Manual v's Auto

Submitted: Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 05:14
ThreadID: 17012 Views:3032 Replies:22 FollowUps:33
Would be interested in hearing peoples thoughts on there preferences between manual & auto in a turbo diesel 4x4 vehicle

Reply By: Chaz - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 06:14

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 06:14
Hi Marklynn,
Personally, I prefer the auto, especially if it's in a late model vehicle. The main reasons for that are:
No loss of momentum during upshifts and the ability to change gear at anytime in any situation.
No turbo lag with the auto, because the torque converter will always put you on the top of the torque curve and into the powerband, so you'll never find yourself in the wrong gear.
The only downside with the auto that I can think of is slightly worst fuel economy in traffic, but on the open road it's no different to a manual.
Also the auto can be improved, by fitting a shift kit and manual over-ride for the converter clutch.
Just my opinion.
AnswerID: 80002

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 11:11

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 11:11
Chaz is spot on!
Also, I would be interested to see how many PRO manual people out there have actually owned an auto 4wd and taken it into harsh country? I know just about all Auto 4wd owners have had a manual at one time and still swear by the atuo. Just food for thought.
I know I always knocked auto 4wd's till I reluctantly bought one, now I'll never go back, what a bloody difference! And all this feeling in control CRAP, I feel much more in control of my auto than I ever did in my manuals, and before anyone pipes up I don't think that's to do with skill thank you! :-)
Also when in low range (at least in mine) the auto turns into a semi auto anyway. It won't change until it hits red line or you take your foot of the accelerater and put it back on again, it even sounds like a manual gear change. It's also in torque lock that whole time.
Can't beat em.
FollowupID: 339395

Reply By: Baz (NSW) - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 07:16

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 07:16
Manual for all the opposite reasons above, auto's do it all for you were's the skill in that you drive a manual you steer an auto no challenge. If you want to improve your driving skills drive a manual.

Just my opinion nothing personal.

We are an all manual family.
AnswerID: 80008

Follow Up By: cj - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 08:55

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 08:55
Everytime I see a manual v auto debate I see the comments about skill or feeling more in control. As far as skill goes then all those with manuals would never fit lockers either if they really beleived it. I understand the comment in relation to improving skill but at what point do you decide that your skill has improved and you can now upgrade to an auto? As for feeling more in control well if you don't feel in control of your vehicle what are you doing behind the wheel. These comments are not directed at anyone in particular but at the responses I have seen to to this question in the past on many forums.

I feel that both have positives and negatives but probably the main benefit of a manual is you get better engine braking for descents but this can be gained in an auto with crawler gears, driving techniques or fitting a manual lock-up of the torque convertor.

This is my biased opinion as I now have an auto and would never go back.
FollowupID: 339357

Reply By: Nudenut - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 07:42

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 07:42
Have had manual, auto, manual and now keep to auto...so much easier
AnswerID: 80012

Reply By: Utemad - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 07:46

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 07:46
Get a manual. Be warned though.........if you drive an auto vehicle for work, you will probably embarrass yourself when you occaisionally forget to put the clutch in when starting or stopping RAOFLMAO

Never happened to me though.................honest

Depends what you want to do. I would probably get an auto next time as the only downsides to them are engine braking, higher purchase price, more frequent brake maintenance, maybe others although manual has downsides too. All liveable.

Depends if you live city or country.

Autos are great for sand and towing.

Lots of things to consider.
AnswerID: 80013

Follow Up By: Member Eric - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 08:04

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 08:04
Reminds me of member Nick . I converted his 929 to auto some years ago .. HE TOOK IT FOR A TEST DRIVE AND ALMOST WENT THROUGH THE WINDSCREEN . lol Hit the brake thinking he had to press a clutch lol
FollowupID: 339351

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 09:19

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 09:19
Gold story mate! :-)
FollowupID: 339360

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 10:02

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 10:02
I could see the look on ya face too as you stood in the driveway watchin him try and go thru the roundabout at your joint.... LMAO
FollowupID: 339366

Reply By: fourstall2000 - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 08:55

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 08:55
The best of both worlds.
3.0 litre auto patrol,with Marks low range gears in transfer case.
Runs on the smell of an oily rag.
Puts out more power than a 4.2 six.
City driving is a breeze,up hill bush driving no stalling.
Downhill braking better than a manual.
Cost of gears $1200,which only change low ratios.
After 12 4wdrives,best combination ever.

AnswerID: 80020

Follow Up By: Leroy - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 10:53

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 10:53
"Puts out more power than a 4.2 six."
"After 12 4wdrives,best combination ever"

Change lures.....

Leroy
FollowupID: 339379

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 08:59

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 08:59
Autos for so many reasons.

Offroad the only place a manual has it over an auto is downhills.. Autos have no engine braking.

Hills - no slowing to change gear in an auto, it does it, so no loss of momentum.
Crusing around - just put it in Der and go...
Rivers - no hitting the clutch while in the water if needed and getting clutch full of mud and crap.
City Driving - peak hour - speaks for itself.
Towing.. Again does it all for you..

Your a better driver cause you drive a manual? Gawd heard it all now.
AnswerID: 80021

Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 21:27

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 21:27
Couldn't have said it better myself.
FollowupID: 339479

Reply By: Davoe - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 09:48

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 09:48
no question for older vehicles without the modern 4 speed lockup torque converters got to be a manuel - as for modern turbo diesals, I wish I could afford one!
AnswerID: 80025

Reply By: Rosco - Bris. - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 10:02

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 10:02
Marklynn

See all of the above for your answer ... you won't find one 'cause it"s a personal choice thing.

For every 10000000000 auto drivers you'll find 10000000000 manual afficinados.

AnswerID: 80027

Follow Up By: Rosco - Bris. - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 10:06

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 10:06
Ooops .......... aficionados.

... :-}
FollowupID: 339368

Follow Up By: Member - Paul J (ACT) - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 10:45

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 10:45
I think auto drivers would be "aficionado's" as well, and you summed it up prety well with your answer, its a personal choice.
FollowupID: 339375

Follow Up By: Baz (NSW) - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 11:01

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 11:01
Had to look that word up thought you were swearing at me in Italiano. Hey this is a 4WD forum not a chess forum, enough with the big words already. Sorry your right it's a personal choice drive both which ever your comfortable with is the one you go for.

FollowupID: 339388

Reply By: mid life - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 10:03

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 10:03
Yeah I've got to admit it's all weighting towards an auto, I've got an auto 100series which is just so easy to drive on or off road, but when I get behind the wheel of my manual 79 series I just love it can't explain why all that work for the same result doesn't seem right but I guess its just a personal choice. If had to choose a vehicle to drive and I didn't need to cart more then 1 other person I'd take the 79 series every time.
AnswerID: 80028

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 10:56

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 10:56
When's it being fixed Baz ?
FollowupID: 339384

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 10:59

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 10:59
Sorry mid life I responded to the wrong reply.
FollowupID: 339387

Reply By: Baz (NSW) - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 10:04

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 10:04
GIRLS !!!
AnswerID: 80029

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 10:36

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 10:36
In shorts skirts.

I agree the auto is easier but somehow it just doesn't seem right to me.
Like the old petrol/diesel debate there's emotion involved.
FollowupID: 339373

Follow Up By: Baz (NSW) - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 10:42

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 10:42
New rig looks good mate ! go well ?
FollowupID: 339374

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 10:49

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 10:49
maybe girls, but our 4wd works :P
FollowupID: 339376

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 10:53

I dunno yet Baz. Haven't had it in the bush but I'll be getting out this weekend. With lots of clearance and locked both ends I dare say she'll be a ripper. Lacks power on the open road but that doesn't concern me.
Manual of course :)
FollowupID: 339380

Follow Up By: Baz (NSW) - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 10:53

It works just not in 4WD, you know what i mean mate !! :0)
FollowupID: 339381

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 10:57

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 10:57
When's it being fixed Baz ?
FollowupID: 339385

Follow Up By: Baz (NSW) - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 11:07

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 11:07
Goes in monday to be fixed transfer case apparently, Ford said it was electrical so not covered under extended warranty took it to auto elec not electrical so down to a 4WD centre and found prob. Sick and tired of getting the run around so FORD GET F@$%*&.
FollowupID: 339392

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 11:14

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 11:14
Arhhggg, Why not present Ford with the independent report. If they wont come to the party take em to the small claims tribunal either before or after it's fixed. Yeah I know a lot of pissin around.
FollowupID: 339396

Follow Up By: Baz (NSW) - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 11:38

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 11:38
Yeh we've thought about this we got the auto elec to put his report in writing and we've asked the guy at the 4WD centre to do the same so it's still a plan we'll see. We're thinking of selling it too if we find a vehicle at the right price so who knows. Manual of course, lol.

FollowupID: 339407

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 23:01

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 23:01
bout time u got a real car.

So what is the exact issue? Have they told u? What did the 4b shop say it was?
FollowupID: 339498

Follow Up By: Baz (NSW) - Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 09:58

Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 09:58
Won't know till he looks at it, he did say it wasn't the chain that drives the front shaft as Ford said it was when we told them it wasn't electrical. Hows the Pathy, find the high low prob ?
FollowupID: 339518

Follow Up By: Member - Paul J (ACT) - Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 12:31

Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 12:31
Who's pathy, and what's wrong with it?
FollowupID: 339530

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 15:25

Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 15:25
Been too busy building a new train layout in N scale. 8ftx4ft.. havnig issues finding a plan I like :'(
FollowupID: 339550

Reply By: fozzy - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 10:23

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 10:23
td auto 100 is great
engine breaking down hill on par to manual 4500 80 series petrol
can drive auto like manual in current 5spd auto-drive to see what i mean
had always been manual minded and everyone said get manual but drove a couple of different types and chose auto in end-getting lazy
wont go into all other benefits of auto
only problem ive found and come across it once is one hill near walhalla area in vic had about 10-15 switchbacks on steep descent and a real pain going from L1 to rev and back again wheras manual easier.
obviously manual diesel will have better engine braking down steep hills than auto and must admit havent driven manual t/d down steep hill but would assume will still need to apply brakes in some situations most likely less than auto but you still have to brake.
down steep hills braking in auto/manual will both give times where u say" $@#%" anyway so drive em and see-maybe drive some mates to see.
AnswerID: 80033

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 11:27

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 11:27
Yeah I find the low range in the Surf is exceptional but still on very pea gravel steap hills it's neccesary for brakes.
If you use your accelerator and brakes at the same time you'll find it will prevent the wheels locking up and still reduce your speed.
FollowupID: 339404

Reply By: schevchenko - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 11:20

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 11:20
Slush boxes are a bad engineering. Its the torque converter - saps power, overheats and chews fuel. I have never owned or driven an auto (owned 2)that doesn't chew at least 15-20% more fuel. They are a swine to fix, and very expensive. They are heavy and less reliable. A bush mechanics nightmare. I have yet to see a bushman drive a slusher. Heck - can you even imagine miners in 79 series automatics? LOLOLOL!
My favorite feature of a manual is the clutch which is an amazing tool if used well.
I always find it amusing when auto drivers think they have a manual by flicking gears!
Probably another of my favorite features of a manual is the FEELING of machinery and the gears efficiently meshing together - call it a tactile thing. The same reason sports cars and racing cars are still manual (excepting the california market).
These are just my own opinions, but I will choose to drive a manual untill either I am too old, or physically unable to change gears manually.
AnswerID: 80041

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 17:39

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 17:39
Interesting point about the clutch being a very usful tool, perhaps a torque convertor is not as efficiant but I have found it to be equially usful. I find rocking the car out of a bog easier with an auto, somthing people once told me I would not be able to do. funny the 79 series are manual at the mine sites, but the 250 tonne halpack trucks are autos... ironic.
If your torque convertor overheats, you need an oil cooler or a better technique of driving it. Yeah they use more fuel if you floor them around the city, however you find a more relaxed driving technique normally with an auto and if you look at modern auto fuel economy it is not that much more different to the manual equivilents, not to mention that the modern autos also have higher ratio in the diff allowing them to rev lower when cruising giving you better fuel eceonomy.
Just look at the 100 series V8 Auto, it get's better eceonomy than the DX 4.2 diesel manual when cruising at 100km/h. Food for thought.
Anothe point that has not been brought up is the jutters from corregations causing your foot to "bounce" on the accelerater cuasing damage to your drivetrain in a locked up manual, but not an issue with an auto. With that in mind, there is lesss strain and shock on the whole drive train, motor and passengers with an auto.
FollowupID: 339460

Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 21:31

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 21:31
Valid points Jeff.
FollowupID: 339481

Follow Up By: schevchenko - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 23:01

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 23:01
Just my opinion - but I think the biggest thing the modern slushbox has brought to 4wding is accessibility. It has allowed the masses to get in and bludgeon their way through what used to be tricky obstacles. Lets face it - nanna can get into a powerful slusher and scale some scary slopes. Whether this is good or not......
FollowupID: 339497

Reply By: biscuits - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 12:48

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 12:48
Just my two cents here: Manual for me.

My first (passenger) car was an auto. I got it converted to manual a few years later and never looked back. My turbo diesel Patrol is manual ... Driven a auto V8 100 Series and Turbo 400 6.5L V8 Overlander and disliked the auto in both.

Like others have said, just my personal preference.

Dave.
AnswerID: 80055

Reply By: Member - Gary W (VIC) - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 13:30

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 13:30
I prefer Auto particularly in a turbo.

However there are 2 disadvantages. 1 It hunts gears on cruise lowering fuel economy and 2 the higher gear ratio requires more braking in steep downhill runs (although there is a technique which works well to counter this.

I'd like to add a torque converter lock up at some stage.

Gaz
AnswerID: 80061

Follow Up By: Well 55 - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 14:26

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 14:26
Gary, I have a manual turbo and to get good engine breaking down steep hills I have to turn off the A/C, otherwise the idle up gives it to many revs.
FollowupID: 339434

Follow Up By: Member - Gary W (VIC) - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 14:29

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 14:29
Of course. A manual has a lower diff ratio and no torque converter.

Interesting point about the A/C - Good point!

Gaz
FollowupID: 339436

Reply By: Rick Blaine - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 17:02

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 17:02
I reckon that you need an auto with manual overide... My Auto Jackeroo T/D Equipe is fantastic towing but on the rare occasion that I am allowed to go of road I switch to manual and I think I have better control... maybe just emotional bias...
AnswerID: 80094

Reply By: Tim - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 18:10

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 18:10
Put me down for manual.
Just not keen how I can hold my mates 3L TD patrol on the steep driveway with anywhere between idle and 1800rpm with out moving. How on earth could I tell if the wheels are slipping if it was a steep mud track?
Tim
AnswerID: 80097

Reply By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 21:46

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 21:46
Imagine this.

You're attacking a STEEP uphill climb and you choose second low in your manual. The track gets steeper and rougher, you're doing about 5 km/h and struggling and you decide a flying shift to first is the answer. In the time it takes to downchange you come to a stop. Try to take off and all you get is wheelspin. It has happened to me.

In an auto it's simply a matter of reefing the T Bar back a notch and let the torque converter multiply the torque with no loss of momentum. On you go.

I have owned both and will take an auto any day.

In a road car, give me a manual, they're lot's more fun.

AnswerID: 80130

Reply By: Member - DOZER- Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 21:55

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 21:55
Ive had many manuals, and they are great, but the latest weapon is auto with lockers, and it is unstoppable (especially on slippery slopes downhill...lol...)
Seriously, thats the only downer for drivability, all else is up, especially rocky hills, and tricky tracks. With the cruisers, the auto cruises at 100 with lower revs than a manual, with turbos, there is less fuel waisted with autos as the turbo doesnt need to spool up each gear change....t/d autos are the pick of the lot...
Now to safety, u need a second battery with an auto, and the bi yearly/40,000km service.
Manuals only need the oil changed,....usually.
AnswerID: 80135

Reply By: Finito - Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 12:56

Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 12:56
Personally, i am all for one when it comes to manuals. There are several techniques that a manual can employ when trying to get out trouble that an auto simply can't do, such as the rock roll method. Also, an auto usually has so many new gizmos and gadgets under the bonnet as well as mechanical parts that are more touchy. I prefer the practicallity of a manual anyday. I don't know anybody with an auto who are prepared to do their own mechanical repairs.
AnswerID: 80197

Reply By: Member - Russell B (SA) - Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 22:12

Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 22:12
Personally I think your all pansies unless you get rid of the auto timing device and install a manual timing lever on the steering column, how else can you feel the needs of your vehicle without really driving and controlling it.

While your at get of of the brakes and install a chain and ancho,r now thats would really complete the driving sensation.

PS ever stalled an auto on a dangerous track?

AnswerID: 80246

Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Friday, Oct 15, 2004 at 21:49

Friday, Oct 15, 2004 at 21:49
How do you stall an auto?
FollowupID: 339721

Follow Up By: Member - Russell B (SA) - Sunday, Oct 17, 2004 at 09:42

Sunday, Oct 17, 2004 at 09:42
Yeah that was the point of my response (never did express myself cleary when in a hurry)

Russell
FollowupID: 339809

Reply By: Flash - Saturday, Oct 16, 2004 at 12:27

Saturday, Oct 16, 2004 at 12:27
Then there's the flat battery/ crook starter motor scenario.
In an auto you're stuffed.
We came across some very upset people a few years ago up Cape York in an auto with a dead starter motor....there is no way to start it when that happens. There you stay till you get the parts.... end of story.
In a manual, hill start, push start or whatever.
Just another thing to consider. Just another reason I stay with a manual.
AnswerID: 80424

Reply By: harry5 - Sunday, Oct 17, 2004 at 10:00

Sunday, Oct 17, 2004 at 10:00
Dont know what all the problems are with auto/maual just get a DiD pajero Auto and slip it into manual when you want, Has heaps of power good economy just did last trip 910klms. 75lits that is best yet (35000kS). but all is not clear sailing as iam
having lots of trouble keeping bullbar and mats clean not to mention the other halfs
comments about it smelling like a fishing boat.
AnswerID: 80510