QLD City:
Brisbane Suburb:
Alexandra Hills
Name: donc
Phone: (07) 3824 2994
Email:
Send Enquiry
Submitted: 12 Oct 2004
Reply By: Member Eric - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 08:01
Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 08:01
Jeep Cherokee ,,,,,, partsare very expensive , my view is that they are old technology and thirsty as hell.
Fronterta / Escape / Pathfinder......... lol as if they will tow a 18 foot van, if you do go this way , please let us know as to make sure we dont end up on the same road together
Pajero / Jakaroo ., No problems there, you can find one under 20 k withought to much hassle , Not in
Perth though. You will have to travel east .
Reply By: Davoe - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 09:50
Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 09:50
bit long in the tooth but there are still good examples of 60 series l/c saharah with the 12ht turbo diesal getting around
Reply By: duncs - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 12:42
Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 12:42
tOme,
I think Voxson is on the money, when I started to read your post, before I got to the list of vehicles I was thinking GQ Patrol.
They are bulletproof and are fairly common if you start looking at Carpoint on the MSN site or at tradingpostonline then you should find plenty of examples many of which have seeen little if any off road use. Most seem to be
Melbourne or
Brisbane.
Coffs Harbour and Pt Macquarie seem to come up frequently in the adds too.
Just be careful buying something that has too many extras like
winches and diff locks or
suspension lifts. There are plenty of Patrols out there that have done some serious off raod work. Tough as they are like any other tool if they are worked hard theen they do suffer. When you look at them don't forget to stick your head underneath and have a look for bumps and scrapes on the chassis rails and cross members.
Happy shopping.
Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 15:06
Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 15:06
Jeep Cherokee
Frontera
Pathfinder
Pajero
Jackaroo
Ford Escape towing more than a MT 6x4 box would be a challenge!!
I wouldnt like to be towing a 18ft trailer with any of them.
1998 onwards with 120k klms ...
FYI, mate sold a diesel manual GQ 91 mod 250,000klms $18k with some extras.
You dont want much do you?
Reply By: Mark- Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 21:56
Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 21:56
I wouldnt be too worried about kms or year model if its a good vehicle. I just bought a rust free 4.2 Diesel GQ with 440,000 km on the clock and it drives extremely
well. I cant get over how quiet and smooth the drivetrain still is, considering the high k's. Its obviosly seen most of the country (several times) and towing a van as
well but its in surprisingly good conditon. With ac,
snorkel, bar, c/lock, dual batteries, 7 seats, it cost me $9000 on the road. In QLD at least, GQ's have really dropped in price in the last couple of years. I doubt it would have any trouble towing an 18' van. The GQ's didnt really change from 1988 - late 90's. For mid to high teens, you should be able to get a good GQ 4.2 diesel with aftermarket turbo - this would be my preferred tow vehicle by far in this price range. Its probably easier to find a good one without a turbo and then have a reputable company bolt a turbo on for you.
Reply By: Member - Rohan K - Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 13:16
Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 13:16
t0me, of those you mention, in petrol versions, I'd say not one will do the job adequately. I own a Pathy and tow a campertrailer that weighs about 1,100 to 1,200 kg when fully ladden. Despite Nissan's 2,000 kg rating, I wouldn't tow anything heavier than my trailer - the performance would be woeful. I doubt any of the other vehicles would do better.
If you insist on sticking with petrol, you really need to look for one of the "big 3" - Landcruiser, Patrol or maybe a V8 Disco. However, they'll be a bit older than a '98 model for $20,000.
Have a look in the trader section on this site for a few ideas on what you can expect for your money.
Reply By: Graeme666 - Monday, Oct 18, 2004 at 16:04
Monday, Oct 18, 2004 at 16:04
You haven't mentioned Prado. I tow a Platinum edition
Kimberley Kamper with my Prado RV6 with no problems at all - including through flooded and muddy stock
routes. The trailer weighs around one and half tonnes loaded and the fuel consumption while towing it is about the same as a full-sized petrol 'Cruiser or Patrol when they are not towing.
Follow Up By: t0me - Monday, Oct 18, 2004 at 18:35
Monday, Oct 18, 2004 at 18:35
Cheers Graeme,
I haven't seen a Prado in my price range but will keep looking.
We've been thinking hard and now I've convinced the gal that she won't have to forego any creature comforts and we will be much better off if we can get a lot further (and cheaper) if we don't tow a caravan. Its just the 2 of us so I think it will be fine.
So that just opens it all back up again! Now we can look for a more economical 4x4.
I'll throw this back at the
forum in a while and see what people suggest now.
Tom.