Rattle in GU Rear

Submitted: Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 08:11
ThreadID: 17035 Views:2519 Replies:6 FollowUps:1
Hey Everyone i have talked about this before and many have helped out so thaks heaps, about 6 months ago i had a rattle in the rear of the patrol so i took it to nissan and thay could not locate the rattle. after about the 5th visit toi them and the advice from some of you, i told them to check the roof lining because this is meant to be a fault. so they did they replaced and fixed the hood lining.

the rattle has come back but not as bad, nissan again cant find it, i know it is the hood lining.

does anyone know how i can tell if it is the hood lining so i can show nissan and give them a gut full.

Thanks Heaps

Reply By: Baz (NSW) - Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 08:36

Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 08:36
Did they tell you what was making the lining rattle, and i would of thought that this would be the first thing they would check as it was this the last time. After they fix it the next thing would be to find out how to stop it happening again.

Also i understand your frustration course we have had similar dealings only with FORD CARE makes me laugh just saying it.
AnswerID: 80166

Reply By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 09:15

Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 09:15
Gday Brent,

Mate, I hear you, came back from a play last weekend, had a noise like someone was banging a piece of steel on the chassis.

I'm very time poor, so I took it to Nissan on a trip to a client. They took it for a quick run, and crawled around underneath it to try and source the problem. "We can't find the noise, we'll need it for the day"...Oh I said, I'll think about it.

Went home last night, put aside the need to do work and crawled around underneath. At first I thought the rubber mounts on the 3 inch exhaust might be allowing it to flog around and bang on the cross members...no not that.

Got my 'big boned' mate to sit in the back and bounce up and down on the cargo drawers...clang, clang, clang, and there it was, the rubber mounted sway bar arm had come loose at the top and every time the suspension moved more than an inch, it was clacking around. 3 minutes later with the 12mm open ender, I was noise free!

You'd rekcon Nissan woulda picked that up...anywho, I can sympathise mate!

Chris.
AnswerID: 80174

Reply By: Member - Melissa - Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 11:29

Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 11:29
Sorry Bret, can't offer any suggestions but I can sympathise. The auto stick shift rattles terribly in our Commodore when in Drive and sends us bonkers. Spoken to Holden service centre about it and their response was to shrug their shoulders and say "Yeah, they do that". In other words, we don't care - just live with it.

:o( Melissa
AnswerID: 80186

Reply By: Member - Michael- Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 12:27

Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 12:27
Hi Brent

I've got a similar problem and it was only located by SHMBO getting in the back, and crawling around while I drove down the road. It turned out to be the cover plat inside the r/hand rear mudguard. The plate covers/protects the fuel lines from filler to tank. I slid a piece of garden hose over the edge in contact with the mudguard no more rattle

May the fleas of a thousand afghan camels infect the crutch of your enemy and may their arms be too short to scratch.

AnswerID: 80193

Reply By: Kings - Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 22:14

Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 22:14
Brent,

I too had a bad rattle in my new 2003 GU ST-L. Unley Nissan (SA) were very helpful. It took two attempts but they did manage to fix it. They have a technician who is the rattle specialist. He immediately identified the noise as coming from "loose canopy bows". Apparently these bows join the body sides laterally and form support for the roof (like the bows of a western waggon in the cowboy movies). There should be a thick bed of sealant between the bows and the roof. In some cases the sealant is not done properly. To fix it Unley Nissan removed the entire roof liner and re-bedded the bows. In the first instance they gave me the car on the same day. It was OK for an hour or so until I drove it onto some corrugations and it started the noise again. By the way my noise was like an "oil canning" or drumming kind of metallic rattle. The car went straight back in and they did it again. This time they kept it for 24 hours to allow the sealant to cure and that was that. We have recently been to Dalhousie and back and also on the Skytrek at Willow Springs without a problem.

Unley Nissan have also fixed a rattle in the passenger seat by removing the leather cover and adjusting the recline mechanism. I do have one more rattle or vibration and only my wife can hear it. She says it comes from behind the sunvisor on her side. I can't hear it, but I'm sure that it too can be fixed.

Apparently there is also a problem with noises from some tailgate doors. Mine has had a modification done by Nissan, but I did not hear any noise.

We had a Pathfinder for two years before the Patrol. It did not ever have a single rattle or vibration.
AnswerID: 80247

Follow Up By: Brent.n - Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 22:55

Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 22:55
thank you for you help, it is going in for a service next week so i will tell them what you told me,

is there any way to check the roof out for my self so i can really tell nissan off, i think this is what happened the first time when they fixed the hood lining.
FollowupID: 339601

Reply By: Kings - Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 23:53

Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 23:53
Brent,

The technician came for a ride around the block with me and I demonstrated the noise both times.

Mine would make the noise on demand by running the RH wheels over rumble strips in the centre of the road or the LH wheels over the catseyes on the LH side of the road. On corrugations it was continuous, but corrugations are a bit hard to find around Unley!

To test for the noise the technician stood in the open tailgate and bumped the roof with his hand. It made the identical noise to the one heard when travelling.

I told them that the noise was totally unacceptable. Not only did I tell them, I wrote a description of the circumstances and left it with the service manager on the second occasion. I have found that it pays to put it in writing because by the time the service manager tells the maintenance man and so on, the story changes.(Chinese Whispers!)
AnswerID: 80261