towing a camper trailer

Submitted: Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 10:43
ThreadID: 17014 Views:3717 Replies:13 FollowUps:22
Hi guys Im towing a camper trailer with 60 lts of water and 3 gerry cans of petrol ,a long with camping gear for the kids and me and the wife.We are doing both black stuff and dirt stuff.What I would like to know is what psi should I run the tyres,Also one for the pertol guys ,What kind of Kms should I get (4.2 efi patrol).Thanks Truckster,I dont need the gq poll,I what to hear from guys who have them and tow camper trailer
kind regards uppy

Reply By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 10:49

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 10:49
Can't quote figures for the GQ EFI, I only ever had a GQ TD42T.

However, I have always run the same pressure in the trailer as the vehicle as long as the specs of the tyres were the same.

A little while ago I was surprised to learn whilst looking at a video of me pulling an offroad trailer through sand that it will help no end by lowering the pressures in your trailer tyres as well!

So as long as your trailer tyres are not a highway tyre, in my own opinion, run the same pressures.

Good luck buddy!
AnswerID: 80038

Follow Up By: Uppy - Member - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 10:58

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 10:58
Hi Chris,thanks for the reply.Im mainly travelling on dirt roads,What psi would you run on them.I currently have the psi at 40 for black top.Thanks
kind regards uppy
FollowupID: 339386

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 11:01

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 11:01
Gday Uppy,

It all depends on the type of dirt road it is, I run 37 psi in the MTR's on the blacktop, and around 10psi less on dirt roads which have sharpish rocks etc.

On the sand, around 22-24, depending on the weight in the vehicle. Like I said, it depends on the tyres, you can run 22-24 psi without the much bulge in an MTR, but boy, what a difference in ride!

Chris.
FollowupID: 339389

Follow Up By: Uppy - Member - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 11:09

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 11:09
Thanks for the advice,What are some other things i need to watch out for as it is my 1st time towing a camper
regards uppy
FollowupID: 339394

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 11:14

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 11:14
Gday Uppy,

I would not consider myself to be an expert, but I always check the bearings after everyday, especially on bad roads ie. corrogations on the trailer.

I check the treg coupling every morning (get a 360 degree treg if you can, invaluable), obviously tyres and suspension, hangers etc just to be on the safe side.

I usually like to make sure that the trailer lights are working every morning as well, makes those truckies just that little bit more happy!

Some may think that that's going to the extreme, but I feel more comfortable on the road.

And it's easy to forget your towing something after a couple of days, so make sure you can see some part of the trailer when overtaking etc. I had a taller steel base put on the aussie swag because I cannot see any other part of the trailer. Nice to know it's still on!

Hope this helps mate,

Chris.
FollowupID: 339397

Follow Up By: flappan - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 11:20

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 11:20
"I had a taller steel base put on the aussie swag because I cannot see any other part of the trailer. Nice to know it's still on! "

I WISH . . .

You cant miss mine. Its actually high enough on the GU , I cant see over it , out the back window. Hard to miss it. Although , in the dark its a bit difficult to see. Thinking of running small side lights.
FollowupID: 339399

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 11:23

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 11:23
Must be the lift and taller tyres that stop me from seeing it...
FollowupID: 339403

Follow Up By: Uppy - Member - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 11:34

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 11:34
Thanks Flappan and Chris,Ive taken all the advice on board,1 other thing should I stick a uhf channel on the back of the trailer,That Im on so people behind me can talk to me etc....Anyway the kids are fighting and I better start to get the school bus packed for the trip (Patrol)
THANKS for the good oil and nice talking to you guys
kind regards uppy
FollowupID: 339406

Follow Up By: flappan - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 11:42

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 11:42
"Must be the lift and taller tyres that stop me from seeing it..."

My CT is a TALL bugger.

Sits on 265/75/R16 wheels and tyres , has extended trailer sides (22 inch) , and has a 16ft Tent on top (LOTS on Canvas).

The trailer actually has more ground clearance then the Patrol.

The trailer doesn't sit quite level. Good excuse for the 2 inch lift and polyairs for the Patrol.
FollowupID: 339409

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 11:45

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 11:45
And surely you can include something else in their...oh dear, we're bogged again, better get the winch I was looking at!!
FollowupID: 339411

Follow Up By: Member - Camper (SA) - Friday, Oct 15, 2004 at 18:14

Friday, Oct 15, 2004 at 18:14
Hi Uppy
With regards to tips for towing the camper
I hitch up then her indoors goes over the hitch to make sure is all OK (two heads better than one)
I feel the wheel bearings after running for a few ks every trip then occaisionally while on that trip. Heat means trouble!
You do well to remember that your stopping distances are longer. The 2 second rule needs lengthening to 3 or 4 seconds especially on dirt.
Hope you have as much fun as we do.
Cheers Camper
FollowupID: 339696

Reply By: flappan - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 10:55

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 10:55
I run my CT tyres just slightly lower then the Tyres on the GU.

When towing , I use 38 and 40 psi. The trailer would be about 34 psi.

As for economy. I have a 4.5 Petrol Patrol , however our CT runs about 650 kg.

My normal economy is between 20 and 22 litres per 100k's , but have got it down to 18 at one point , with a high of 26/100 (that involved a bit of sand).

I would also point out , I sit on the speed limit.

Of course that is GU stuff, how it relates to the GQ , I couldn't tell. My understanding though is the GQ is thirstier still ?
AnswerID: 80039

Follow Up By: Uppy - Member - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 11:04

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 11:04
Hi thanks for the reply.I will take your advice regarding the psi.When I get back from my trip I will post you my kms.Flappan,what other problems do i need to look out for ,as it is the 1st time Ive towed a Camper
kind regards uppy
FollowupID: 339390

Follow Up By: flappan - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 11:23

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 11:23
I'll just add , the tyres for both the CT and Patrol are BFG AT's.

What else . . . I think Chris covered it above.

The only thing I would suggest , is NOT be in any hurray , cause you will save fuel , probably heaps. the Diff between 100/110 and 90 is substantial.

FollowupID: 339402

Reply By: Baz (NSW) - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 11:30

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 11:30
Hey uppy i'm about the same as flappan (4.0 V6) in economy when towing and use similar tyre pressures camper is aprox 1.3t loaded bit heavy i know but strong less too worry about, the other thing when ever possible only fill your water tank and jerries if your not going to be able to fill them on the road try to keep the weight down whenever possible and do checks every day bearing springs hitch ect. Most of all have fun !!!!!
AnswerID: 80043

Follow Up By: Uppy - Member - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 11:43

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 11:43
Hi Bazzar,where can I fill the water tank on the road ?,Thanks for the reply, and yes we will have fun
regards uppy
FollowupID: 339410

Follow Up By: Baz (NSW) - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 12:04

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 12:04
Anywhere you can get access to a tap or tank, or river if you have a pump drinkable water that is. I carry water purifying tablets just in case, haven't used yet.
FollowupID: 339414

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 11:33

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 11:33
How heavy is your camper trailer and car?
What size tires?
what make of tires?

You wont get better than 20/100 with all that weight.
AnswerID: 80044

Follow Up By: Uppy - Member - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 11:52

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 11:52
Hi Trucker,I dont know the weight of the trailer,the car is 2.5 tons ,Tires are std gq (1994 efi 4.2) 15 inc. kurmos A/T on the back.Kellys A/t on the front.The trailer is a rental will find out the weight when i pick it up.Ive got no problem with 20/100.the most weigth will be the beer chilly bin.
kind regards uppy
FollowupID: 339412

Follow Up By: Baz (NSW) - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 12:07

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 12:07
Don't see a problem here, mans not a camel ya know, oh and it's esky, lol.
FollowupID: 339415

Follow Up By: flappan - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 13:13

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 13:13
A bloody Kiwi eh . . . Chilly bin . . . PLEASE ;)

If its a rental , it will more then likely be below 750kg. To much mucking around with brakes for rentals.
FollowupID: 339418

Reply By: duncs - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 12:29

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 12:29
Uppy,

I tow a trailer and have done for years. On the black top my car runs 40psi and the trailer about 30psi. I find the trailer skips about a little if the tyres are too hard.

When I hit the gravel I reduce tyre pressure on the car to about 35psi but leave the trailer alone.

As the terraine gets rougher and/or softer I reduce tyre pressures on the car. Once the pressure in the car is below 30psi I move the trailer with the car, ie if the car has 26 then the trailer has 26, if the car has 18 the trailer has 18. I am currently running 265/75x16 BFG AT's on the car and the trailer has the same size Brigestone AT's.

As for fuel consumption what was said above about the difference if you keep below 100 is true of my GU 4.2 TD. But if there are a lot of miles to cover I find the speed comes up, especially as the afternoon gets long. What will your petrol use? I don't know I have never owned a petrol 4x4.

Hope you have a great trip
AnswerID: 80051

Reply By: Member - Gary W (VIC) - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 13:23

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 13:23
Talking cold pressures - I run 35 on black top, 28 on rocky gravel where I might do more than 80kph, 25 if going slower, 22 on sand.

Can't help on fuel figures.

Gaz
AnswerID: 80060

Reply By: Banjo (SA) - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 13:31

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 13:31
I just ran the BFG's on the camper from Adelaide to Birdsville and back as 30 psi on the dirt and 40 on the blacktop (close to the car specs) - no problems. We cruise at a max of 70kph on the dirt but. The Camper is 800kg, plus 120L of water, 40L of fuel and the misc goodies - probably rolling at about 1050kg's. We ran 28 F and 32 R for the BFG's on dirt - up by 10 for the blacktop. I'm happy.
AnswerID: 80062

Reply By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 14:16

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 14:16
Uppy, how come you get to go camping and I don't!! :-(
Where you going?? How long for?
Bec said we can go camping with the new bub (when it gets here, not long now!!) if we hire a camper too. So might have to go have a few more beers with those blokes hey!?
I reckon the ol' school bus will pull the camper very happily, but you'll need those jerry's! LOL
We'll have to catch up for a beer again soon. Bec's only got until the 1st of November then their taking the bub out weather we like it or not, so I'll stock up on the cigars as well eh!
AnswerID: 80066

Follow Up By: Uppy - Member - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 15:07

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 15:07
Sorry Jeff ,I thought you knew,We are going to Kalbarri for a long weekend,Going to try the camper trailer thing.We should go and have a beer tonite with the boys.We can organize a camp in Nov. I will ring you
regards uppy
FollowupID: 339441

Reply By: John - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 18:50

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 18:50
Dear Uppy
I dont know how relavant it is to you, but I tow a T-Van with a 100 series V8 Landcruser. I use 16-19 L/100Km (average 17.5). A typical trip is 3-400 Km @100 or 110Kph on sealed roads folled by a few Ks on steep dirt tracks followed by 10 mins finding the best camping spot.
Cheers John
AnswerID: 80102

Reply By: Stew53 - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 20:37

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 20:37
Uppy
The few trailers I've built with a range of tyres on them including car trailers I've always adjusted the tyre pressure by letting the tyre down at the Garage then pumping the tyre up until the sidewall deflection (bulge) between the road and the rim looks the same as a correctly inflated tyre (on your vehicle) A tyre fitter (in the Pilbra) put me onto this. Up until doing it that way I had trailers that bounced, the aim is to get an even spred of pressure over the contact area this is a way of acheiving that and compensates for differing loads.
Dont be alarmed by the low pressure, the tyres need to have sidewall flex to act as suspension to assist the springs.
Stew
AnswerID: 80121

Reply By: Member - Melissa - Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 12:15

Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 12:15
Hi Uppy,

As a general rule, we run same pressure on CT as we do for car. That's about 40psi on hardtop and average of 25-30psi on unsealed roads. If the track conditions call for it, we'll drop as low as 15psi. FYI, we're running Cooper AT's 265/75's on standard GU rims on both car and CT.

Can't help much with economy figures as we have a 4.5L petrol but for interests sake, when towing we get about 20L/100km on hardtop and between 15-18L/100km on dirt. The latter figure varies depending on the conditions with soft, sandy tracks being the worst. Also found that even on relatively easy 4WD where prolonged use of low range is called for, the fuel consumption goes up.

Our CT is heavier than yours when fully loaded with 100L of water and 4 jerry cans - weight is around 1T.

Just an aside...missed you at the Mawson Park get together???

:o) Melissa
AnswerID: 80192

Follow Up By: Member - Melissa - Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 12:19

Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 12:19
Oops, sorry Uppy, just realised I used the wrong figures for our offroad fuel economy - I was thinking of tyre pressure when I was typing. Dirt road economy is between 21-25L/100km.
FollowupID: 339527

Follow Up By: Uppy - Member - Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 14:32

Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 14:32
Hi Melissa,thanks for the info,sorry I wasnt at the meet,went on a end of year rugby trip.I will be at the next meet . Jeff WA said that every one had a good time
kind regards uppy
FollowupID: 339547

Reply By: robertsons - Tuesday, Oct 26, 2004 at 12:33

Tuesday, Oct 26, 2004 at 12:33
Uppy,

What sort of Camper are you towning for the family. We are intereted in a camper for our family of 4 kids and 2.... Something to tow behind a GQ TD4.2.

I bumped into you at the top end of Oxford St in Leaderville during the kids Rugby season. We were in the Silver Maverick and you stopped to say hello, but was looking on the forum for Uppie.... Doh!!!

How was your long weekend away?

Heath
AnswerID: 81727

Follow Up By: Uppy - Member - Wednesday, Nov 03, 2004 at 23:07

Wednesday, Nov 03, 2004 at 23:07
Hi Heath, sorry about the late reply,my computor has been down for so time.Had a great trip ,its the way to go .I didnt notice much differance in fuel useage.I dont know what make it was as it was a hire unit .I will find out more later a let you know as Im using ,it in the next weekend (75$) for the weekend 3 days .Anyway keep in touch
regards uppy
FollowupID: 341965

Follow Up By: robertsons - Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 12:58

Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 12:58
Uppy,

You'll have to tell me who you manage to hire a Camper off for $75.00 for a long 3 day weekend.... I've not managed to find a rate like that.

What are their weekly rates like?

Heath
FollowupID: 342026

Reply By: Ian from Thermoguard Instruments - Tuesday, Oct 26, 2004 at 13:58

Tuesday, Oct 26, 2004 at 13:58

I'm a bit perplexed at the no. of people recommending trailer tyre pressures without any idea of the trailer weight and tyre size/rating.

To get the correct tyre pressures, first get the loaded weight of the trailer (or at least a realistic estimate). Let's say it's 1200 kg for example. Halve that to get the load on each tyre, = 600 kg.

Now get the tyre details. I'll use a tyre I'm familair with from caravan experience - 184R14LT 103/101P. This size has a maximum rating of 875 kg per tyre at 65 psi (single, (they have a lower rating if in a dual wheel configuration)). And it has a recommended pressure for any other load too, which is available from the manufacturer or the Tyre & Rim Association of Australia Standards.

Many reputable tyre brands have a 1800 number for technical enquiries and any decent tyre dealer should have the info too. Give them the individual tyre load and the tyre size/rating data from the sidewall and they'll tell you the ideal cold inflation pressure.
AnswerID: 81733