just got back from Talawana and CSR

Submitted: Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 00:20
ThreadID: 17030 Views:2856 Replies:8 FollowUps:12
WHAT A HORROR OF A TRIP THIS WAS ...LOL...ALL JOKES ASIDE...WE TRAVELLED TO NEWMAN AND ON THE WAY HIT A WEDGTAIL EAGLE AND COST ME $400.00 DOLLARS FOR A NEW WINDSCREEN IN NEWMAN...UNFORTUNATLLY I HAD TO PUT THE BIG BIRD DOWN...VERY SAD ABOUT THAT....

WELL WE SET OFF THE NEXT DAY WITH OUR NEW WINDSCREEN FOR THE TALAWANA TREK TURN OFF AT COTTON CREEK ....THIS TREK TO GORGIE BORE WOULD HAVE TO BE THE WORST I HAVE EVER BEEN ON...TALK ABOUT CORROGATIONS , THEY WERE 4-9 INCHES DEEP AND UP TO 12 INCHES IN SOME PLACES ALL THE WAY...ABSOLUTE SHOCKER...THE 100 SERIES STOOD UP TO THE TEST WE DID NOT ..HE HE ...NOR DID THE 39 LITRE ENGEL...LOST ALL THE FOOD IN THE FRIDGE...BUMMER...ANYWAYS WE CARRIED ON TO GORGIE BORE...AND IT WAS VERY SLOW GOING...TOP SPEED WAS 20 KMS...WEATHER WAS GREAT THOUGH....

WE GOT TO GORGIE BORE AROUND 1.00PM IN THE ARVO AND HEADED SOUTH DOWN THE CSR FOR THE VERY FIRST TIME...

WELL I MUST SAY IT WAS NOTHING LIKE WHAT I EXPECTED AND I WAS WAITING IN ANTICIPATION FOR THE SO CALLED SAND DUNES EVERYONE WAS TELLING ME ABOUT...THAT WAS FUN I MUST SAY...WE HAD A FEW ATTEMPTS AT A COUPLE AND NEVER LAUGHED SO MUCH...I NEED TO PRACTICE A BIT MORE AT THEM...ONE DUNE TOOK 8 ATTEMPTS LOL....

WE FINALLY HIT THE SAVORY CREEK WHICH I WAS NOT LOOKING FORWARD TO AND TURNED OUT TO BE LESS THAN 300 MM DEEP SO NO PROBLEM THERE...WE CROSSED OK...

THEN WE WERE OFF AGAIN...EVERY TIME WE TRIED TO SET UP CAMP WE GOT INVADED BY BEES , WASPS , MARCH FLIES AND OTHER LARGE BUGS...SO WE WENT FROM CAMP SPOT TO CAMP SPOT...I COULD NOT WORK OUT WHY THERE WERE SO MANY BEES...THEN IT CLICKED....ALONG THE TREKS THERE ARE HEAPS OF OVER GROWN TREES LEANING ACCROSS THE TREK AND AFTER MANY HOURS OF DRIVING THE TREES WERE RUBBING A LONG SIDE THE 4WD AND THE SAP FROM THE TREES WERE ALL OVER THE 4WD AND WAS ATTRACTING THE BEES....SILLY US...A LESSON WELL LEARNT..LOL

ANYWAYS WE CARRIED ON OVER A FEW DAYS AND ENDED UP AT WELL 9 AND HEAD THROUGHT THE STATION BACK TO WILUNA.....

THE REASON FOR THE LETTER IS TO LET THOSE WHO RESPONDED TO MY LETTER REQUESTING INFO ON THE CSR KNOW THAT WE GOT THROUGH OK AND REALLY ENJOYED THE EXPERIENCE OVERALL AND I NOW AM MORE CONFIDENT WITH MY 4WD AND LEARNT ALOT FROM BEING HANDS ON...

IF ANYONE WOULD LIKE TO KNOW MORE ABOUT THE TRIP I JUST DID PLEASE NOTIFY ME AND I WILL HELP IF I CAN...

MANY THANKS TO THOSE WHO TOOK THE TIME TO HELP ME...THIS IS WHAT THIS FORUM IS ALL ABOUT...

CHEERS

PHIL

Reply By: V8troopie - Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 00:33

Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 00:33
Thanks for the report Phil, I see the caps lock key on your computer did not survive the corrugations either - pity it got stuck in the lock position - lol.
Klaus
AnswerID: 80152

Follow Up By: Member - Phil F (WA) - Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 01:01

Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 01:01
lol....Thanks Klaus for pointing that out ...he he

cheers Phil
FollowupID: 339508

Reply By: Member Eric - Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 06:59

Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 06:59
I was about to say , WHY ARE YOU SCREAMING lol

Sounds like a fun trip
AnswerID: 80155

Follow Up By: Member - Phil F (WA) - Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 12:22

Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 12:22
Yes it was Eric...Thanks mate...

FollowupID: 339528

Follow Up By: Rick Blaine - Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 13:26

Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 13:26
The corrugations on that "road" make even the toughest of us scream!!!
FollowupID: 339536

Reply By: Baz (NSW) - Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 07:18

Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 07:18
I thought i could hear yelling lol, seems like you had a good trip those corrigation sounded like fun lol, your second pic where is that. Shame about the wedgetail !!

AnswerID: 80156

Follow Up By: Member - Phil F (WA) - Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 12:26

Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 12:26
Thanks Baz....It certainly was an adventure , for me anyways...The picture with my rig is a cyclone which went through Exmouth earlier this year...We got caught in it trying to get to the coast from being inland....Scary stuff...We got blown off the main Hwy 4 times ....took us 3.5 hours to do 100 km....The picture was taken at the turn off to Exmouth on the main hwy...

FollowupID: 339529

Reply By: Coops (Pilbara) - Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 07:41

Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 07:41
Only yesterday I was wondering how you were going.
Was it hot out there?
We've had 8 days straight over 40-43 degrees here in Port Hedland and I was wondering if it was like that out there.
Pity about the wedgie though.
AnswerID: 80159

Follow Up By: Member - Phil F (WA) - Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 13:16

Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 13:16
Hey Coops Mate...Nice to hear from you buddy...Yes the Wedgie was a sad moment...After coming to an abrupt holt on the highway i reversed back to find the poor eagle wandering around with a broken wing and foot...Thought about trying to catch it but i think i was getting more stressed than the bird...Last resort was to put it down...I think it was the best thing to do under the circumstances...I was 150km north of Meekatharra when it happened..Still very upset about the whole ordeal...

Anyways moving on...Mate it was hot , bloody hot to be honest...The ol aircon was workin overtime he he...Mate , thanks for all your imput towards my trip and corrospondence ...You help me make the right decision...

Hope to catch up next time i'm up your way...

Cheers Phil
FollowupID: 339534

Reply By: Member - Gary W (VIC) - Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 07:44

Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 07:44
Glad you're back safely and got to see some more of this huge country.

Tell us a bit about your fuel consumption.

Gaz
AnswerID: 80160

Follow Up By: Member - Phil F (WA) - Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 13:27

Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 13:27
Hello Gaz...Mate i was suprised just how much fuel i used....From Newman to Talawana trek to Geogie Bore through to well 9 then onto a station then to Wiluna....I think thats about it he he...

We used 280 litres...The trip was 1100 kms exact...right on the button...

We did a few side treks to a few sights but overall i thought the consumption was a little high...Perhaps you think not...

100 Series is unleaded and 4.5 litre...Tyre pressure as at 35 lbs 305r70
coopers...

No punctures ...All i had to do was to give the beast a wash and a cut and poilsh to remove some find scratches caused by shrubs and small trees...

If you require any additional info just ask buddy and i will be more than willing to help out...

Ceers for now...

FollowupID: 339537

Reply By: Troopie - Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 09:08

Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 09:08
Heya
8 Attempts at some dunes!!! You're right - you sure need some practice - or let your tyres down a little more!!!! It's amazing what a couple of extra PSI taken out of the tyres will do! Makes it much easier on the truck - and much better for the track.

Travelled the full CSR recently and didn't require two goes at any dunes (in a Troopy with cheesecutters on).

Sunds like you had fun though - piyt about the wedgie - there is always some sort of mis-hap on these trips though - could have been worse!

The night sky's out there are magic aye?

AnswerID: 80172

Follow Up By: Member - Phil F (WA) - Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 13:36

Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 13:36
Hello Troopie...Well my friend we all cant be related to mike and mal Leyland..he he

Yes im inexperienced behind the 4wd , though i'm learning fast and really enjoying myself...There's nothing better than hands on hey Troopie...

Well i certainly know better now and yes i worked it out on the trek...I eventually let the psi down to 18 and 20 and had no probs at all...

I did write into the forum weeks before i left asking for help and information that may guide me through the trek...And i must say i did get some very useful info...

It was a whole new experience and one i would like to do again with a few peeps...maybe next year some of us could do this...

Hopefully i'll have enough time to do the full CSR like you next year as i feel i'm ready for it..lol...

As for the night skys theres nothing better hey...hard to explain...As you know ...You have to be there ....he he

Anyways thankyou for your comments

FollowupID: 339538

Follow Up By: Troopie - Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 13:48

Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 13:48
Hey Phil
Sorry mate - didn't mean to sound grizzly!

I was just a little surprised - while I was out there - at how many vehicles were having trouble with dunes! The Canning requires a bit of preparation - and I would have thought that most people on the Canning would have been prepared for dunes and known to let their tyres down.

We all live and learn - I certainly can't claim to have never done a few stupid things in 4wds!

And yep - nothing better than getting in and having a go - experience is by far the best class-room!

There was one night I'll never forget while we were out there. A full moon came up over a dune - there was a bit of cloud about - it was so bright it looked like a sunrise, and teh reflections and effects on the cloud were magic!!

Cheers - and roll on the next trip (can't come soon enough).
FollowupID: 339541

Follow Up By: Member - Phil F (WA) - Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 14:00

Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 14:00
No Probs Troopie Mate....It was one particular dune ...It was the only one with two tracks side by side...Well when i say side by side i mean they were about 30 mtrs apart...One was stright on the other was on a bend then up and over....

Being not to expericenced itook the staright run....After a few attempds not saying how many here lol...(7 shhhhhhhhh) i decided to take the other track with the bend ...No probs up and over the beast went...I to noticed alot of pot holes going down the dunes remembering i'm heading sth to Wiluna...Where the dunes would be at there steepest on the way down not up...However i did not try and mussle my way to the top of each dune...IT's funny but you know hwne your about to come to a holt and canot go any further...starnge feelin but you just know...so thats when iwould slow down and roll back down the dunes and try again.....eventually i had to let my tryes down....Now i know to do it before i even start thinking about going up any dunes wether it be CSR or on the beach...

I do appreciate your comments and i do take notice of what you are trying to say....

p.s. Sorry about the mistakes i'm no typist...he he

cheers Phil
FollowupID: 339543

Reply By: Member - Melissa - Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 11:34

Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 11:34
Sounds like an adventure Phil. Too bad about the eagle. On a trip north one time we hit 3 or 4 goanna's that seemed absolutely intent on running under the wheels as we were passing. Made us feel awful. Don't think we've ever hit one before or since - go figure!

:o) Mlieesa
AnswerID: 80187

Follow Up By: Member - Phil F (WA) - Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 13:45

Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 13:45
Hello Mileesa...Cute Bub by the way...

Yes we saw a few large bungarra's on the way through as well as Camels , some wild dogs....No dingoes though....there the ones with the white tip on the end of there tail...I'm sure you kew that ....

The lizards just run accross the road and STOP right in the middle of the road hey...Lucky for us we were only travelling and 15-20 kms at the best of times...But when your on the hwy doing 110 kms its to late hey...swish swash....sad hey...Poor buggers...Ive managed to only hit 1 or 2 in my time and they were both very large...You see them on the side of the road as you approch them then they suddenlly run accross in front of ya...what can you do , not alot i'm afraid...

As for the Wedgie , there were 2 of them one feeding on a roo and the other was actually half inside the carcuss of another...thats the one i did not see....I slowed down but not enough...This sad memory will be with me for some time...There my favorate animal...

Thanks for you feedback Mileesa...I appreciate it..

Cheers Phil
FollowupID: 339540

Follow Up By: Coops (Pilbara) - Friday, Oct 15, 2004 at 17:28

Friday, Oct 15, 2004 at 17:28
Wedge Tails are generally always in pairs Phil.
Something to remember next trip North. Did you notice how many there are about?
Last trip I did to Perth I was in awe at how many there are. It's a magnificent creature and i'm glad we've saved it from dying out.
FollowupID: 339686

Reply By: Member - Ruth D (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 15:12

Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 15:12
Really enjoyed your post, Phil - especially as you are not too proud to admit your are a novice - but learning very fast. Wel done. Youare right - it is what this Forum is all about and not everyone has all the experience and knowledge. Get into it and enjoy your next trip!
AnswerID: 80212

Follow Up By: Member - Phil F (WA) - Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 15:21

Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 15:21
Gee thanks Ruth...Thankyou for your encouragement and i will keep on enjoying myself he he ....Its true though we are always learning and we all need a helping hand sooner or later....I hope to do many trips and look forward to meeting interesting people on the way....And hopefully get to know a few in the forum and perhaps venture out with a group...

Many thanks again Ruth...

Cheers for now..

FollowupID: 339549