Work while on the track

Submitted: Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 08:59
ThreadID: 17037 Views:2962 Replies:11 FollowUps:10
That's it. Feed up with working 14 hour days 7 day per week. Thinking of selling everything including the kids and hitting the track with SWMBO (it's her idea to sell the kids).
Can anyone point me in the direction of where to find out about casual work around Oz.
All the OS backpackers seem to know where the jobs are at different times of the year.
Vince

Reply By: eerfree - Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 09:17

Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 09:17
Vince
Have a look at www.bantacs.com.au they are a taxation/accountancy mob have some good ideas on how to manipulate taxation whilst travelling and working.
They may be able to help you with a travellers seasonal job network.
Best of luck
AnswerID: 80175

Reply By: flappan - Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 09:46

Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 09:46
Websites like this

http://www.waywardbus.com.au/seaswork.htm
AnswerID: 80176

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 09:58

Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 09:58
Really depends on what your good at, and what your willing to do for crap pay....
AnswerID: 80178

Follow Up By: Vince NSW - Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 11:10

Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 11:10
Hi Truckster
I can do most things except weld. Crap at that. I have even sholvedbleepin my time, so don't care what i do.
Have been in odrer
Wool Classer
Did too much time in the Army
Worked in a research Animal Nutrition Group for Years
& now run a Hazardous waste Disposal Co.
Vince
FollowupID: 339521

Reply By: Des Lexic - Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 10:41

Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 10:41
Vince,
If it helps to get more money for the kids, I can chuck my missus in too and I'll come with you. LOL
AnswerID: 80181

Follow Up By: Vince NSW - Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 11:14

Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 11:14
Sounds good Des.
It's a real Bleep when you are having a s... of a day and you can't even tell the Boss what to do with it (Am the Boss)
FollowupID: 339523

Follow Up By: Glenn (VIC) - Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 16:57

Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 16:57
Des, I will make the same offer...one female, over 35, had two kids and no longer wanted by husband. PS kids not included in this offer.

FollowupID: 339558

Follow Up By: dirt-teaser - Friday, Oct 15, 2004 at 05:31

Friday, Oct 15, 2004 at 05:31
and an another one, 47, aerobic girl, had only one kid.
I would like to join up with you guys.
FollowupID: 339614

Follow Up By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Friday, Oct 15, 2004 at 07:15

Friday, Oct 15, 2004 at 07:15
Kids for sale here!!! But NOT my SWMBO!!!!
FollowupID: 339618

Reply By: Gerry - Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 11:14

Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 11:14
A recent magazine I bought, I think it was a caravaning mag, had a very good article on this and listed a number of companies/organisations that you can register with and that will find you work on the road. Payment can be for money, free meals and parking/camping space on a property or a combination of both. It was within the last few months so it's a fairly recent magazine.
Gerry
AnswerID: 80183

Reply By: Bob H - Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 11:38

Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 11:38
Hi Vince,

It really amazes me just how many vets/xmiltary personnel there is on this forum.
Firstly, if you are an ex vet, get a dva pension (time consuming)
Secondly, get a taxi licence as a mate has one and reckons that wherever you go someone is always looking for a taxi driver.

AnswerID: 80188

Follow Up By: cruiser - Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 13:48

Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 13:48
If you have ever had a Taxi licence, you will know that it is hard to get (background checks with police, services, medical checks, etc etc) and unfortunately, it is not just like getting an additional class of licence. it is only good for the state you are in and as you move from state to state, you would have to get one in each state and comply to their requirements. This could also be time comsuming and that may not suit your time frame and movements. If they give you a licence in say WA and you had one in NSW, the original licence (NSW) is cancelled, so that when you get home, you have to go through the whole process again.

In addition to all that, most taxi companies will require you to do some local training and then a location knowledge test (compulsory by most state authorities) before they will issue you with authority to drive with them.
FollowupID: 339542

Follow Up By: A Digger - Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 14:09

Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 14:09
Hi Bob,

Yep quite a few of us here.........and everywhere.
"Firstly, if you are an ex vet, get a dva pension (time consuming)"
The way that reads, it could be interpretated that just because you are an ex vet you can simply & automatically qualify for a DVA pension, even though it takes a bit of time. (vet ---> = DVA pension) I presume you didn't mean it that way, because as you would be aware you actually have to have a service caused disability..... or 2 .......or 3

Digger
FollowupID: 339546

Reply By: mr diamond - Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 12:54

Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 12:54
gday vince.
i remember seeing a while ago on one of the tv shows where you can travel around australia for 12 months followinig the fruit picking season.
AnswerID: 80196

Reply By: Patrol22 (Queanbeyan - Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 13:10

Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 13:10
Hey Vince - made some enquiries on the way back from the Cape a few weeks back and there seemed to bebleepeloads of work available in just about every town. Most of it was what some would call menial but it would still pay the fuel bill and keep the belly full. For example: there were jobs in takeaways and in the building trades in Weipa; there were lots of jobs in vege picking in Bowen - indeed there were acres of capsicums and tomatoes rotting in the paddock due to the lack of labour.......and so on. One of our group landed a job in Ballina doing a spot of building etc.
Just give the local employment agencies a call to get an idea of the best times to turn up for seasonal work opportunities.
Pete
AnswerID: 80198

Follow Up By: Vince NSW - Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 16:58

Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 16:58
Thanks for that Pete. We were working in your neck of the woods last wekend. We had a Hazardous Household chemical collection in Queanbeyan.
Vince
FollowupID: 339559

Reply By: A Digger - Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 13:57

Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 13:57
See post 16835. A lot of info there.

Check out these sites:

http://www.jobsearch.gov.au/
www.jobsearch.gov.au/harvesttrail
www.campsaustraliawide.com.
http://www.workaboutaustralia.com.au/
http://www.workingholidays.com.au/

Digger
AnswerID: 80206

Follow Up By: Vince NSW - Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 15:26

Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 15:26
Thanks Digger.
I have made a bit of time this arvo and ahd found some of these sites. I will try the others tonight when I get home.
Thanks for all the others who offered advice. If your having a bad day and someone takes the time to give some help, the day improves.
Vince
FollowupID: 339552

Follow Up By: Bob H - Friday, Oct 15, 2004 at 00:44

Friday, Oct 15, 2004 at 00:44
Hi Digger,

Yes, you are absolutely right about the tpi pension and i do apologize for making it sound the way it did. should proof read before clicking button. thank you for explaining it to all .

FollowupID: 339609

Reply By: johnsie - Saturday, Oct 16, 2004 at 17:39

Saturday, Oct 16, 2004 at 17:39
Friday at the local in small towns to see who just got sacked or whos looking for help.Building trades pay well from experience.
AnswerID: 80440

Reply By: Willem - Saturday, Oct 16, 2004 at 20:53

Saturday, Oct 16, 2004 at 20:53
Vince

Work for yourself.

Flog everything and buy a 4x4 septic sucking truck(twin cab so you can carry a bit of gear with you). You would be amazed at how many septics there are in the outback which have to be sucked out. Easy money

I saw a bloke doing it from a Landcruiser ute out near Leigh Creek. His slogan written on the side of his truck was "Your sh*t is my bread and butter"..............hahahahaha....True!!!!!!!
AnswerID: 80465